Switch Theme:

AdMec Swooping Strikes  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Pteraxii Sterylizors, Swooping Strikes wrote:Each time this unit fights, if it made a charge move or was charged, then until that fight is resolved, add 1 to the Attacks characteristic...


What counts as "until the fight is resolved"? Is it the end of the current Fight phase, or as long the Sterylizors remain in Engagement Range with that unit? What if I charged, wiped out a unit then consolidated into another, would I keep the +1 attack until that fight is also resolved?

   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Are you sure that is the correct wording? The old version just said that it lasted until the end of the turn. However, I don't see that it matters either way - it triggers each time it fights for as long as it fights, so what does it matter?

7215 points 80 points 140 points
1377 points 75 points 197 points
1835 points 485 points 415 points
2560 points 615 points 2145 points
1785 points 815 points 2904 points
3116 points
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




That fight is linked to "each time that unit fights", so is obvious in how it is time bound.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

The wording is taken straight from the book. And yeah fair enough it does sound obvious, just wanted to check as I could see how someone could interpret it differently.

   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

The rules dont mention when a fight is resolved. We dont know if a fight is resolved at the end of the fight phase, or if it continues to keep on going in the next fight phase, as long as there are models within engagement range of enemy models. The rule doesnt say until the end of the fight phase, so i would say they will get the +1 to attacks characteristic in the next fight phase, as long as the models are in engagement range of models which they charged.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/25 11:09:25


 
   
Made in gb
Ship's Officer





Bristol (UK)

Isn't the fight sequence pretty well explained, it begins with a Pile In and ends with a Consolidation..

So I'd say the extra attack is lost as soon as they finished the consolidation step.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
The rules dont mention when a fight is resolved. We dont know if a fight is resolved at the end of the fight phase, or if it continues to keep on going in the next fight phase, as long as there are models within engagement range of enemy models. The rule doesnt say until the end of the fight phase, so i would say they will get the +1 to attacks characteristic in the next fight phase, as long as the models are in engagement range of models which they charged.

Reading the whole rule helps put the "fight" they are talking about. Start with the very first sentence, and realise this subject never. Changes.
   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

 kirotheavenger wrote:
Isn't the fight sequence pretty well explained, it begins with a Pile In and ends with a Consolidation..

So I'd say the extra attack is lost as soon as they finished the consolidation step.


But is the fight resolved when the fight sequence is resolved ? If that's what they meant, why didn't GW write it that way ?
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 p5freak wrote:
 kirotheavenger wrote:
Isn't the fight sequence pretty well explained, it begins with a Pile In and ends with a Consolidation..

So I'd say the extra attack is lost as soon as they finished the consolidation step.


But is the fight resolved when the fight sequence is resolved ? If that's what they meant, why didn't GW write it that way ?


It's not unclear so I don't know why you're trying to muddy it? When they Fight they get an extra attack if conditions met. Once done, bonus doesn't linger. Your preference for other wording doesn't make it unclear as it is.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/25 18:04:52


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
 kirotheavenger wrote:
Isn't the fight sequence pretty well explained, it begins with a Pile In and ends with a Consolidation..

So I'd say the extra attack is lost as soon as they finished the consolidation step.


But is the fight resolved when the fight sequence is resolved ? If that's what they meant, why didn't GW write it that way ?

Yes, because you're told PRECISELY what fight means in the context of this rule
There is no ambiguity here
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

This isn't rocket science people. Fights is clearly defined in the glossary to be "When a unit fights, models in that unit pile-in, make attacks, and consolidate". Once a unit has fought, the fight is clearly over. Simple primary school logic.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: