Switch Theme:

general question about wholly within  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Longtime Dakkanaut




Danmark

If a unit is in strategic and arrives, he has to be wholly within 6 inches of the edge. What if your base can fit, but your model cant? Lets say, for instance magnus. He he has a massive wingspan for instance. What if his base can fit within the 6 inches but you cant make his model fit within due to how large the model is? is he still allowed to be placed?

Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

SETTING UP STRATEGIC RESERVE UNITS

If a model is so large that it cannot physically be set up wholly within 6" of a battlefield edge (i.e. the smallest dimension of that model is greater than 6"), it must be set up so that it is touching your battlefield edge. During the turn in which such a model is set up on the battlefield, that model’s unit cannot do any of the following: make a Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back, Remain Stationary; attempt to manifest or deny psychic powers; make any attacks with ranged weapons; declare a charge; perform a Heroic Intervention; perform any actions or psychic actions.
   
Made in dk
Longtime Dakkanaut




Danmark

i read that yet i am still here asking because i do not understand it.

I understand it as you cant deploy magnus if his wings cant fit, is this correct?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/06/08 17:22:25


Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Beardedragon wrote:
i read that yet i am still here asking because i do not understand it.

I understand it as you cant deploy magnus if his wings cant fit, is this correct?


No. He can be deployed, following the restrictions in what p5freak posted.
   
Made in dk
Longtime Dakkanaut




Danmark

 doctortom wrote:
Beardedragon wrote:
i read that yet i am still here asking because i do not understand it.

I understand it as you cant deploy magnus if his wings cant fit, is this correct?


No. He can be deployed, following the restrictions in what p5freak posted.


i see. so its only his base that has to fit.

it just says: If a model is so large that it cannot physically be set up wholly within 6" of a battlefield edge". That would mean both his base and magnus model itself as i see it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/06/08 18:03:14


Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Magnus has a base. So using the Within rules his base must be within your DZ.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Beardedragon wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
Beardedragon wrote:
i read that yet i am still here asking because i do not understand it.

I understand it as you cant deploy magnus if his wings cant fit, is this correct?


No. He can be deployed, following the restrictions in what p5freak posted.


i see. so its only his base that has to fit.

it just says: If a model is so large that it cannot physically be set up wholly within 6" of a battlefield edge". That would mean both his base and magnus model itself as i see it.


Within and wholly within are defined in the core rules under “Measuring Distances”:

WITHIN AND WHOLLY WITHIN
If a rule says it applies ‘within’ a certain distance, it applies at any distance that is not more than the specified distance. For example, within 1" means any distance that is not more than 1" away.

If a rule says it affects models that are ‘within’, then it applies so long as any part of the model’s base (or hull) is within the specified distance. If a rule says it affects models that are ‘wholly within’ then it only applies if every part of the model’s base (or hull) is within the specified distance.

If a rule says it affects units that are ‘within’, then it applies so long as any part of any model’s base (or hull) in that unit is within the specified distance. If a rule says it affects units if ‘every model in that unit is within’ then that rule applies so long as any part of every model’s base (or hull) is within the specified distance. If a rule says it affects units that are ‘wholly within’ then it only applies if every part of every model’s base (or hull) in that unit is within the specified distance.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: