Switch Theme:

Dark Obscuration strat and Targeting Nurgle units outside 12"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

So I think it's pretty clear that once you use the Strat, further enemy units can no longer target the unit if outside 12".
But what about the enemy unit that initially targeted the Nurgle unit to trigger the use of the Strat?

My thinking is that because the unit was eligible to be targeted initially, that enemy unit's attacks would still go through (but with Stealth activated) since you already selected the target BEFORE the Strat was activated.

Thoughts?

-

   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Not on my computer, but this is addressed in the Rules Commentary. Memory says the unit becomes an ineligible target and the attack must select a new target for their attack.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Thanx for that! I didn't think to check the Commentary.

What you are referring to is under "Eligible Target (no longer eligible)".
And as they become ineligible (outside 12"), the unit can no longer target the Nurgle unit.
It also goes further in stating the unit selecting targets may choose a different one, which is fair

-


   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

I give GW props for getting lots of things covered in the Rules Commentary. They still missed things, but a lot is in there if you think to look.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

 alextroy wrote:
I give GW props for getting lots of things covered in the Rules Commentary. They still missed things, but a lot is in there if you think to look.
Yeah I have it saved to my phone AND printed in a binder. There's just some things that don't "click" until you have a specific situation arise.

-

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: