Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/08/18 14:19:03
Subject: Does a Lieutenant in Phobos armour let his unit ‘shoot & fade’ into a vehicle?
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
All in the title, but asking in full.
If a Lieutenant in Phobos armour is leading a unit, he grants them the ‘Shoot & Fade’ rule. This rule lets the unit make a ‘normal move’ of D6 inches after it shoots. The Embark rule states that a unit can embark a vehicle if it finishes a normal move with every model within 3 inches of the vehicle (no riders stating that this must occur during the movement phase).
For clarity, there is an Eldar Strategem that does similar, but it strictly forbids using this movement to get into a vehicle, but as that is not mentioned in the Lieutenant rules, my question is - can they?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/08/18 14:20:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/08/18 22:05:31
Subject: Re:Does a Lieutenant in Phobos armour let his unit ‘shoot & fade’ into a vehicle?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Yes. This is perfectly legal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/08/18 22:11:01
Subject: Does a Lieutenant in Phobos armour let his unit ‘shoot & fade’ into a vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I’m no rules expert but the capital N Normal move would make that seem legit to me. Automatically Appended Next Post: And I’d missed that rule on the the Lt. like it, thanks.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/08/18 22:11:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/08/19 05:52:17
Subject: Does a Lieutenant in Phobos armour let his unit ‘shoot & fade’ into a vehicle?
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
Cheers guys. Got a tournament next week and I’ve only played 2 games of 10th so far, so just trying to get my ducks in a row so I don’t embarrass myself.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/09/04 12:07:27
Subject: Does a Lieutenant in Phobos armour let his unit ‘shoot & fade’ into a vehicle?
|
 |
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle
|
As above but with another added bit:
The "Out-Of-Phase Rules" rules commentary has "you cannot use any other rules that are normally triggered in that phase".
Everyone interprets this as rules that specify that phase. Embarking doesn't have an "In the movement phase..." bit of text, so the currently accepted interpretation of "Out-Of-Phase Rules" doesn't restrict you from embarking, you're good to go.
And if someone tries to argue that "Out-Of-Phase Rules" is strict and forbids this, remind them that "Torrent" is a rule normally used in the shooting phase and so under that interpretation flamers cannot fire overwatch (no ballistics skill).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/09/04 12:07:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/09/04 21:11:32
Subject: Does a Lieutenant in Phobos armour let his unit ‘shoot & fade’ into a vehicle?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Just jumping on this one with a related question; has it been established whether a vehicle in which troops embark in the shooting phase can then shoot with the troops' weapons again?
Example:
1. Sternguard shoot
2. Sternguard then embark onto Impulsor
3. Impulsor shoots, and can also use the Sternguard weapons again, since the Impulsor counts as being armed with them.
Friend and I were discussing this recently, I'm calling bs but would be good to know either way.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/09/04 21:34:06
Subject: Does a Lieutenant in Phobos armour let his unit ‘shoot & fade’ into a vehicle?
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Raw it works. Will be interesting to see first faq
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/09/05 00:43:06
Subject: Does a Lieutenant in Phobos armour let his unit ‘shoot & fade’ into a vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
It works embarking isn't a phase based rule so out of phase rules does not apply.
(Unless he shot in overwatch and then it would apply and it wouldn't work)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/09/05 02:39:58
Subject: Does a Lieutenant in Phobos armour let his unit ‘shoot & fade’ into a vehicle?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I agree. It is an unusual circumstance, but nothing in the rules prevent it from working.
|
|
 |
 |
|