Switch Theme:

Focus Fire and Look Out Sir! Interaction  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

Scenario: a unit has 1 character in the open, the closest model behind trees with 5+ cover, and the rest behind a building that would provide 4+ cover. During the Shooting phase, an enemy unit Focus Fires on the character in the open, can see the model in 5+ cover , but cannot see any of the models behind the building. Several wounds are put on the character. He makes several Look Out Sir rolls. How do the Focus Fire and Look Out Sir rules interact?

1. Would the model in 5+ cover be able to use it's cover save against the Focus Fire?
2. If the closest model is removed as a casualty, are the remaining Look Out Sir! wounds allocated to the next nearest model out of Line of Sight?
3. If the model in 5+ cover was allowed to retain that save, could the models out of Line of Sight claim 4+ cover?
4. If they are not allocated to the nearest model out of Line of Sight, what happens to them and why?

Rulebook, Page 15, Allocate Unsaved Wounds and Remove Casualties: ', Next, allocate an unsaved Wound to the enemy model closest to the firing unit.'

Rulebook, Page 18: Focus Fire: 'Your Opponent can only allocate Wounds to Models with a cover save equal to or worse (i.e. a higher value) than the value stated'

Rulebook FAQ, Page 1: Shooting Phase: Look Out, Sir!: 'Determine which model in the unit is closest to the character, and resolve the wound against that model instead'

Since wound allocation during the Shooting phase is now an algorithm instead of at the discretion of the players, I say that you cannot allocate a wound to a model with a worse cover save using Look Out, Sir! when the firing unit has utilized Focus Fire.



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/18 12:13:43


I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Since Look Out, Sir! is a reallocation of wounds, I would argue that you actually wouldn't be able to make an attempt for LOS in this instance. No model in better than "out in the open" saves can have wounds allocated to it with a Focus Fire like the one you described.
   
Made in us
Troubled By Non-Compliant Worlds




Houston, TX

Except, LOS tells us we can re-allocate to the closest model with no other limitations. Additionally, since cover does not effect the LOS roll I see no reason Focus Fire should be taken into account.

From another angle, LOS is the defending players roll and would not be effected by the attacking players use of Focus Fire.

DS:70S++G+MB+++I+Pw40k01#-D++++A++/mWD279R+T(D)DM+

>Three engineering students were gathered together discussing who must have designed the human body.
>One said, "It was a mechanical engineer. Just look at all the joints."
>Another said, "No, it was an electrical engineer. The nervous system has many thousands of electrical connections."
>The last one said, "No, actually it had to have been a civil engineer.
>Who else would run a toxic waste pipeline through a recreational area.

 
   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




Sweden

I've had this come up in a game I have played as well. We ruled it that the model taking the wound instead of the character were counted as taking the place of the character thus running out of cover to protect his leader. So, any focus fire wound would never be counted as higher save than the declared focus fire limit.

If no focus fire is declared they all count their cover saves as normal. Unless los i alocated to a model with no los to the firer, then we use the characters cover save.

It might not be the correct way to play it, but we ruled it as so and continued playing.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Ghenghis Jon wrote:
Scenario: a unit has 1 character in the open, the closest model behind trees with 5+ cover, and the rest behind a building that would provide 4+ cover. During the Shooting phase, an enemy unit Focus Fires on the character in the open, can see the model in 5+ cover , but cannot see any of the models behind the building. Several wounds are put on the character. He makes several Look Out Sir rolls. How do the Focus Fire and Look Out Sir rules interact?

1. Would the model in 5+ cover be able to use it's cover save against the Focus Fire? (Pretty sure)
2. If the closest model is removed as a casualty, are the remaining Look Out Sir! wounds allocated to the next nearest model out of Line of Sight? (Less sure)
3. If the model in 5+ cover was allowed to retain that save, could the models out of Line of Sight claim 4+ cover? (Pretty sure)
4. If they are not allocated to the nearest model out of Line of Sight, what happens to them and why?


Its an interesting scenario. If you look at the focus fire rules pg 18, they state that "Your opponent can only allocate Wounds to models with a cover save equal to or worse (i.e a higher value) than the value stated."

LoS is reallocating a Wound from a character to someone else. While LoS can go out of LOS and out of Range, the focus fire rule states that you can only allocate Wound to those with the same cover save or worse. Therefore anyone behind cover / building would not be eligible.

So...
1. Can not be allocated too since it has a better cover save.
2. No, as they would at least be obscured and have a higher cover save than Character
3. As #2
4. If the character dies and there are no more models affected by the focus fire, then the remaining wounds are lost.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Focus fire says your opponent can only allocate in the declared cover group. LOS is your allocation - no restriction.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
Focus fire says your opponent can only allocate in the declared cover group. LOS is your allocation - no restriction.


Not sure what your saying here. Both of these rules affect the person making the save.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Focus fire allows the attacker to limit the available targets to allocate wounds to, LOS is an allowance to re-allocate the wounds.

A does not prevent B.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/16 21:55:10


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

 liturgies of blood wrote:
Focus fire allows the attacker to limit the available targets to allocate wounds to, LOS is an allowance to re-allocate the wounds.

A does not prevent B.
So, I take it you are saying that the wounds can be allocated to models out of sight? If so, what kind of cover save do those models get?

I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 Ghenghis Jon wrote:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
Focus fire allows the attacker to limit the available targets to allocate wounds to, LOS is an allowance to re-allocate the wounds.

A does not prevent B.
So, I take it you are saying that the wounds can be allocated to models out of sight? If so, what kind of cover save do those models get?


The same as any other model since the start of 6th ed that could have LOS transfer a wound to it when it's out of sight. Also I am saying that you can LOS to the nearest model which could have a different cover save.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/16 22:14:24


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




USA

I don't have my rulebook on hand, but I'm pretty sure that LoS let's you re-allocate "unsaved" wounds. That means you have already failed your save, so it would not matter what cover save the model the wound was allocated to would have had, you don't get to make a save for the re-allocated LoS wound.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Waaaaghmaster wrote:
I don't have my rulebook on hand, but I'm pretty sure that LoS let's you re-allocate "unsaved" wounds. That means you have already failed your save, so it would not matter what cover save the model the wound was allocated to would have had, you don't get to make a save for the re-allocated LoS wound.

Look at the new faq's.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




USA

 liturgies of blood wrote:
Waaaaghmaster wrote:
I don't have my rulebook on hand, but I'm pretty sure that LoS let's you re-allocate "unsaved" wounds. That means you have already failed your save, so it would not matter what cover save the model the wound was allocated to would have had, you don't get to make a save for the re-allocated LoS wound.

Look at the new faq's.


The second correction to LoS undershooting says to determine which model is closest to the character and resolve the wound on that model instead. It does not say that model can make a second save. Again, I don't have the rulebook on hand (at work), but I'm pretty sure there are multiple references to making LoS rolls on "unsaved" wounds.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Not anymore there isn't. You should read how LOS is now done in the same manner as mixed armour saves. Read the errata in the faq not just the questions.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




USA

Yeah, after having a chance to look through the brb, I stand corrected.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

 Ghenghis Jon wrote:
Scenario: a unit has 1 character in the open, the closest model behind trees with 5+ cover, and the rest behind a building that would provide 4+ cover. During the Shooting phase, an enemy unit Focus Fires on the character in the open, can see the model in 5+ cover , but cannot see any of the models behind the building. Several wounds are put on the character. He makes several Look Out Sir rolls. How do the Focus Fire and Look Out Sir rules interact?

1. Would the model in 5+ cover be able to use it's cover save against the Focus Fire? (Pretty sure)
2. If the closest model is removed as a casualty, are the remaining Look Out Sir! wounds allocated to the next nearest model out of Line of Sight? (Less sure)
3. If the model in 5+ cover was allowed to retain that save, could the models out of Line of Sight claim 4+ cover? (Pretty sure)
4. If they are not allocated to the nearest model out of Line of Sight, what happens to them and why?


Looking carefully over the rules for Focus Fire and LOS, it looks to me like LOS wouldn't work in this situation. Focus Fire prevents any wounds from being allocated to or harming any models in better cover than the value designated. LOS is a way for the defender to re-allocate the wound, but if Focus Fire is in play, none of the models which are in better cover than the specified value are legal places to allocate the wound.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

 Mannahnin wrote:
 Ghenghis Jon wrote:
Scenario: a unit has 1 character in the open, the closest model behind trees with 5+ cover, and the rest behind a building that would provide 4+ cover. During the Shooting phase, an enemy unit Focus Fires on the character in the open, can see the model in 5+ cover , but cannot see any of the models behind the building. Several wounds are put on the character. He makes several Look Out Sir rolls. How do the Focus Fire and Look Out Sir rules interact?

1. Would the model in 5+ cover be able to use it's cover save against the Focus Fire? (Pretty sure)
2. If the closest model is removed as a casualty, are the remaining Look Out Sir! wounds allocated to the next nearest model out of Line of Sight? (Less sure)
3. If the model in 5+ cover was allowed to retain that save, could the models out of Line of Sight claim 4+ cover? (Pretty sure)
4. If they are not allocated to the nearest model out of Line of Sight, what happens to them and why?


Looking carefully over the rules for Focus Fire and LOS, it looks to me like LOS wouldn't work in this situation. Focus Fire prevents any wounds from being allocated to or harming any models in better cover than the value designated. LOS is a way for the defender to re-allocate the wound, but if Focus Fire is in play, none of the models which are in better cover than the specified value are legal places to allocate the wound.


Well dang, this becomes a nice little trick (if rarely an option). Could you rig this on purpose by putting your own models as intervening cover? Seems to me that you could, and if so, that would be a pretty WAAC/TFG move.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

You could do the same thing in 3rd and 4th ed. It can be countered at least to some extent by placing other models in front of the character.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

Rulebook, Page 15, Allocate Unsaved Wounds and Remove Casualties: ', Next, allocate an unsaved Wound to the enemy model closest to the firing unit.'

Rulebook, Page 18: Focus Fire: 'Your Opponent can only allocate Wounds to Models with a cover save equal to or worse (i.e. a higher value) than the value stated'

Rulebook FAQ, Page 1: Shooting Phase: Look Out, Sir!: 'Determine which model in the unit is closest to the character, and resolve the wound against that model instead'

Since wound allocation during the Shooting phase is now an algorithm instead of at the discretion of the players, I say that you cannot allocate a wound to a model with a worse cover save using Look Out, Sir! when the firing unit has utilized Focus Fire.

I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

You can LoS! those wounds. you can use LoS! to kill models totally out of Line of Sight as per Page 16

You allocate the wound to the character, he uses LoS!, then you resolve the wound against the guy out of Line of Sight.(or with a better cover save in the case of focus fire).

Edited for clarity.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/18 16:55:12


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Maybe use LoS and LOS!, rather than using the exact same acronym for both?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
You can LoS those wounds. you can use LoS to kill models totally out of LoS as per Page 16

You allocate the wound to the character, he uses LoS, then you resolve the wound against the guy out of LoS.(or with a better cover save in the case of focus fire).


Line of sight is not the issue. LoS does allow that. The issue is that Focus Fire forbids the allocating of a wound to a model with a better cover save. How does Look Out Sir get around that ?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Because focus fire only prevents opponent's allocation, not your own.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Vallejo, CA

So, where in LoS! does it say that the re-allocation doesn't need to follow the rules for allocation?

If the answer is "nowhere", I'd say no LoS! on this one. You roll a 4+, and then you ask yourself "who do I allocate this wound to?" The answer is "something with an equal (or worse) save" and "something in line of sight". If neither of those conditions exist, then you have to allocate the wound to a model for whom those conditions exist. If there are no such models, then you can't LoS!


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/18 16:54:14


Your one-stop website for batreps, articles, and assorted goodies about the men of Folera: Foleran First Imperial Archives. Read Dakka's favorite narrative battle report series The Hand of the King. Also, check out my commission work, and my terrain.

Abstract Principles of 40k: Why game imbalance and list tailoring is good, and why tournaments are an absurd farce.

Read "The Geomides Affair", now on sale! No bolter porn. Not another inquisitor story. A book written by a dakkanought for dakkanoughts!
 
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard





Fragile wrote:
Line of sight is not the issue. LoS does allow that. The issue is that Focus Fire forbids the allocating of a wound to a model with a better cover save. How does Look Out Sir get around that ?


The issue is the "Must use the best save" rule. So by choosing to use LOS! you are making it so that the best cover save the model can use would be one that would allow the wound to be allocated under the rules for Focused Fire. So you could LoS! to a model that has a better cover save, they would just not be able to use that save.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Ailaros wrote:
So, where in LoS! does it say that the re-allocation doesn't need to follow the rules for allocation?

If the answer is "nowhere", I'd say no LoS! on this one. You roll a 4+, and then you ask yourself "who do I allocate this wound to?" The answer is "something with an equal (or worse) save" and "something in line of sight". If neither of those conditions exist, then you have to allocate the wound to a model for whom those conditions exist. If there are no such models, then you can't LoS!



where does it say you are re-allocating the wound?

it just says you resolve the wound against the other model. (Unless I missed something).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Killjoy00 wrote:
Because focus fire only prevents opponent's allocation, not your own.


They are the same person Killjoy.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Looking at the relevant rules in the book I would have to go on the side that the wounds from LoS could indeed be put on a different cover value model because the FAQ wording states "resolve the wound" not "allocate the wound". You are prevented from allocating wounds to different save categories, but you are not prevented from resolving different save categories.

It's purely a wording issue, but it's also save to assume that GW wants it to work from their new "cinematic game" point of view.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/18 17:14:52


Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




They refer to it as a reallocation in a few spots.

..Only one Look Our, Sir attempt can be made per Wound allocated - once the Wound has been transferred (or not), no further attempts to reallocate it can be made..
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

The only word in that whole multi paragraph section that relates resolving = allocating is the one instance of saying "reallocate". If you want to get true RAW on the rule, you are "reallocating" onto the model no "allocating".

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: