Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 22:25:28
Subject: PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm
|
Hey Dakka, tried looking for this and didnt see it so i apologize if this is already a topic in progress.
does PRESCIENCE allow blast template weapons to be rerolled ? BRB says that twin linked blast template weapons get to re roll if they scatter. but PRESCIENCE does not say RAW that it twin links, only that the targeted friendly unit gets to reroll all failed to hit rolls.
i play SWs and i run 2 RPs with PRESCIENCE in my LFs. i run 4 ml and 1 PC i recently played an opponent that got upset when i attempted to re roll a PC template that scattered. his gripe was that since it does not specifically state that it "twink links" the group that it isnt allowed to re roll templates.
both me and the people i play with at my LGS have been playing it as TL, thus allowing the re rolls for B template weapons. but im curious now what the general consensus is, and or if there's an official ruling on this somewhere. (or if we have just durped it up and been playing wrong on this)
Thanks in advance for any helpful information !
|
Knowledge is often mistaken for intelligence.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 22:30:49
Subject: PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
You've been playing it wrong. Prescience does not make weapons twin linked, it makes them re-roll to hit.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 22:32:24
Subject: PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Prescience lets you re roll to hit, so imo you can re roll the 2 scatter dice, just because the BRB gives you rules for twin linked blast weapons it doesnt mean that it HAS to be twin linked to re roll the scatter dice, just as prescience doesnt make normal weapons twin linked, just lets you re roll your misses.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 22:35:13
Subject: PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Whilst Prescience doesn't TL, being TL isn't necessary to re-roll a blast, as per Blast Weapons and Re-rolls on page 33 of the RB.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 22:35:55
Subject: PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
MarkyMark wrote:Prescience lets you re roll to hit, so imo you can re roll the 2 scatter dice, just because the BRB gives you rules for twin linked blast weapons it doesnt mean that it HAS to be twin linked to re roll the scatter dice, just as prescience doesnt make normal weapons twin linked, just lets you re roll your misses.
Actually yes - to reroll the scatter dice the weapon must be twin-linked since that's what the rule says.
Prescience doesn't do anything for Blast or Template weapons.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 22:36:20
Subject: PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yep just read that Avatar strangely it starts off with 'blast markers do not roll to hit...' then changes the story!.
Yep you can re roll the scatter dice. Automatically Appended Next Post: rigeld2 wrote:MarkyMark wrote:Prescience lets you re roll to hit, so imo you can re roll the 2 scatter dice, just because the BRB gives you rules for twin linked blast weapons it doesnt mean that it HAS to be twin linked to re roll the scatter dice, just as prescience doesnt make normal weapons twin linked, just lets you re roll your misses.
Actually yes - to reroll the scatter dice the weapon must be twin-linked since that's what the rule says.
Prescience doesn't do anything for Blast or Template weapons.
See above, page 33.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/01 22:36:56
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 22:37:17
Subject: PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Avatar 720 wrote:Whilst Prescience doesn't TL, being TL isn't necessary to re-roll a blast, as per Blast Weapons and Re-rolls on page 33 of the RB.
Really? I could definitely be misremembering - away from my boom at the moment.
It definitely does not help Templates.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 22:38:03
Subject: PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Page 33 under blast weapons and re rolls lets you do it without mentioning twin linked.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 22:38:35
Subject: PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Page 33 wrote:Blast Weapons and Re-Rolls
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit and chooses to do so after firing a Blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2d6.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 22:39:12
Subject: PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Fair enough - I'm wrong about blasts.
Templates, however, only re-roll wounds for twin-linked.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 22:40:10
Subject: PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Fair enough - I'm wrong about blasts.
Templates, however, only re-roll wounds for twin-linked.
Yep, had to correct someone the other day about that but you are rolling to wound then rather then hit. (for templates)
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/02 01:29:47
Subject: Re:PRESCIENCE and rerolls
|
 |
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm
|
Thanks for helping me clear this up!
|
Knowledge is often mistaken for intelligence.
|
|
 |
 |
|