Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 21:15:08
Subject: Casting Blessing After Arriving From Reserves
|
 |
Drew_Riggio
|
Can you cast a psychic blessings on the turn you arrive from reserves?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/15 21:15:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 21:27:14
Subject: Re:Casting Blessing After Arriving From Reserves
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
No. At least, I'm pretty sure no.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 21:56:32
Subject: Re:Casting Blessing After Arriving From Reserves
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Nope. Arriving from reserves happens as that particular unit's movement. That means it has to happen after the very start of the Movement phase - which is when you cast blessings.
That also means you can't cast them on anything arriving from reserve even if your psyker is already on the table, either.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 22:02:34
Subject: Casting Blessing After Arriving From Reserves
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The answer is no, page 125 forbids it. There is a FAQ floating around that I am sure will be pulled out at some point, it always shows itself at least once a month which is how common this question is. The FAQ is addressing a timing issue that arises from the duel use of the terms 'Start of turn' and 'Start of movement.' It contains two examples of situations that use the different terms, reserves and blessings. Because of these two examples, some people have concluded the psyker in question is the one coming in from reserves. This not the case, nothing in the FAQ states it is the unit coming in from reserves and the answer highlights they where simply addressing the timing issue. Therefore, page 125 still stands on a blanket denial of not just all 'start of turn' abilities, but all 'start of movement' abilities as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/15 22:04:14
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 22:23:29
Subject: Casting Blessing After Arriving From Reserves
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
A psyker on the board has permission to cast powers before or after reserve rolls, outflanking rolls, etc.
A psyker coming on the board does not have permission to cast start of the turn powers.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/16 01:35:49
Subject: Casting Blessing After Arriving From Reserves
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Happyjew wrote:A psyker on the board has permission to cast powers before or after reserve rolls, outflanking rolls, etc.
And to clarify what I myself was unclear on for some time, these "rolls" are different than arrival, which means, as mentioned, no casting blessings on units that come in that turn.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/16 01:44:14
Subject: Casting Blessing After Arriving From Reserves
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Elric Greywolf wrote: Happyjew wrote:A psyker on the board has permission to cast powers before or after reserve rolls, outflanking rolls, etc.
And to clarify what I myself was unclear on for some time, these "rolls" are different than arrival, which means, as mentioned, no casting blessings on units that come in that turn.
It's debatable. However that is a discussion for another thread.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/16 01:55:14
Subject: Casting Blessing After Arriving From Reserves
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Happyjew wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote: Happyjew wrote:A psyker on the board has permission to cast powers before or after reserve rolls, outflanking rolls, etc.
And to clarify what I myself was unclear on for some time, these "rolls" are different than arrival, which means, as mentioned, no casting blessings on units that come in that turn.
It's debatable. However that is a discussion for another thread.
Oh! Good to know, because I would love to be wrong in this case (as an ardent disciple of the Divination school).
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/16 01:58:12
Subject: Casting Blessing After Arriving From Reserves
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Long story is what constitutes when a unit arrives from reserves?
If it is upon all necessary rolls (reserve, outflank etc) then it would not be possible as psychic powers are done with those rolls.
If it is when a unit physically moves on the table it is possible, due to the fact you don't roll Outflank until the unit arrives.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/16 10:59:50
Subject: Casting Blessing After Arriving From Reserves
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Elric Greywolf wrote: Happyjew wrote:A psyker on the board has permission to cast powers before or after reserve rolls, outflanking rolls, etc.
And to clarify what I myself was unclear on for some time, these "rolls" are different than arrival, which means, as mentioned, no casting blessings on units that come in that turn.
If you cannot cast blessings on units that hav ejust arrived, you cannot move on from Outflank.
The roll for Outflank is after the roll to see if you turn up, and is also simultaneous with the start of the turn, and simultaneous with Blessings. As you choose the order you must be able to cast on the newly arrived units.
|
|
 |
 |
|