Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 18:10:48
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Zealot
Maine
|
While reading various forums and tactics on tau, I have seen many references to attaching an IC to a Riptide. I am confused as to how this is possible/allowed as the BRB states that an IC can't join single model inits (i.e. vehicles and MCs). All I can figure is that the Riptide is an exception because it can take drones making it not a single model unit. Is this the case? or are you not allow to do this?
|
DS: 80 S+++G++MB++I--Pw40k03+ID++A+++/mWD300R++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 18:12:47
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Most MCs are single model units. The riptide can take drones so it is not always a unit of 1. Carnifexes can also be joined by ICs add they come 1-3.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 18:13:17
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Scouting Gnoblar Trapper
Maryland
|
You said it right, because he has the "option" to take drones he can be joined by an independent character. He doesn't even have to take the drones. Just because he has the "option" to do it, he can be joined by a IC.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 18:13:24
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Also Necron Canoptek Spiders
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 18:18:42
Subject: Re:ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Zealot
Maine
|
Thank you all for your speed and helpfulness!
|
DS: 80 S+++G++MB++I--Pw40k03+ID++A+++/mWD300R++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 18:33:39
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Kelne
|
Necron canoptek spiders, riptides and Carnifexes are the few monstrous creatures an IC may join.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 11:53:24
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
Or a prime joining a swarmlord/tyrant with guard. IC (prime) joining mc (swarmlord).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 13:15:20
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Poly Ranger wrote:Or a prime joining a swarmlord/tyrant with guard. IC (prime) joining mc (swarmlord).
Not quite. In this scenario, the Prime is joining the Tyrant Guard. Who happen to also be joined by a Tyrant. Of course what happens if the Guard get killed off is debatable.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 13:31:34
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Kelne
|
Happyjew wrote:Poly Ranger wrote:Or a prime joining a swarmlord/tyrant with guard. IC (prime) joining mc (swarmlord).
Not quite. In this scenario, the Prime is joining the Tyrant Guard. Who happen to also be joined by a Tyrant. Of course what happens if the Guard get killed off is debatable.
Wouldn't the prime have to split off from the tyrant since the tyrant itself is only an IC as long as it's a part of the guard unit? I must say I'd love to know since I'm a 'nid player and thought of playing such a point-sink unit ....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 13:48:45
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
The rules don't cover the situation.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 14:41:01
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
That is a very intresting point actually!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 17:28:44
Subject: Re:ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
They stay together actually, the death of the Tyrant Guard unit doesn't change the pseudo-IC status of the Hive Tyrant.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 17:50:41
Subject: Re:ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Kelne
|
PrinceRaven wrote:They stay together actually, the death of the Tyrant Guard unit doesn't change the pseudo- IC status of the Hive Tyrant.
I'm confused by this statement. The tyrant is never truly an IC, it just may join guards as if he were one, and benefits from a few of thier rules ( LoS!, precision shots ...) when with them.
Once there is no more guard units, the tyrant isn't an IC in any way. You'd get an IC joined to an always consisting of 1 model unit. And then the game breaks as you divide by 0 ...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 18:02:00
Subject: Re:ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Basically, Shield Wall has it join the unit "just like an IC" and once the Tyrant Guard die, it is still joined to the Prime "just like an IC". It will only lose this pseudo-IC status once it's no longer attached to anything.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 20:12:55
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I thought the rules on ICs only covered them joining, not remaining joined.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 22:19:48
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
I agree. I'd ask to be shown a rule that forces them to separate, I'd also point to the IC's section which state they count as members of the same unit for all intents and purposes. To my knowledge nothing exists which would force us to check the status and legality of ICs joined to a unit once joined. If you can legally join, you stay joined until you choose to leave, then you could not later rejoin.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 04:46:36
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
ICs joining a unit is checked at the end of every movement phase; if your unit is not legally allowed to be joined then your IC is no longer joined; and has to move 2" away.
second paragraph of "Joining and leaving a unit" under the IC rules on page 39 of the brb.
Technically every movement phase you have to move the unit then the ic separately; but in practice everyone just moves them both together.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 05:40:00
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:ICs joining a unit is checked at the end of every movement phase; if your unit is not legally allowed to be joined then your IC is no longer joined; and has to move 2" away.
second paragraph of "Joining and leaving a unit" under the IC rules on page 39 of the brb.
Technically every movement phase you have to move the unit then the ic separately; but in practice everyone just moves them both together.
That is not what page 39 says at all. There is not clause that states a character auto leaves a unit every movement phase, quite the opposite. Leaving a unit is a distinct choice, therefore once joined to a unit the IC is part of that unit unless the IC chooses to leave the unit.
I suggest you carefully reread the relevant rules on pg 39 with understanding.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 05:51:09
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
what do you suggest happens when you have an IC start the game joined to a unit, and at the end of the first turns movement phase the IC is within 2" of both the unit started and another eligible unit?
Are you claiming the controller player does not have to declare which unit he is joined to, as the rules say?
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 07:57:19
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
joining, not remaining joined. Joining is a distinct action.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 13:38:57
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Which happens at the end of every movement phase, yes.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 15:29:47
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:what do you suggest happens when you have an IC start the game joined to a unit, and at the end of the first turns movement phase the IC is within 2" of both the unit started and another eligible unit?
Are you claiming the controller player does not have to declare which unit he is joined to, as the rules say?
He does not, as the IC is part of the first unit, and has not satisfied the requirements for leaving the unit, ie moving out of coherency.
The rule you are referencing is if you have an IC who is not currently joined to a squad and has moved into coherency with multiple unit, then you have to declare what eligible squad he is joining. Automatically Appended Next Post:
This. Automatically Appended Next Post:
For unjoined ICs, yes.
IC joins squad at deployment. That squad then moves and the IC is never out of coherency and therefore has never left the unit. How do you join an IC to a unit its already joined to? Or are you using some rule which doesn't appear to be in the BRB which requires an IC to leave a unit and rejoin at the end of every movement phase? None exists.
Joining an IC to a squad, and an IC being part of a squad are very distinct states.
You seem to be overlooking the last rule on the left column for ICs.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/06 15:34:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 21:31:32
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter
|
I wish the riptide thing would be FAQ'd cause it makes the riptide stupid hard to kill when eldrad joins him and makes him reroll saves
|
*Kaptain wez got da tellyporta runnin*
*Did yer try it out*
*well sir we'z low on grotz*
*after you den mister nailbrain*
-BIZZZAP-
*I have no idea if dat means it worked...., alright ere we go Waaaaahhhg!
-BIZZAP- |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 21:34:33
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Kaptain Skullstompa wrote:I wish the riptide thing would be FAQ'd cause it makes the riptide stupid hard to kill when eldrad joins him and makes him reroll saves
And the great thing is Eldrad doesn't even need to join the unit to cast Fortune on it.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 22:09:02
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
I think I am missing something as people are referencing a rule that says that in IC cannot join a monstrous creature that consists of one model...
I've just checked both the IC rules and the MC rules and cannot find anything that says that an IC cannot join a single model unit.
which also I'd like to add doesn't make sense since multiple IC's can form their own unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 22:11:05
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Second sentence in the IC rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 23:58:09
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
nutty_nutter wrote:I think I am missing something as people are referencing a rule that says that in IC cannot join a monstrous creature that consists of one model...
I've just checked both the IC rules and the MC rules and cannot find anything that says that an IC cannot join a single model unit.
which also I'd like to add doesn't make sense since multiple IC's can form their own unit.
Not just MCs; no units of only ever 1 model.
And ICs allowed to join each other is a specific allowance
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/13 00:03:44
Subject: ICs and Riptides
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I believe the MC reference was in 4th Ed. The wording on the IC rule has remained the same the past 2 editions.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|