Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 18:19:24
Subject: Multiple Modifiers and Grimoire of True Names
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Multiple Modifiers
If a model has a combination of rules or wargear that modify a characteristic, first apply any multipliers, then apply any additions or subtractions, and finally apply any set values. For example, if a model with Strength 4 has both ‘+1 Strength’ and ‘double Strength’, its final Strength is 9 (4×2=8, 8+1=9). If a model with Strength 4 has both ‘+1 Strength’ and ‘Strength 8’, its final Strength is 8 (ignore +1 Strength and set it at 8).
For example, if a model with save 5++ has both '++2 save' and 'save 4++', its final save is 4++ (ignore ++2 save and set it at 4).
Thoughts ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 18:26:29
Subject: Multiple Modifiers and Grimoire of True Names
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
You'll need to write your terms out better I'm afraid.
The model has a 5+ Invulnerable (5++)
With a +2 modifier to invulnerable saves?
and an additonal 4+ invulnerable (4++)?
is that what you're asking?
Say for example the extra 4++ was granted by a Psychic power? If so that would be a seperate save, not a modifier to the original.
So if the +2 modifier is just a general modifier to invulnerable saves it can apply to this new one as well, making it a 2++. Assuming it isn't specific to say the Daemonic save.
If that's what you mean?
If the +2 modifier was specific to Daemonic saves you would have a 3++ and 4++, of which you would choose the better of the two.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/28 18:48:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 18:46:17
Subject: Multiple Modifiers and Grimoire of True Names
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Saves aren't a "fixed modifier" they are their own save. If you were right then the 5++ from the daemon rule would also be a fixed modifier and the grimoire wouldn't modify that either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 23:39:32
Subject: Multiple Modifiers and Grimoire of True Names
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Grimoire just makes the invunerable saves you have better by 2.
If you have more than 1 invun, it makes both better by 2, and due to the rules for saves, you would only use the best one anyway.
If your model has a 4+ invun it goes to 2+ unless you have mark of tzeentch buffing it. They dont stack all the way.
Mark of Tzeentch can never be utilized in any save that is better than 3++.
This means the only way to get a 2+ invun from grimoire is to have a 4+ invun that is not using MoT (such as from Forewarning)
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/29 07:48:01
Subject: Multiple Modifiers and Grimoire of True Names
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
morgoth wrote:Multiple Modifiers
If a model has a combination of rules or wargear that modify a characteristic, first apply any multipliers, then apply any additions or subtractions, and finally apply any set values. For example, if a model with Strength 4 has both ‘+1 Strength’ and ‘double Strength’, its final Strength is 9 (4×2=8, 8+1=9). If a model with Strength 4 has both ‘+1 Strength’ and ‘Strength 8’, its final Strength is 8 (ignore +1 Strength and set it at 8).
For example, if a model with save 5++ has both '++2 save' and 'save 4++', its final save is 4++ (ignore ++2 save and set it at 4).
Thoughts ?
An additional save is not a set modifier, so no, you dont ignore the +2 to inv save bonus. Instead you have 2 saves, one of 5++ and one of 4++, both of which get modified to 3++ and 2++
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/29 09:53:43
Subject: Multiple Modifiers and Grimoire of True Names
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That makes sense, thanks.
|
|
 |
 |
|