Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 16:20:49
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Charge 2d6. Use stratigem: roll one die, keep the other as it lies.
True or false?
From recent FAQ:
Page 178 – Re-rolls Change this paragraph to read: ‘Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means you get to roll some or all of the dice again. If a rule allows you to re-roll a result that was made by adding several dice together (e.g. 2D6, 3D6, etc.) then, unless otherwise stated, you must roll all of those dice again. You can never re-roll a dice more than once, and re-rolls happen before modifiers (if any) are applied.’
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 16:32:57
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Assuming you mean the Command Re-Roll and not a different stratagem, true. The FAQ says you re-roll the whole thing "unless otherwise stated". The stratagem states otherwise in that it specifies you re-roll a single die.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 16:37:05
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, command reroll
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 16:42:04
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Presently unknown.
There are 2 schools of thought and both have valid points:
1) take the strategem literally; you only ever reroll 1 die no matter how many you rolled for the rule. Valid because the strategem is not telling you to reroll a result, just any dice(which GW uses as both singular and plural).
2) take the strategem as "result" or rather default back to the normal reroll rules. Valid as the only rules we have for rerolls.
Personally, as you are spending a finite resource, I play both interpretations at will: reroll 1 die, or the whole result.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 19:00:50
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Presently unknown.
There are 2 schools of thought and both have valid points:
1) take the strategem literally; you only ever reroll 1 die no matter how many you rolled for the rule. Valid because the strategem is not telling you to reroll a result, just any dice(which GW uses as both singular and plural).
2) take the strategem as "result" or rather default back to the normal reroll rules. Valid as the only rules we have for rerolls.
Personally, as you are spending a finite resource, I play both interpretations at will: reroll 1 die, or the whole result.
2) How can you literally change the rule and claim that's a valid point?
I also don't get the "the only rules we have for rerolls" comment. The FAQ quoted above tells you how to reroll a result. The strategem tells you how to use the strategem. Clear instructions are provided, you do not have to look for "how do I re-roll a single dice" because it is literally "re-roll a single dice".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 19:09:06
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
nekooni wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:Presently unknown.
There are 2 schools of thought and both have valid points:
1) take the strategem literally; you only ever reroll 1 die no matter how many you rolled for the rule. Valid because the strategem is not telling you to reroll a result, just any dice(which GW uses as both singular and plural).
2) take the strategem as "result" or rather default back to the normal reroll rules. Valid as the only rules we have for rerolls.
Personally, as you are spending a finite resource, I play both interpretations at will: reroll 1 die, or the whole result.
2) How can you literally change the rule and claim that's a valid point?
I also don't get the "the only rules we have for rerolls" comment. The FAQ quoted above tells you how to reroll a result. The strategem tells you how to use the strategem. Clear instructions are provided, you do not have to look for "how do I re-roll a single dice" because it is literally "re-roll a single dice".
Because as it's been stated in other posts the Stratagem it's poorly written.
Should it say Die only 1st option would be valid but since it says Dice wich it's plural makes the whole thing confussing if then you add the FAQ.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 19:10:18
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Dice isn't plural in GW's english. It's singular and plural.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 19:17:29
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And its not on ' GW's English'. Dice has become an acceptable singular form in the modern English language.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 19:23:57
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
|
Stratagem: Command Re-roll
"You can re-roll any single dice."
There's your answer. Leave one, re-roll the lower one.
|
Squats 2020! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 19:27:23
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Lord Perversor wrote:Because as it's been stated in other posts the Stratagem it's poorly written.
Should it say Die only 1st option would be valid but since it says Dice wich it's plural makes the whole thing confussing if then you add the FAQ.
Modern standard English considers "dice" to be singular and plural. That's why you use a qualifier such as "single" if you want to be precise. GW did so. Want to check a more precise language? Let's say ... German? I happen to have a German BRB right next to me: It tells me to roll "einen Würfel". That's one. Not two, not all, not the result, just one (1) dice (die).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/05 19:27:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 19:32:29
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
Ghaz wrote:
And its not on ' GW's English'. Dice has become an acceptable singular form in the modern English language.
And Webster dictionary has added "emoji", "meme", " WTF", and "clickbait" to the word list of acceptable modern English language.
When people use "eggcorn" like it's a real word and expect us to just go along with it, there's a problem. Not my language!
|
It's called a thick skin. The Jersey born have it innately. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 19:49:41
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Doesn't matter. Like it or not, dice is an acceptable singular.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 20:41:49
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Acceptable for the same reasons as for why it is also confusing.
Language is a fun thing, all the 'rules' I learned that really where more... guidelines.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/05 20:46:56
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 22:04:19
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
dadx6 wrote:Stratagem: Command Re-roll
"You can re-roll any single dice."
There's your answer. Leave one, re-roll the lower one.
Written before the FAQ soooo....
It requires 2 dice to determine the result of a assault. FAQ says if two dice are required to determine result... roll both.
Same for psychic tests.
So I can reroll 4d6 for a Wyvern morter but can only roll one die for an assault? If not what does the FAQ want to mean?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 22:10:22
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Byte wrote:FAQ says if two dice are required to determine result... roll both.
No. What it says is (emphasis added)...
If a rule allows you to re-roll a result that was made by adding several dice together (e.g. 2D6, 3D6, etc.) then, unless otherwise stated, you must roll all of those dice again.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 22:16:23
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
|
Byte wrote:
Written before the FAQ soooo....
It requires 2 dice to determine the result of a assault. FAQ says if two dice are required to determine result... roll both.
Same for psychic tests.
So I can reroll 4d6 for a Wyvern morter but can only roll one die for an assault? If not what does the FAQ want to mean?
Nope. If the stratagem meant that, it would say "you can re-roll any single dice roll" or "you can re-roll any single dice result." However, without that extra noun, you can only re-roll a single dice. It's tragic that they are moving away from the grammatically correct "die" but when you roll a die and on a roll of 6, the target model dies, people tend to get confused. Referring to all the cubes as dice is a way of simplifying the ruleset. It's really written for like 3rd graders to be able to understand, now.
|
Squats 2020! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/05 22:18:37
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
3rd graders know what jegging is. ....??? What we need are rules written for adults to understand.
|
It's called a thick skin. The Jersey born have it innately. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 09:19:16
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Arkaine wrote:3rd graders know what jegging is. ....??? What we need are rules written for adults to understand.
I'm an adult and I'm not even a native English speaker. I still understood GWs rule at first glance. I don't think the issue is with the authors, to be honest. At least not in this case. They're using modern English ("dice"), they added a clear qualifier ("single"), they used different wordings for different things ("result" versus "roll") and yet the issue is with GW? When your arguments are "I replaced roll with result" and "I refuse to use the modern meaning of the word dice", it gets a bit ridiculous.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/06 09:19:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 09:36:09
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ok...
So everyone is smart, got it.
Why was the faq written/released? Example?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 09:44:53
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Byte wrote:Ok...
So everyone is smart, got it.
Why was the faq written/released? Example?
They didn't FAQ the Strategem, did they?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 09:45:51
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
Because there is more than just that stratagem that allows for re-rolls.
For example, Khorne Icons in the CSM index/codex allows units with them to re-roll failed charges, Pre FaQ some took that to mean they could choose to only roll 1 of the dice. Post FaQ they have to re-roll both.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 11:44:00
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
Birmingham
|
Arkaine wrote:3rd graders know what jegging is. ....??? What we need are rules written for adults to understand.
It's funny how it only ever seems to be Americans that complain about this, maybe you should try and understand the differences American English and British English given that GW is a British company?
A to the OP, I can't for the life of me see how "re-roll a single dice" could ever be interpreted as "re-roll mutliple dice" by anyone that isn't attempting to cheat.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/06 11:45:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 13:13:40
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Byte wrote:Ok...
So everyone is smart, got it.
Why was the faq written/released? Example?
The FAQ tells you what it applies to.
Page 178 – Re-rolls
Change this paragraph to read:
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 13:16:02
Subject: Re:Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
|
Well, this definitely immediately sprung to mind reading this.
Seriously, if your argument hinges on "I refuse to accept the modern usage of the word 'dice' as a singular, even when the word 'single' is explicitly used", it's a pretty pisspoor argument.
You asked a simple question, and at this point people have more than answered it.
-You re-roll one die, because the rule explicitly tells you to.
-This is not in conflict with the FAQ you posted, because of advanced>basic, and because the FAQ you posted literally, explicitly says unless the rule in question says otherwise.
-This FAQ was not released to deal with literally this one particular scenario you have decided is the only reason they would have released it, but deals with basic rules for rerolling dice. I honestly don't know why you even think "but why would they have released this FAQ" is a valid argument, when the answer is obvious.
Seriously, I'm sorry you rolled snake eyes and wish you could re-roll both dice or whatever, but that's not going to change the interpretation of a clearly stated rule.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also, you do realize that "eggcorn" is a term that was literally coined by a professor of linguistics to describe the tendency of people to mishear and misrepeat words and phrases, right? A la hearing "acorn" as "eggcorn"
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/09/06 13:28:04
"But If the Earth isn't flat, then how did Jabba chakka wookiee no Solo ho ho ho hoooooooo?" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 14:39:04
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
"Any single Dice" can mean either:
1) any single dice(in the singular usage)
Or
2) any single dice(in the plural usage of the result)
Dice as both Singular and plural in the same usage and when there are times that it can be either or both is used as a numeric neutral. There are many times in which using colloquialisms instead of absolute values creates confusion between the speaker and listener(or writer and reader). Case-in-point: I will use the term "couple to denote a vague plurality of "more than one, but less than 4" if I mean 2, I will simply state 2. Usage in sentence: "I am going on a hike, I will be back in a couple of hours." I could be gone in this usage for 1-hour and 5 minutes, or I could be gone for around 3 to 4 hours, the exact amount is unspecified as it is unknown at the time of statement.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 14:48:21
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:"Any single Dice" can mean... 2) any single dice(in the plural usage of the result)
Is that like "any single books" or "any single dogs" or any other single examples?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/06 14:53:35
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 14:51:33
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:"Any single Dice" can mean either:
1) any single dice(in the singular usage)
Or
2) any single dice(in the plural usage of the result)
Dice as both Singular and plural in the same usage and when there are times that it can be either or both is used as a numeric neutral. There are many times in which using colloquialisms instead of absolute values creates confusion between the speaker and listener(or writer and reader). Case-in-point: I will use the term "couple to denote a vague plurality of "more than one, but less than 4" if I mean 2, I will simply state 2. Usage in sentence: "I am going on a hike, I will be back in a couple of hours." I could be gone in this usage for 1-hour and 5 minutes, or I could be gone for around 3 to 4 hours, the exact amount is unspecified as it is unknown at the time of statement.
I find this line of reasoning spurious. For example, if you were to state, "I will be gone for a single hour" vs. "I will be gone for a single hours." One of these is vague and self-contradictory, the other is not. The "single" portion of the rule tells us exactly what we re-roll, and removes the ambiguity from the usage of the word "dice."
A more comparable example would be saying, "You may have a single sheep." "Sheep" is both singular and plural for sheep, but the use of the word "single" clarifies exactly how many sheep we may have. Likewise, "Dice" is both singular and plural for dice, but the use of the word "single" clarifies exactly how many dice we may re-roll.
|
Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 15:41:34
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
|
Octopoid wrote:
A more comparable example would be saying, "You may have a single sheep." "Sheep" is both singular and plural for sheep, but the use of the word "single" clarifies exactly how many sheep we may have.
Man, it deeply wounds my faith in humanity that someone actually has to explain this
|
"But If the Earth isn't flat, then how did Jabba chakka wookiee no Solo ho ho ho hoooooooo?" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 15:47:33
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
Ghaz wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:"Any single Dice" can mean...
2) any single dice(in the plural usage of the result)
Is that like "any single books" or "any single dogs" or any other single examples?
No, it's like "any single glasses" or "any single scissors" or "any single pants". You don't break yours in half when someone asks for one of these.
|
It's called a thick skin. The Jersey born have it innately. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/06 15:52:48
Subject: Stratigem die re-roll true or false
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
Arkaine wrote: Ghaz wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:"Any single Dice" can mean...
2) any single dice(in the plural usage of the result)
Is that like "any single books" or "any single dogs" or any other single examples?
No, it's like "any single glasses" or "any single scissors" or "any single pants". You don't break yours in half when someone asks for one of these.
That's because they only come in units of two. You can't HAVE a single glass (when referring to worn optics) or a single pant or a single scissor. You CAN have a single dice. You may not LIKE the usage of the term (I certainly don't), but the phrase "a single dice" means one object that you roll to generate a random number. In the context of Warhammer, and utilizing standard gaming parlance, it's 1d6 unless otherwise noted, which in this case, it isn't.
It's more like "any single sheep" or "any single fish".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/06 15:53:33
Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
|