Switch Theme:

Flyimng transports, vertical measuring?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

I wanne move some wytches out of my ravager or venom. How do I measure? More speseifically the vertical aspect of the measuring.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Doesn't both the ravager and venom have a base?

I thought they did.

Since they do ( I think) you just measure from the base, like for every other unit with a base. ( If I am remembering correctly).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Measure from the base.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User





Raiderr and Ravager have the „hovering“ rule, so you measure from the hull. Venom is measured from base because it is missing the rule.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/04/17 13:52:45


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Niiai wrote:
I wanne move some wytches out of my ravager or venom. How do I measure? More speseifically the vertical aspect of the measuring.
Read the datasheet for the Raider, it has the hovering rule. Venoms measure to the base like all other models.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Yes. But how do I measure from the reider?

1- Do I measure in 'air lines', as the crow flyes?

2- Or do I measure 90 degrees straight down and then fom there. With them being about 2" down I can only deploy 1" from them?

3- Or do I measure 3" from the hull vertically?

If it is 2 and 3, where can I measure from? Can I model from advantage.

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Niiai wrote:
Yes. But how do I measure from the reider?

1- Do I measure in 'air lines', as the crow flyes?

2- Or do I measure 90 degrees straight down and then fom there. With them being about 2" down I can only deploy 1" from them?

3- Or do I measure 3" from the hull vertically?

If it is 2 and 3, where can I measure from? Can I model from advantage.
You measure the actual distance from the base or from the hull. Whichever is closest.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

That does not awnser what I am asking. How am I measuring? And not from the base on ravagers. You of all people should get your facts straight BaconCatBug.

1 - 2D in a 3D world?

2 - 3D, down to the ground and then distance on the table?

3 - 3D obliquely?

Edit: I also do the seame when I try to get into a transport, right?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/04/17 18:15:04


   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

I do not understand if it is my bad English, or that the question is confusing.

I made this little drawing of a ravager (brown) and the dark eldar model (black) and the 3 options for interpeting the measuring.
[Thumb - ravager.jpg]


   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






The last one. All distances are measured base to base. However the Raider has a rule saying to measure to the hull or the base, whatever is closest. Thus you measure to the hull.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/17 18:29:28


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




I would say the hovering rule means its number 3 from the hull to the models base.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






Technically it's 3. But i'd opt for consistency over "technical" correctness.

I use the bases of my non-flyer flying units for all to/from measuring. My DS actually is converted on a oval base than the standard large flying base it comes with. It makes measuring distance clear cut.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

So when I a unit deploys out if a transport, I do picture 3. Can I also measure out their movement or do I have place all the models within 3 and then move them afterwards?

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Niiai wrote:
So when I a unit deploys out if a transport, I do picture 3. Can I also measure out their movement or do I have place all the models within 3 and then move them afterwards?
You place them all within 3, then measure their movement.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Follow up question. How do I measure movement over terain?

Option 1, 2 or 3 from before?

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Niiai wrote:
Follow up question. How do I measure movement over terain?

Option 1, 2 or 3 from before?
You ignore all vertical movement when you can FLY, as per the current FAQs. So you'd measure #1 as though it were top down.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/17 19:03:48


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 Niiai wrote:
Follow up question. How do I measure movement over terain?

Option 1, 2 or 3 from before?
If you're asking how to measure distance between a model placed on top of elevated terrain to model places on the ground, it is also 3. This is covered in the FAQ.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 skchsan wrote:
 Niiai wrote:
Follow up question. How do I measure movement over terain?

Option 1, 2 or 3 from before?
If you're asking how to measure distance between a model placed on top of elevated terrain to model places on the ground, it is also 3. This is covered in the FAQ.

Not if your moving and are not a flyer.

Non fly do option 2 for movement
Units with Fly get to do option 1 for movement
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 skchsan wrote:
 Niiai wrote:
Follow up question. How do I measure movement over terain?

Option 1, 2 or 3 from before?
If you're asking how to measure distance between a model placed on top of elevated terrain to model places on the ground, it is also 3. This is covered in the FAQ.
Q: When a unit that can Fly declares a charge move against a
unit that is on the upper levels of a ruin, do I need to include
the vertical distance when making the subsequent charge move
for the unit?
A: No. A unit that can Fly effectively ignores vertical
distances when making a charge move. Note though that
the charging unit must still be within 12" (measured
directly ‘base-to-base’, i.e. diagonally) to be able to
declare the charge in the first place.

Since charge moves use the base movement rules, it stands to reason that you also ignore vertical movement when normally moving.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/17 19:09:50


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
 Niiai wrote:
Follow up question. How do I measure movement over terain?

Option 1, 2 or 3 from before?
If you're asking how to measure distance between a model placed on top of elevated terrain to model places on the ground, it is also 3. This is covered in the FAQ.
Q: When a unit that can Fly declares a charge move against a
unit that is on the upper levels of a ruin, do I need to include
the vertical distance when making the subsequent charge move
for the unit?
A: No. A unit that can Fly effectively ignores vertical
distances when making a charge move. Note though that
the charging unit must still be within 12" (measured
directly ‘base-to-base’, i.e. diagonally) to be able to
declare the charge in the first place.

Since charge moves use the base movement rules, it stands to reason that you also ignore vertical movement when normally moving.


Agreed.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

In this example.
[Thumb - travel.jpg]

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/04/17 19:16:36


   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Niiai wrote:
In this example.
6" from base to base. FLY ignores terrain. If you stopped half way to land on top of the terrain, it would be 3" move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/17 19:18:03


 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Well the base on top of the hill would also be 6 from base to base, asuming the hill is tall enough. It does not really reflect in the paint picture. But picture 2 also has 6 from base to base. He would how ever have traveled much further then 6".
[Thumb - travel 2.jpg]

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/17 19:22:25


   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

FLY ignores terrain and models. Units with FLY treat the battlefield as two dimensional. There is no elevation, no height for them. Thats why they move 6" in a straight line in picture two on the ground, and ignore that hill.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/04/17 19:32:32


 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

The model in the picture does not have fly though.

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Niiai wrote:
The model in the picture does not have fly though.
Then you measure the actual distance moved, including vertical movement.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

So that would be picture 1 then, on top of the hill. Even though picture 2 also only have moved 6.

Also, how do I measure distance? As in the disemebark picture 3?

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





When they've talked about vertical movement before, they have said that for inantry you take the sum of vertical and horizontal, so that would be picture 2. Some units may have a special rule besides FLY that lets them ignore the vertical movement, however.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: