Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2025/07/11 13:29:50
Subject: Drop pods and rapid ingress
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
UK
|
Can you use rapid ingress to bring on a drop pod in your opponents turn 1 regardless of mission rules and regardless of whether you go first or second?
Arguing in favour of no:
The drop pod datasheet states:
1. You can bring it on in your turn 1 movement phase regardless of mission rules
So, your opponents turn is not your movement phase, therefore no rapid ingress?
Arguing in favour of yes:
Rapid ingress itself states:
1. You arrive as if it were the reinforcements step of your movement phase, and
2. You cannot use the stratagem to arrive in a battle round you would not normally be able to do so in
So, in battle round 1 you would normally be able to bring the pod in during your movement phase, therefore rapid ingress is ok?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2025/07/12 05:55:16
Subject: Re:Drop pods and rapid ingress
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Yes you can.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2025/07/13 04:54:57
Subject: Drop pods and rapid ingress
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Insularum wrote:Arguing in favour of yes:
Rapid ingress itself states:
1. You arrive as if it were the reinforcements step of your movement phase, and
2. You cannot use the stratagem to arrive in a battle round you would not normally be able to do so in
This is the way, otherwise Rapid Ingress wouldn't work at all as Deep Strike also works in "in the Reinforcements step of one of your Movement phases".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2025/07/13 07:26:01
Subject: Re:Drop pods and rapid ingress
|
 |
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine
|
I think since it says "of your ... movement phase" you can't rapid ingress on turn one.
Page 14 of the Tules Commentary:
Q: If a unit from your army has a rule that allows it to be
set up on the battlefield from Reserves in the first battle
round, can that unit be set up in the Reinforcements
step of your opponent’s Movement phase, using the
Rapid Ingress Stratagem?
A: Yes, unless that rule explicitly states that it applies in
your Movement phase, in which case it is prevented by the
restrictions for out-of-phase rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2025/07/13 11:13:25
Subject: Re:Drop pods and rapid ingress
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
UK
|
Tallandra wrote:I think since it says "of your ... movement phase" you can't rapid ingress on turn one.
Page 14 of the Tules Commentary:
Q: If a unit from your army has a rule that allows it to be
set up on the battlefield from Reserves in the first battle
round, can that unit be set up in the Reinforcements
step of your opponent’s Movement phase, using the
Rapid Ingress Stratagem?
A: Yes, unless that rule explicitly states that it applies in
your Movement phase, in which case it is prevented by the
restrictions for out-of-phase rules.
I think this is the correct answer - there was something I was sure I was forgetting and I think this is probably it.
I think the interpretation is that you cannot daisy chain phase specific rules in out of phase activities, the out of phase action is a singular specific thing. I think the way I'll play this is:
1. You can rapid ingress any unit in reserves, but
2. You do so without the benefit of any bolted on rules specific to a phase like the drop pod has
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2025/07/13 12:05:32
Subject: Drop pods and rapid ingress
|
 |
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl
|
So... wouldn't that prevent ANY Deep Strikers from ever arriving via Rapid Ingress?
Nevermind, Rapid Ingress actually says, "(even though it is not your Movement phase)"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2025/07/13 12:07:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2025/07/31 17:50:27
Subject: Drop pods and rapid ingress
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Something to note, that this restriction only applied to Match Play games.
While Strategic Reserve units always have to wait until turn 2 to arrive, regular reserve units (like those with Deep Strike) have their restriction tied to the various Match Play Mission decks.
So, if you're playing Crusade, or anything that's not matched play, you can Rapid Ingress a Drop Pod (or any other Deep Strike unit) on turn 1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2025/07/31 21:07:18
Subject: Drop pods and rapid ingress
|
 |
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl
|
Tawnis wrote:Something to note, that this restriction only applied to Match Play games.
While Strategic Reserve units always have to wait until turn 2 to arrive, regular reserve units (like those with Deep Strike) have their restriction tied to the various Match Play Mission decks.
So, if you're playing Crusade, or anything that's not matched play, you can Rapid Ingress a Drop Pod (or any other Deep Strike unit) on turn 1.
Crusade ALSO prohibits turn one reserves.
The key is that the Core Rules don't have the restriction, it's the mission pack. So if you're doing Open Play (which is basically just whatever you want, anyways) you can Deep Strike turn one.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2025/08/01 13:45:32
Subject: Drop pods and rapid ingress
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
BorderCountess wrote: Tawnis wrote:Something to note, that this restriction only applied to Match Play games.
While Strategic Reserve units always have to wait until turn 2 to arrive, regular reserve units (like those with Deep Strike) have their restriction tied to the various Match Play Mission decks.
So, if you're playing Crusade, or anything that's not matched play, you can Rapid Ingress a Drop Pod (or any other Deep Strike unit) on turn 1.
Crusade ALSO prohibits turn one reserves.
The key is that the Core Rules don't have the restriction, it's the mission pack. So if you're doing Open Play (which is basically just whatever you want, anyways) you can Deep Strike turn one.
Thanks for the correction. You can tell I haven't played any Crusade yet this edition.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2025/08/01 20:04:00
Subject: Drop pods and rapid ingress
|
 |
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl
|
Tawnis wrote: BorderCountess wrote: Tawnis wrote:Something to note, that this restriction only applied to Match Play games.
While Strategic Reserve units always have to wait until turn 2 to arrive, regular reserve units (like those with Deep Strike) have their restriction tied to the various Match Play Mission decks.
So, if you're playing Crusade, or anything that's not matched play, you can Rapid Ingress a Drop Pod (or any other Deep Strike unit) on turn 1.
Crusade ALSO prohibits turn one reserves.
The key is that the Core Rules don't have the restriction, it's the mission pack. So if you're doing Open Play (which is basically just whatever you want, anyways) you can Deep Strike turn one.
Thanks for the correction. You can tell I haven't played any Crusade yet this edition.
I recommend it - feels more fun.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2025/08/01 20:39:46
Subject: Drop pods and rapid ingress
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
BorderCountess wrote: Tawnis wrote: BorderCountess wrote: Tawnis wrote:Something to note, that this restriction only applied to Match Play games.
While Strategic Reserve units always have to wait until turn 2 to arrive, regular reserve units (like those with Deep Strike) have their restriction tied to the various Match Play Mission decks.
So, if you're playing Crusade, or anything that's not matched play, you can Rapid Ingress a Drop Pod (or any other Deep Strike unit) on turn 1.
Crusade ALSO prohibits turn one reserves.
The key is that the Core Rules don't have the restriction, it's the mission pack. So if you're doing Open Play (which is basically just whatever you want, anyways) you can Deep Strike turn one.
Thanks for the correction. You can tell I haven't played any Crusade yet this edition.
I recommend it - feels more fun.
Been meaning too, had lots of fun with it last edition and I hear this one's even better. Just haven't had the time outside local leagues which most have just been doing matched play. (And I haven't been able to track down a copy of the WD that had the Krootsade rules either.)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2025/08/01 20:40:13
|
|
 |
 |
|