Switch Theme:

Moved over ?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




Some units have an ability where they inflict mortal wounds when they moved over an enemy unit. For example screamers :

Slashing Dive: In your Movement phase, after this unit ends a Normal move, you can select one enemy unit it moved over during that move and roll one D6 for each model in this unit: for each 4+, that enemy unit suffers 1 mortal wound.


What exactly is meant by "moving over" ? Is it enough if a tiny part of any screamer model barely moved over the base of any enemy model ? Does it mean that the entire base of a screamer has to move over an enemy model ? Or is part of the base enough to trigger the slashing dive rule ? Can a screamer hover over an enemy model in mid air, and then move back to where it started ? Does this count as "moved over" ?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




NE Ohio, USA

LaurentLamar wrote:
Some units have an ability where they inflict mortal wounds when they moved over an enemy unit. For example screamers :

Slashing Dive: In your Movement phase, after this unit ends a Normal move, you can select one enemy unit it moved over during that move and roll one D6 for each model in this unit: for each 4+, that enemy unit suffers 1 mortal wound.


What exactly is meant by "moving over" ?


LaurentLamar wrote:
Is it enough if a tiny part of any screamer model barely moved over the base of any enemy model ?


The base of the enemy doesn't have to be involved. Think about flying over something like a Necron Doomsday Ark or some other vehicle on a flying base.
Best though if you make sure that some part of your own base is passing over part of the enemy - avoids arguments.

LaurentLamar wrote:
Does it mean that the entire base of a screamer has to move over an enemy model ?


No. Just a bit will suffice.

LaurentLamar wrote:
Or is part of the base enough to trigger the slashing dive rule ? Can a screamer hover over an enemy model in mid air, and then move back to where it started ? Does this count as "moved over" ?


Yes, yes, & yes.

Yes.
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




Do you have a rule citation where "moved over" is defined which i could quote when it comes to disagreement ?
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

It is bit hidden in the rules. The rules for movement are:
Each time you move a unit, you can move any of its models you choose to. The controlling player chooses the order in which to move their models. Whenever you move a model, you can pivot it and/or change its position on the battlefield along any path, but no part of its base can be moved across an enemy model or cross the edge of the battlefield. It can be moved over friendly models as if they were not there if you wish, but it cannot end its move on top of another model. The only exception to this is when moving Monster or Vehicle models; such models cannot be moved over other friendly Monster or Vehicle models and must be moved around them instead. The distance a model moves is measured using the part of its base that moves furthest along its path. If a model does not have a base, measure using whichever part of that model moves the furthest.
The Rules Commentary adds:
Moving Over Models: Some models have a rule that enables them to ‘move over models’, or ‘move over models as if they were not there’ when making a move. When moving a model with such a rule, it can be moved within Engagement Range of enemy models, but it cannot end a move on top of another model, it cannot end a Normal, Advance or Fall Back move within Engagement Range of any enemy models, and it can only end a Charge move within Engagement Range of units it declared a charge against that phase.
Given this, you Move Over another model when part of the moving model that you measure from crosses part of model you measure from on the other model. Essentially, the distance between the models would have to be less than 0".
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you. So its sufficient that 1mm of my model moves over 1mm of an enemy model.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




NE Ohio, USA

LaurentLamar wrote:
Thank you. So its sufficient that 1mm of my model moves over 1mm of an enemy model.


Yes.

Though to attempt to prevent the Argument Phase(tm) triggering, try & make it bigger than that.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: