Switch Theme:

Sniping with Coruscating Warp Flame?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Screeching Screamer of Tzeentch





Since Coruscating Warp Flame happens before the model attacks, would you wait to roll the Warp Flame hit on a Veteran Serageant with a Powerfist until just before I1 attacks?  Since it specifies "model" would the space marine player have to remove the Veteran Sergeant if he took a wound and failed the save?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Utah (Oh god)

Umm... What exactly are the entire rules for warp flame. My gut intuition is that only Vindicare's get to snipe.

Lasguns the new Assault Cannon. 
   
Made in us
Screeching Screamer of Tzeentch





The rule states, "Any model attacking the vehicle takes a Str D6, AP4 hit before resolving its attacks."
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch






Each model gets it's own hit, so you would do the hit on the seargent before he attacks. It's not 'sniping', it just hits each model individually, so if you didn't kill the Sgt with regular CC attacks before his I1 to go he would still have to make his roll for the flame, and be removed if it wounds and he fails his save..

   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





All kinds of things get to snipe.

Master of the Ravenwing on a Landspeeder.

Gift of Chaos.

Librarian's lame vortex power.

Read the rules and apply them. That simple. Plenty of precedent for individual models getting tagged.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Utah (Oh god)

Ah I remember now, you are right, Ravenwing does, Vortex, ya but how often do those ever get brought on the field.

Still, it seems to me that you aren't actually sniping with this one, this power, when people assault the vehicle, they have to save vs. a potential wound from flames around the tank. If you killed the sergeant before hand then that is that.

Your term isn't really sniping, its just the way things work.

Lasguns the new Assault Cannon. 
   
Made in ca
Drew_Riggio




Vancouver, British Columbia.

Dragging this thread off topic, has Mind War been clarified so that it doesn't snipe?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Clarified? That's the whole point of Mind War: It allows you to target a specific model.


Back to the original question:

There is a basic dilemma in the rules when discussing wounds that are inflicted outside of shooting and/or close combat.

You see, the only rules found in the rulebook for wounds getting saving throws and removing models as casualties are found in the shooting and CC section (actually, the CC rules reference the shooting rules in some areas too).

So when it comes to wounds that are inflicted from a transport being destroyed, or other wierd extraneous sources, you have to ask yourself: do I follow the basic shooting rules for casualty removal (since those are the only real rules in the book for casualty removal)?

If not, what rules are you using? Most likely you're going by the "common sense" assumption that if a model takes a wound from a destroyed vehicle, or Coruscating flame (as a couple of examples), it gets an armor save (in most cases) and if failed, the model loses a wound off of its profile (and is removed from the game if it doesn't have any wounds remaining.

These are assumptions that "make sense" because that is how the shooting and CC rules tell us how to play. But those same shooting rules also tell us that we can take casualties from any model in the unit (provided it is within line of sight and range of the enemy's weapon).

So do we use that casualty removal rule against Coruscating Warp Flame or an exploding transport? If not, why? If so, what is the range and LOS of the weapon in this case?


Ultimately, the 40k rules frequently reference back to rules in other portions of the rulebook without explicitly telling us what parts of the rules we should be using and which parts we should be ignoring.

In short, since the rules are unclear I think you'll find the vast majority of players treat wacky wounds (like Coruscating Warp flames) just like a shooting attack against the unit. They'll roll all the dice together and then pull casualties from any models in the unit that are attacking the vehicle.


I think this topic will make a nice poll. . .


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Screeching Screamer of Tzeentch





Wow, that opens up even more confusion for me.  If we treat Coruscating Flame as shooting hits then would I roll together for an IC and an attached squad rather than separating them out?  I had assumed they were close combat attacks simply because it happens in the assault phase.

You're saying to ignore the part about rolling before a model attacks.  I can buy that since it doesn't really matter how much before for the most part.  But there could be a case where it mattered.  Let's say I was fighting some 4 Orks with Burnas and a Nob with a Powerclaw.  If I roll them all at once I get 5 chances to kill some Orks.  But it's possible that a Burna Boy would take the vehicle out before the Powerclaw ever swung and that I shouldn't get that extra die.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





And what about the Talos? I've been told that you have to roll for individual models for the sting rather than rolling as a group.
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Philadelphia

Posted By skyth on 09/22/2006 12:45 PM
And what about the Talos? I've been told that you have to roll for individual models for the sting rather than rolling as a group.

Which would be correct, because that is what the specific rules for the Sting describe in the Dark Eldar codex.  That provides a specific exemption from the normal shooting and casualty removal rules (and is actually pretty worthless).

I'm not sure about Coruscating Flame.  I'd be tempted to roll it for the 'group' of models that are attacking at various initiative steps - which is my off-the-cuff thought, and not based on the rules at all. 


Legio Suturvora 2000 points (painted)
30k Word Bearers 2000 points (in progress)
Daemonhunters 1000 points (painted)
Flesh Tearers 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '02 52nd; Balt GT '05 16th
Kabal of the Tortured Soul 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '08 85th; Mechanicon '09 12th
Greenwing 1000 points (painted) - Adepticon Team Tourny 2013

"There is rational thought here. It's just swimming through a sea of stupid and is often concealed from view by the waves of irrational conclusions." - Railguns 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By Fatman on 09/22/2006 10:17 AM
Wow, that opens up even more confusion for me.  If we treat Coruscating Flame as shooting hits then would I roll together for an IC and an attached squad rather than separating them out?  I had assumed they were close combat attacks simply because it happens in the assault phase.

You're saying to ignore the part about rolling before a model attacks.  I can buy that since it doesn't really matter how much before for the most part.  But there could be a case where it mattered.  Let's say I was fighting some 4 Orks with Burnas and a Nob with a Powerclaw.  If I roll them all at once I get 5 chances to kill some Orks.  But it's possible that a Burna Boy would take the vehicle out before the Powerclaw ever swung and that I shouldn't get that extra die.


If you're talking about assaulting a vehicle without a WS, there isn't any evidence that you even seperate attacks by Iniative (all the models just attack the vehicle, the rules don't mention them striking at different times).

However, if we're talking about a vehicle with a WS (or you decide to use Initiative against vehicles without a WS) then most certainly you'd roll the attacks in groups based on Initiative right before those attacks are made.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Screeching Screamer of Tzeentch





So the rules say that the abilty effects models rather than referring to units.  And with a Dreadnought we're agreed to roll separately for the Veteran Sergeant suing a powerfist.  The shooting rules specifically allow for you to remove whatever model you want with the restrictions of range and LOS.  But that is because the shooting is targeting units and not models.  That just doesn't make sense here.

If we treat it as shooting and I have an IC attached to a squad with a different initiative.  I roll separately to effect him but the player removes a different guy?  The Coruscating Flame rules just don't combine well with the shooting rules because they force you to do things shooting doesn't.
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch





Los Angeles

Well the rules for the warp flame specifically state that each model is hit before making their attack. So I figure the RAW on that one would be to roll individual wounds for each attacking model separately (for speed purposes, I wouldn't stop someone from rolling all the dice for identical models at once). If the rule said something like "any unit attacking the tank takes a hit for each attacking model" then things would be different, but it does break it down to a model by model basis rather than unit by unit as shooting rules do.

Now we deviate from specific rules to my opinion. I guess there is no rule for using inish against a non-WS vehicle but I don't think its a stretch to say its reasonable to use it (it just generally doesn't matter). In that case, I would say that if the initial attacks destroy the tank, the power fist model would not need to roll.

**** Phoenix ****

Threads should be like skirts: long enough to cover what's important but short enough to keep it interesting. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: