Switch Theme:

Web Way Portals.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator




South Pasadena

In dealing with webway portals, is it possible to block one?  If so, what are the rules for this?  Do you need to completely cover it, surround it?  Can you block a skimmer from using it?  Is a WWP a 3 dimensional thing or only 2 dimensional?

Also, do Eldar have access to WWP's or is this DE only technology?

Thanks in advance.

Darrian


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Orlando, Florida

The Dark Eldar Web way portal counts as a table edge in which when you show up via Reserves, so if an enemy model is 1" away from the portal, you can block it because you cannot move within 1" of an enemy model.

The real question is, if you block the webway portal the whole game, do those units count as distroyed if they don't show up?

Current Armies: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard (40k), Skorne, Retribution (Warmachine), Vampire Counts (Fantasy)

 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Darrian13: yes, you can block the movement of troops from the WWP for reasons already cited. Skimmers (ie Raiders and such) are still able to fly over your troops, though.

Mahu: units that are off the table count for their full VPs when the battle is over (BGB, p 85). So yes, they are essentially destroyed.
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Yes they are destroyed, just as if the webway portal was never deployed in the first place.

   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator




South Pasadena

@Cheexsta, So there is no way to stop raiders (skimmers) from going through the portal?

Darrian

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Colorado

Not just skimmers, but jetbikes and jump pack troops can move over enemy models as well.

So it looks to me that if you surround the portal the only things you can stop are foot troops and the talos.

My question is, do they count as destroyed if they can't come on the turn they make their reserves roll, or do you get to wait, only counting them as destroyed if at the end of the game they still haven't been able to get out?

While the wicked stand confounded
call me, with thy saints surrounded 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

I could be wrong here, as I havent played DE since third edition, but was a strong proponent of WWP's.

I think if the enemy completely surrounds your portal, then any units eligible for deployment are destroyed since you cannot deploy.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Orlando, Florida

I am not sure about the Skimmer and Jump Packers not being able to be block.

Technically their is no way for those modelt to enter the table without comming within 1", no matter how high they fly, their point of beginning is still less thatn an inch away from an enemy model.

Current Armies: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard (40k), Skorne, Retribution (Warmachine), Vampire Counts (Fantasy)

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Colorado

Mahu, maybe you could elaborate on what you mean by technically the point of beginning is less than inch away? I don't understand this point.

Since flyers (skimmers, jetbikes, jump packs) can fly over models when they move, when are they within 1"?

The faq states: "Models move onto the table from the portal marker, measuring from its edge as they would if they entered the table normally."

P1: When flyers move, they can be over enemy models.
P2: When flyers arrive from reserves with a Web Way Portal, they move from its edge.
C: Flyers arriving from reserve of a Web Way Portal may move over enemy models.

(This is one of my first attempts at using the Dakka way of rules argumentation, so be kind if I screwed it up)

While the wicked stand confounded
call me, with thy saints surrounded 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Orlando, Florida

My meaning, and I am not sure about this, but what I was trying to say is that the point of entry is the Web Way Portal. Now there is an enemy model within 1" of that marker. So technically the point that the model starts at is within 1" of an enemy. I believe skimmers move from point A to point B while bypassing terrain between those points, but that doesn't bypass the fact that Point A is within an inch of the enemy.

Bu like I said, it is a weak arguement. I personally wouldn't enforce it, but it is worth discussion what the RAW says.

Current Armies: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard (40k), Skorne, Retribution (Warmachine), Vampire Counts (Fantasy)

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




well it helps to note that even if there is a model within 1" of a point on the marker they web way portal is a 360 degree table edge so a single model blocking one point cover about 30-40% of it if you want to truely negate it entirely you must surround it...

now the point of a skimmer being able to enter is a bit hazy.. i was under the impression that skimmers or jump troops could jump over/ fly over an enemy model but must finish their movement at least 1" away that being the case then it wouldnt matter as long as you could move far enough away.....and the talos is considered a walker but it moves as a skimmer.. so you could have some discussion there as well

We have better prices and better service
check us out
www.dropzoneonline.ecrater.com 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Yes, this is all well and good, but do you not have to deploy first, as in find a place to set the models down for placement?

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Troll country

Ulthwe Strike Forc also has access to the WWP in addition to Dark Eldar.

- I am the troll... feed me!

- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney

- I love Angela Imrie!!!

http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php

97% 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




the simplest answer is no.. it is a table edge do you set your models on the table then measure the 6 inches they come on the board?.. your not supposed to.... you measeure from the edge of the table in 6 12 24 etc

 

same thing for wwp.. hope that helps

R


We have better prices and better service
check us out
www.dropzoneonline.ecrater.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: