| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/23 01:12:08
Subject: GW's New BGB Errata and Space Marine Librarians.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Crosspost from 40konline.com, but I wanted to see what you Dakka boys had to say on this. Apologies if this rules confuddle has come up before. Now, with my Blood Raven Space Marine Librarians, I've always played the one psychic power per turn as one per game turn. So if say I had the first turn of the game, I couldn't use veil of time, charge an enemy, and say I was still in combat come his assault phase, use my force weapon. But GW's new FAQ http://uk.games-workshop.com/news/errata/assets/40k/40KRuleBookFAQ.pdf has come along and said that whenever a rule says once per turn, (like in the case of master crafted weapons and psychic powers) it should always be read as once per player turn, and not once per game turn unless it specifies game turn directly. I played it the old way because the current Demonhunters FAQ http://us.games-workshop.com/games/40k/daemonhunters/gaming/FAQ/assets/daemonhunters_faq_v4-0.pdf says to us: Models may only use one major psychic power per game turn, rather than player turn (You may not use a Force Weapon's ability in both your's and your opponent's assault phase). So what's the deal now? Does the Demon Hunters Errata apply only to Demon Hunters, meaning that Grandmasters are half what Space Marine Librarians are potentially now when it comes to powers? Does the quote in the BGB Errata override the Demon Hunters Errata and it's psychic powers every assault phase for everyone? Or does the Demon Hunter's Errata apply to Demon Hunter's, The BGB Errata apply only to turn phrases in the BGB, and the Space Marine Codex is in limbo somewhere with no conclusive answer either way...The crazy thing about the BGB Errata quote applying only to the BGB is that theres no 'once per turn' clause for psychic powers anywhere in the BGB, check page 52 for yourself...yet they used psychic powers as an example.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/23 01:14:57
Subject: RE: GW's New BGB Errata and Space Marine Librarians.
|
 |
Fate-Controlling Farseer
|
BGB is newer right? So it should apply to the Demon Hunter as well as regular Librarians IMO. I may be wrong though...
|
Full Frontal Nerdity |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/23 01:22:03
Subject: RE: GW's New BGB Errata and Space Marine Librarians.
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
It may be a good issue to bring up with GW - maybe it will be retracted like the Tyranid question?
Or is that just wishful thinking?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/23 02:02:42
Subject: RE: GW's New BGB Errata and Space Marine Librarians.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
According to the latest FAQ, a Space Marine player may use his Force Weapon in your opponents turn.
Since the FAQ is newer, it trumps all previous rulings. Just remember, most Powers specify when you can use them, so keep that in mind.
|
Current Armies: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard (40k), Skorne, Retribution (Warmachine), Vampire Counts (Fantasy)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/23 07:53:57
Subject: RE: GW's New BGB Errata and Space Marine Librarians.
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
This issue exists because the DH FAQ was written when the 3rd edition rulebook was in print. That rulebook indeed had a proviso that a psyker could only use one psychic power per turn.
In 4th edition they have left that determination up to the codexes themselves instead of issuing a general rule.
The problem is, the the people who compiled the third edition FAQs into the current 4th edition FAQs did a piss poor job of checking things like that out.
GW has also repeatedly shown that they don't even look at the conflicts produced by their FAQs; The DH FAQ still says they can't ally with any other army that takes allies while the WH codex has always seemed to directly contradict this. . .they just don't care.
So I'm not even going to bother with a RAW answer. Who cares if GW doesn't.
Personally, I would ignore the outdated DH ruling and play with the new ruling: Force Weapons (and psychic powers) can be used once per player turn if allowed by their rules.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/24 03:21:19
Subject: RE: GW's New BGB Errata and Space Marine Librarians.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yak Wrote: Personally, I would ignore the outdated DH ruling and play with the new ruling: Force Weapons (and psychic powers) can be used once per player turn if allowed by their rules.
Capt K Wrote: Nice. If that ruling is what people will follow, then Librarians are even more effective.
Capt K
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/26 06:21:16
Subject: RE: GW's New BGB Errata and Space Marine Librarians.
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called
|
yay so i charge while using veil of time and then in my opponents turn i can force weapon him great.
|
R.I.P Amy Winehouse
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|