Switch Theme:

Daemon Summoning from IC's  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Now let me know if I missed anything...

An independant character is a unit

All marked units get a free icon

Therefor a marked Independant character gets a free summoning icon.

This makes buying a personal icon for an IC rather useless...Relegating them to only redundancies in a squad.

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


That is the correct RAW interpretation.

However when reading the Chaos Icon rules and the fact that there exists a "Personal Icon" it becomes clear to many from an intent standpoint that they were likely refering to "units" more in the line of "squads", as the rest of the Chaos Icon rules go on to explain how they are treated in that unit.

So be prepared for a few dirty looks if you try to use that interpretation because some people aren't going to like it.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Hey,

skyth wrote:
"a marked Independant character gets a free summoning icon.This makes buying a personal icon for an IC rather useless"

For a Marked IC, yes. (Master Crafted Spiky Bits!)

However, other Characters have access to the Armoury.

Unmarked Champions, for instance . . .


Playa

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





unmarked units can't summon daemons. But you could buy a champion a personal icon in a squad, plus have a free icon in the squad if you wanted redundant icons to protect vs sniping/torrent of fire.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




California ( again)

that is true personnal icon were made for undivided armies how else are you going too summon deamons, best example is word bearers??

The Red shirts are dying !!!!! It's Nuthing but a Death shroud!!!(Warp11) 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Having the Mark of Undivided is considered being Marked for the purposes of Daemon Summoning. So "Undivided" armies are Marked armies.

 Word Bearers, IIRC, must have the Undivided Mark correct?

Undivided Icons are the best icons to use for summoning as you can summon any of the daemons to them.

 

Having "No mark" is not having any mark at all. Undivided IS a mark.


Can you D.I.G. it? 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Kultofthebonedragons: units with any Mark get that Icon for free. So a Word Bearers unit with the Mark of Chaos Undivided will get an Undivided Icon for free anyway. Unmarked units cannot summon Daemons, whether they have an Icon or not (since the Icon has no 'designation' as an Undivided or Marked Icon).

As to the original question, I agree with Yak's interpretation. With RAW, yes your ICs get free Icons. But most people will play it that they don't, and personally it is one of those situations in the Chaos Codex that I would rather avoid because of the potential arguments.

As a quick aside, what do people think about Khorne models with the Berzerker Glaive having a free Icon and counting as a Scoring Unit? The Glaive entry specifically states that they are "in effect treated as a unit in his own right rather than a character", so it should have all the rules of a normal unit and none of a normal character...
   
Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

Hmm, you'd put the Glaive on an Aspiring Champion as opposed to an Independent Character. Not sure I'd do that, but it seems the Glaive special rules you are mentioning are meant for Independent Characters.

No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver




Glaives can only be given to ICs so its a moot point.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: