| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/24 14:53:45
Subject: Codex Orks with First Turn Charge (w/o Turbo Boostas)?!?!
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
My friend and I were talking about our normal 40k shenanigans and we came up with this when talking about what GW calls an excuse for a Trukk model (aka The Orky Clown Car) and the Gazhgull Model. Here's the idea, you take the Trukk and line it up sideways on the edge of your deployment zone. Assuming you get first turn, you turn the Trukk so it's facing normally, which will gain you approximately 2" (my Trukk model with the longer front end attachment is 4.5" or so). Now you move forward 13" (Red Paint Job + Fast Vehicle). The Mob inside empties out 2" from the front of the model, and Gazzy is on the Dread base (2.5" ) so you put the edge of his base within 2" of the tip of the trukk model, netting you a total of 4.5" from the Trukk. You then charge 6". This gives you: 12" (Deployment) + 2" (Trukk Turning) + 13" (Movement w/ RPJ) + 2" (Deployment) + 2.5" Base + 6" Charge = 37.5" effective charge range on turn 1, which means you can charge any enemy model directly across from you that is 10.5" or more away from their table edge. Just checking with Dakka to see if this passes the legal muster. And amazingly it's using 100% stock GW models to achieve this. Who says you can't use modeling to your advantage? >
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/24 16:16:50
Subject: RE: Codex Orks with First Turn Charge (w/o Turbo Boostas)?!?!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
New Mexico
|
really, if your vehicle's turn is getting you 2" closer to the opponent, then it's 2" of movement. i mean, if you're zig-zagging around the table and accidentally get an extra 1" by accident through multiple turns, that's one thing. but if you're specifically designing your army to get into BTB because of that, then you're exploiting.
also, as far as the 'disembark 2" thing' goes, i know the rulebook has specifically shown that this allows you to get more than 2" from the transport vehicle. i, for one, use that rule to my advantage, but i standardize it to mean "half the base must be inside the 2" disembarkation zone" and tell my opponents how i treat the rule before a game begins.
i mean, if you want to REALLY go all the way, just put 1/2 your models on dreadnought bases (which is technically legitimate, right?) and you can get all of them 4.5" from the transport.
and if you REALLY want to go the extra mile, you'll do all this with a dark eldar raider-based army, so that after deployment, rotation, movement, disembarking with dreadnought base, fleet of foot and charge, you've moved a maximum of 44.5" away from your own board edge.
|
I think I like it RAW. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/24 16:23:34
Subject: RE: Codex Orks with First Turn Charge (w/o Turbo Boostas)?!?!
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
1.) Rotation on the center axis of the model does not count as movement. 2.) The whole point is that this is using 100% legit GW models with supplied bases. 3.) This may actually be legally valid, but it's one of the dumbest things you could do tactically in a game as it's pretty stupid to not hide the Trukk and hope you get first turn and doesn't work in escalation.
The whole point is that it's something pretty odd and funny.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/25 00:03:47
Subject: RE: Codex Orks with First Turn Charge (w/o Turbo Boostas)?!?!
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
What year did Codex: Orks come out?
This is old, old news.
Several armies could do much scarier things in 3rd (including Blood Angels), and one army can still do it in 4th (Dark Eldar ? try a unit of Wyches in a Raider who roll 12? assault on their combat drugs; or an IC can hop out of the Raider and choose said 12? charge on their drugs), for a reliable 24? move and charge, NOT counting the Fleet, the distance gained by pivoting the (long) Raider, or the DZ width. This works out to a charge threat range of 29?-34? from the front of the DZ.
Everyone learned to deploy far back from the fast assault armies (and use pushback units to increase the distance) in 3rd. There are only a couple of armies left who can do it in 4th. Of course, as Voodoo Boyz noted, AV10 open-topped transports set up at the front of the DZ are a recipe for disaster if your opponent gets first turn.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/25 14:34:59
Subject: RE: Codex Orks with First Turn Charge (w/o Turbo Boostas)?!?!
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
Australia
|
Does turning a model on its centre axis count as movement though?
Seriously could use this to my advantage if it didn't.
|
109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/25 15:30:49
Subject: RE: Codex Orks with First Turn Charge (w/o Turbo Boostas)?!?!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Turning is moving...It just doesn't count towards the movement allowance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/27 04:48:34
Subject: RE: Codex Orks with First Turn Charge (w/o Turbo Boostas)?!?!
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
If we're accepting the whole "turn to move up" thing as valid, then a lot of the other details are moot points. Any open top transport can be modelled to be 2 feet long (so when you pivot it, the back doesn't drop off the table), thus giving you 12" of free movement.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/27 05:06:22
Subject: RE: Codex Orks with First Turn Charge (w/o Turbo Boostas)?!?!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
100% legal and 100% likely that no judge will allow it.
|
"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/27 07:46:04
Subject: RE: Codex Orks with First Turn Charge (w/o Turbo Boostas)?!?!
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Posted By Phryxis on 11/27/2006 9:48 AM Any open top transport can be modelled to be 2 feet long (so when you pivot it, the back doesn't drop off the table), thus giving you 12" of free movement. ...assuming that you don' t have any scenery on the table... But yes, the rules of 40K don't (and never have done) take 'creative' modelling into account.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/27 08:37:03
Subject: RE: Codex Orks with First Turn Charge (w/o Turbo Boostas)?!?!
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
...assuming that you don' t have any scenery on the table... Well, that brings up a valid question... Do you have to be able to physically rotate the model without hitting terrain in order to do the move? For example, let's say a Rhino is in a narrow street between buildings, which leaves only a quarter inch on either side. Let's say it wants to rotate 180 degrees. Is that a legal move? I don't have my BGB with me to check, so maybe that's a dumb question, but I don't recall seeing that in the rules.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/27 08:51:39
Subject: RE: Codex Orks with First Turn Charge (w/o Turbo Boostas)?!?!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Like Skyth said: turning IS moving. It just doesn't count as moving any distance.
You can model a gigantic model, but when it will be hindered by more frequent danderous terrain tests (by pivoting into the terrain or otherwise) and be more likely to be directly hit by ordnance. This isn't even bringing up the problem with trying to bring the thing in from reserves when it's movement distance won't even get it fully onto the table. There is nothing in the rules that says a rhino can't crash hrough walls (it must simply test for it) placing the model will be problematic as the player props the thing up against the wall or whatever, but it can be done.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|