Switch Theme:

More IG Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Master Sergeant





Alright, so say you’ve taken the Independent Commissars doctrine and have used one Elites slot to get three of them.

 

Q1. You attach one of the ICs to a Veterans unit before the game (as per the new FAQ). That unit now loses the ability to Infiltrate, correct?

 

You’ve also taken the Carapace Armour doctrine.

 

Q2. How does this apply to the ICs? Do they ignore it, being Independent Characters? Or do you have to purchase Carapace, as per the doctrine’s rules, for all three? And if so, do they count as one unit (i.e. 20 points to give all three Carapace) or three (i.e. 60 points)?

 


Green Blow Fly wrote:Arseholes need to be kept in check. They do exist and play 40k.

Ironically, they do. So do cheats. 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Q1: You cannot attach ICs to units before the game, I don't know what FAQ you are refering to (you might be thinking of the rulebook FAQ that allows you to join ICs to units when they are both coming in from Reserves at the same time, but that is a totally different situation). You CAN place an IC with a squad that has already been deployed and have the IC join the unit, but this doesn't apply to infiltrators as they are deployed AFTER the IC.


Q2: The Carapace Doctrine is only applied to 'Guard Infantry' and Rough Rider units. Independent Commissars don't fall into either of these categories. In other words, Independent Commissars would have to buy their Carapace armor from the armoury (although they don't have to buy it if you don't want to).

I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Yakface is correct on both points.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Master Sergeant





Posted By yakface on 12/18/2006 9:29 AM

Q1: You cannot attach ICs to units before the game, I don't know what FAQ you are refering to (you might be thinking of the rulebook FAQ that allows you to join ICs to units when they are both coming in from Reserves at the same time, but that is a totally different situation). You CAN place an IC with a squad that has already been deployed and have the IC join the unit, but this doesn't apply to infiltrators as they are deployed AFTER the IC.

 

True enough. Thank you, yak.

But my question still stands. Let me try to explain it a little better. Forget infiltration. Think of any special rule: infiltrate, deepstrike, nosepicking, whatever. If I attach the IC IC to the unit, the unit loses the ability, correct?

 

 

Posted By yakface on 12/18/2006 9:29 AM
Q2: The Carapace Doctrine is only applied to 'Guard Infantry' and Rough Rider units. Independent Commissars don't fall into either of these categories. In other words, Independent Commissars would have to buy their Carapace armor from the armoury (although they don't have to buy it if you don't want to).

Again, my fault for choosing a bad example. Pick any doctrine. Do I not pay for the ICs? Or do I pay? And if I do, do I treat them as one unit or three?



 

 


Green Blow Fly wrote:Arseholes need to be kept in check. They do exist and play 40k.

Ironically, they do. So do cheats. 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By Stu-Rat on 12/18/2006 10:36 AM

 

True enough. Thank you, yak.

But my question still stands. Let me try to explain it a little better. Forget infiltration. Think of any special rule: infiltrate, deepstrike, nosepicking, whatever. If I attach the IC IC to the unit, the unit loses the ability, correct?


Depends on the special rule and it depends on the circumstance.

If you're talking about attaching a regular Commissar to a unit of Jungle Fighters who can infiltrate then yes, the more conservative interpretation would be that, as he doesn't have the infiltrate special rule the unit would not be allowed to infiltrate.


Again, my fault for choosing a bad example. Pick any doctrine. Do I not pay for the ICs? Or do I pay? And if I do, do I treat them as one unit or three?


Well, if you're talking about a special equipment doctrine like 'Chem-Inhalers' that you have to buy for every unit in the army, then yeah you'd buy them seperately for each Independent Commissar. Even though up to three make up a single force organization choice they are still seperate units so it would be +20 per Commissar.

Obviously you'd be pretty crazy to take this type of Doctrine along with Independent Commissars!




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Long Beach, CA

Im not sure on this one and dont feel like getting out the codex, but the page where doctrines start and it lists all the restricted units on the bottom of the right hand column it states who doctrines apply to. Officers, ..... attatched advisors. It does NOT say IC that have joined a squad.

Say the character was not in the squad to start since they can leave or come as they wish. Then the character joins the squad, he would then get carapace armor? I dont think so. As an advisor the commissar gets all the benefits, as an IC he does not.

"Do NOT ask me if you can fire the squad you forgot to shoot once we are in the assault phase, EVER!!!"

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

I agree with smart alex. As far as I can tell IC's don't even have the option to purchase items from the 'Special Equipment' section of the doctrines. They don't fall under the definition of 'Guard Infantry' found earlier so they are excluded from doctrines altogether whether they are attached to a unit that uses doctrines or not.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: