Switch Theme:

Pen shots make you get out right??  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




California ( again)

Situation happen to me last night that was kinda  weird.

 I was playing DE Vs  A black templar

He  tried to tank shock some  wytches and i just moved out of the way . Full squad of  10. Next turn the   LRC was in charge range and i though it  would be  fun too kill a  LRC with my wytches( which had haywire grenades)

 I surrounded the LRC with a  model next too  every exit . So that,  If he tried to  escape  I would crush him . I rolled pretty good lots of sixes, and  then on the    chart i role one  six which was  Pen 1 . So that made every one get out of the  LRC , right does that mean  they all died   since they have no place too go or does that mean  were in  HTH( there were  wytches all around thew LRC)

 She argued with me that were in HTH and i was saying No  your  EC and  that sqaud   was now dead , Was i correct??                                 


The Red shirts are dying !!!!! It's Nuthing but a Death shroud!!!(Warp11) 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Yes.

Now, here's an interesting point, by a strict RAW: a pen hit causes the models to get out immediately. Of course, then you roll to see what the pen result was, and then test for death on a 4+ with failed save, etc.

But, by the time you test to see if the models are wounded, there aren't any in the vehicle - they got out "immediately" when the pen result happened....


Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."

For Hearth and Home! 
   
Made in us
Plastictrees






Salem, MA

Kult: the rule that explains how passengers with no room to disembark are killed is on page 62 of the main rulebook in the last paragraph of that page.

Antonin: the first paragraph on page 68 makes it clear that casualties due to wrecked vehicles happen "in addition to" emergency disembarkation in spite of the fact that disembarkation happens immediately.

"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz 
   
Made in nz
Fresh-Faced New User




Posted By Antonin on 12/21/2006 10:45 AM
Yes.

Now, here's an interesting point, by a strict RAW: a pen hit causes the models to get out immediately. Of course, then you roll to see what the pen result was, and then test for death on a 4+ with failed save, etc.

But, by the time you test to see if the models are wounded, there aren't any in the vehicle - they got out "immediately" when the pen result happened....



The auto disembark is intended for shooting. In HtH they are toast.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





The auto disembark is intended for shooting.


true, but when surrounding all exits when the enemy unit attempts to Disembark cause them to be destroyed. You wouldn't wait until the assault/combat phase to 'remove' them, they would be destroyed immediately.

Also the OP was going from the assault phase anyway... unless I am mistaken.

Antonin's comment was just pointing out that if they are destroyed due to the Emergrency Disembarkation then you would save yourself the trouble of rolling the 4+ and giving them a save.... they are destroyed immediately as they attempt to exit the vehicle.

Wierd, I swear that's what you are all saying but everyone is saying it differently?

Can you D.I.G. it? 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Rocking the Suburbs, MA

Im a wee bit confused, you blocked all the exits, then attacked and pen'd the vehicle. On that you rolled a 6? If this is the case:

Which means technically couldn't the blocking units, which are in CC take dmg from a 4+ if they are within 1d6 range of the vehicle. If they take casualties and fail morale, do they fall back before the unit exiting the vehicle can get wiped off the map.

Another question: I thought you could no longer block exits and you had to be at least 1" away if you are not assaulting. This is puzzling cause i believe the LRC has 3 exit points and i do not believe any unit can cover all 3 (2 side 1 front)
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Posted By moosifer on 12/22/2006 7:00 AM
Im a wee bit confused, you blocked all the exits, then attacked and pen'd the vehicle. On that you rolled a 6? If this is the case:

Which means technically couldn't the blocking units, which are in CC take dmg from a 4+ if they are within 1d6 range of the vehicle. If they take casualties and fail morale, do they fall back before the unit exiting the vehicle can get wiped off the map.

Another question: I thought you could no longer block exits and you had to be at least 1" away if you are not assaulting. This is puzzling cause i believe the LRC has 3 exit points and i do not believe any unit can cover all 3 (2 side 1 front)

Ok your first question would be yes if the wyches were within the 1d6" range of the explosion they would take a 4+ to be hit. However the second part to your question wouldn't effect the unit inside since the unit inside the transport would be wiped out PRIOR to the explosion since they MUST disembark as soon as a penetrating hit is rolled. Second the hits from the explosion wouldn't be causing the Wyches to fall back since it happened in the combat phase. Any wounds would be counted towards the combat and since the LRC exploded the Wyches would have won the combat regardless of the wounds they received from the explosion making no need to roll a morale check.

 

Second question-a unit can indeed cover all exits by moving in with assault moves. What you are thinking of is that they can only roll against the armor value of the facing that the majority of the unit is in when they make their assault move. The assaulting unit, provided they have enough movement during the assault phase, can surround a vehicle but can only 'hit' the armor value of the facing that the majority of their unit is assaulting.




Can you D.I.G. it? 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




California ( again)

It was a Pen 1 and i assaulted the LRC with Haywire grenades and a agonizers(sp)
Haywire grenades (1 does nuthing 2-5 glances 6 pens) I rolled a lot of glaning hits and one pen which was a Pen 1. Nuthing blow up

The Red shirts are dying !!!!! It's Nuthing but a Death shroud!!!(Warp11) 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Ok so there were no explosions, that's fine but the point is the unit inside would've been destroyed when they were forced to disembark, regardless.

So it sounds like you were playing it right.

And did I read it correctly... did you say you were playing a she? ;-)


Can you D.I.G. it? 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Rocking the Suburbs, MA

Im still confused by kult. Rolling a 1 on the pen table doesnt destroy the vehicle. Are you saying you got a pen and then got a 4/5?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




California ( again)

vehicle was never destroyed I rolled One on the pen chart which made every one jump out per the rule( next turn the Lcr with it hurricane bolters ripped about most of my wytches

The Red shirts are dying !!!!! It's Nuthing but a Death shroud!!!(Warp11) 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Rocking the Suburbs, MA

gotcha. I thought that you could no longer block exits from vehicles. It seems silly to lose an entire unit because people are "blocking" a frontal assault ramp. Esp since the vehicle did not explode, it should be locked in assault with no charge bonus. I hope she didnt have termies inside

I mean if you read TSOALR you know that blocking ramps on LR's means you get squished
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




Fluff =! rule.

Blocking access points is still a viable tactic, especially if enemy is silly enough to place their transport into a location where that can happen.

Sal.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Yea, but Wytches just hop out of the way and hack apart anyone trying to crawl out of the vehicle.

The rules are there and there aren't exceptions for any vehicle. All transports have to deal with this.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: