| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/04 03:26:23
Subject: Using an auspex to fleet?
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
If a unit successfully rolls the proper distance with an auspex to shoot before the game begins, can it fleet instead? - Oaka
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/04 03:55:22
Subject: RE: Using an auspex to fleet?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No. Fleet only allows the additional movement in the Shooting phase.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/04 05:55:22
Subject: RE: Using an auspex to fleet?
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
The rules for the auspex say to follow the normal shooting rules, which are in the shooting phase. One can infer that the auspex wargear allows a shooting phase before the game begins for that one unit. I don't find it to be unreasonable. A unit with scout can't walk through impassable terrain in its pre-game move just because that rule happens to be in the movement phase. A unit with scout follows all the rules for the movement phase. A unit with an auspex follows all the rules for the shooting phase. Fleet is a rule in the shooting phase. What did the FAQ say about letting a librarian with an auspex use a psychic power, because that would be the same question as allowing fleet. - Oaka
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/04 08:57:03
Subject: RE: Using an auspex to fleet?
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
What possible unit has auspex and fleet?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/04 09:55:56
Subject: RE: Using an auspex to fleet?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Fleet: Allows you to make a random move instead of shooting in the shooting phase.
Auspex: Allows you to take a free shot at infiltrators who set up close. The mention of usual shooting rules is in obvious reference to LOS, weapon range et cetera.
The mistake in logic that you are making is that by following the shooting rules outside of the shooting phase you are creating a mini-phase. It isn't a mini-phase, it is an out of phase action that is governed by shooting rules so that you know what to do in the situation.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/04 13:26:12
Subject: RE: Using an auspex to fleet?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Oaka, re-read the rules for Fleet in the main rulebook.
Units may fleet on a TURN they do not fire (or use a psychic power that replaces shooting).
Auspex firing is done before the game begins and does not take place during a turn.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/04 13:50:08
Subject: RE: Using an auspex to fleet?
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
Thanks for deleting the unnecessary comments, I felt as if I had to defend myself there. Does this mean psykers can cast a psychic power with an auspex? - Oaka
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/04 14:17:55
Subject: RE: Using an auspex to fleet?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I think the general assumption is that because psychic powers follow the rules for shooting they would be allowed to be used with an Auspex.
That said, the entire situation is rife with ambiguity (I have several questions/answers regarding the Auspex in my FAQ).
I would definitely just discuss it with your opponent before it comes time to use the Auspex shooting.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/04 14:36:44
Subject: RE: Using an auspex to fleet?
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
Yeah, that gets extremely confusing. The rules state that you can only use one psychic power per game turn. But if we are now defining the pre-game action that an auspex allows as not being a game turn, well... I guess I'll just think like a 12-year old and not go into this anymore with my opponents. BTW, Sazzlefrats, half the units in a Kroot Merc army can have an auspex and fleet, which is where I thought of the idea. - Oaka
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|