Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/17 15:18:02
Subject: St. Celestine double jump in assault?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Was playing a game last week with my Witch Hunters, using St. Celestine for the 3rd time. In her rules it describes her "Wings of Faith" as conferring the Hit & Run ability along with the ability to move 6 inches in the assault phase if she is not in combat, and she cannot use this 6in move to move into combat. My question is, can St. Celestine, in my assault phase, use Hit & Run at the end of combat to leave combat (moving 3d6 in any direction), THEN use her 6 in bonus move to move another 6 inches? The way it is worded it seems possible, but to me it seems "beardy", so I'd certainly like some confirmation. Also, one other question, this one about the Callidus Assassin: She has the ability to leave combat at the beginning of the assault phase. To do this, you roll a dice. A roll of a 1 fails, anything higher and she moves THAT many inches away from combat (not into another), and the enemy may consolidate. -Can the enemy consolidate back into the assassin assuming she rolled a 2 or a 3 on the getaway move? -Can the enemy left unengaged assault that phase? -Finally, does the Callidus Assassin count as having two close combat weapons for receiving that extra attack in combat????????? (I've never found any specific rules for this on any of the assassins, although it is obvious on the Eversor Assassin) Thanks in advance for your replies!
|
And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/17 15:41:55
Subject: RE: St. Celestine double jump in assault?
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
|
No, Celestine cannot make a hit and run, AND then move 6". It is rather clearly worded imo that she was in combat, then she cannot use the move. It says instead of assaulting, but you were in assault and have assaulted, you broke off by the hit and run. If the Callidus does not get away, then they can get into combat with her again by using their Consolidation at the END of the assault phase. So, they do not assault that turn, but engage her for the followup turn. IMO, the Callidus assassin gets 3 attacks, 4 on the charge, she does not have a second close combat weapon, as it is a flamer.
|
"Confidence is my weapon, arrogance my armor"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/17 15:46:54
Subject: RE: St. Celestine double jump in assault?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks for your quick responses :-)
|
And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/17 17:58:00
Subject: RE: St. Celestine double jump in assault?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Posted By jesterzdragon on 02/17/2007 8:41 PM No, Celestine cannot make a hit and run, AND then move 6". It is rather clearly worded imo that she was in combat, then she cannot use the move. It says instead of assaulting, but you were in assault and have assaulted, you broke off by the hit and run.
I agree on the answer, but not on the reason Celestine's 'Wings of Faith' allows her the move if she is not involved in an assault, not if she was not involved... What stops it is simply that Hit & Run is performed at the end of the Assault Phase, by which point it's too late for her to do anything else.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/18 06:34:29
Subject: RE: St. Celestine double jump in assault?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Posted By insaniak on 02/17/2007 10:58 PM Posted By jesterzdragon on 02/17/2007 8:41 PM No, Celestine cannot make a hit and run, AND then move 6". It is rather clearly worded imo that she was in combat, then she cannot use the move. It says instead of assaulting, but you were in assault and have assaulted, you broke off by the hit and run.
I agree on the answer, but not on the reason Celestine's 'Wings of Faith' allows her the move if she is not involved in an assault, not if she was not involved... What stops it is simply that Hit & Run is performed at the end of the Assault Phase, by which point it's too late for her to do anything else. I don't see why then one could not argue that they choose to use the Wings of Faith at the end of their assault phase as well... just like one chooses the order of combats resolving, the order of massacre rolls, etc.
|
And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/18 06:39:48
Subject: RE: St. Celestine double jump in assault?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Because if one says "during the assult phase" and one says "at the end of the assault phase", it is played as the latter happening last. Yes, GW could have been more precise, but it's pretty clear.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/02/18 18:04:00
Subject: RE: St. Celestine double jump in assault?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Alrighty, I'll assume that applies to everything akin, thanks everyone for your responses.
|
And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." |
|
 |
 |
|
|