Switch Theme:

more WH questions...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Can you use Improved Comms to reroll the reserve dice for a Callidus Assassin?

When the Eversor explodes in combat, if he causes enough wounds, will the enemy need to take a morale check?

When using the Inquisitor's psychic power that reduces an enemy character's LD by 3, and the character is attached to a basic infantry squad with no sergeant, do you use the character's LD value if it is lower than the squad's?

Does Inquisitor Lord Karomozov get the +1 attack for having an extra close combat weapon?

Thanks in advance for your responses!

And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA



1) Yes, the Callidus Assassin makes normal reserve rolls so improved comms could be used to re-roll her reserves roll.


2) If the Eversor explodes during combat I don't see any reason why the wounds caused by his blast wouldn't be counted towards the combat result. Of course, if the enemy unit was fighting *only* the Eversor, it wouldn't matter as a side that wipes out the enemy in combat is always victorious (and doesn't have to take a morale check).


3) This question is pretty much unanswerable since GW still hasn't clarified which Leadership is used in a unit that has mixed Ld. However, the IC rules do state that when an IC is joined to a unit, the unit uses his Ld value for tests. . .so RAW (on an IC), the answer would be yes; you still use the character's Ld value when it's lower than the unit.

However, I think you'll find that most people play that you always get to use the highest Ld value in the unit because that's likely what GW meant to write (since they don't tell you at all what to do in the case of a mixed Ld unit).


4) Why would you think he would? The answer is no, by the RAW there is no evidence that he is equipped with two single-handed weapons, and therefore he doesn't get the +1 Attack bonus for being armed as such.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Thanks for the quick responses, yakface.

I was thinking Karomozov would receive the +1 attack because he is considered to have the combined profile of himself, the Lexmiechanic thing counting as 2 of the BS bonus guys, a gun servitor, and a servo skull familiar. And in the description of a servo skull familiar in the WH codex, it says it is equipped with a close combat weapon. So having a combined profile of all these things, it seems like he has extra close combat weapons from his integrated little "buddies."

And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




pg 51 RB " One advantage of a character being part of a unit is that any leadership test the unit takes are then made using the character's Leadership value, if it is superior to the unit." Otherwise Yak is correct, as far as I can tell.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Posted By Imriel on 02/20/2007 3:22 PM
pg 51 RB " One advantage of a character being part of a unit is that any leadership test the unit takes are then made using the character's Leadership value, if it is superior to the unit."

Which only applies to Independant Characters, as Yakface mentioned.

It doesn't apply to non-independant characters that are a part of a unit.

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




No, it seems that applies to any character, regardless of indipendance.

and lookie, all these lines about upgrading to veteran sargeant(at least in the IG book) are prefixed with a bold Character: thus, we may assume that veteran sargeants and the like are characters, and, convey their Ld to the unit. They just have none of the rules for independant characters.

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Pinkbunny:

read page 50. It makes it clear that there are two types of characters (IC and upgrade characters) and that the rules on pages 50-51 only apply to ICs.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

Yeah, if you're using the IG codex to try to glean any sense from mixed Ld then you're already headed for confusion city pinkbunny. Vet sarges, advisors, and such are anybody's guess for Ld to be used in an IG force. As yak points out though, IC's are pretty dialed in per the BGB.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I know full well that my rules quote only applied to ICs, it was simply to counter Yaks statement that the unit uses the IC's Ld even if it is lower then the unit's.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Posted By Imriel on 02/22/2007 10:05 AM
I know full well that my rules quote only applied to ICs, it was simply to counter Yaks statement that the unit uses the IC's Ld even if it is lower then the unit's.

Except it seems to confirm what he's saying, not countering it.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




from yak :

However, the IC rules do state that when an IC is joined to a unit, the unit uses his Ld value for tests. . .so RAW (on an IC), the answer would be yes; you still use the character's Ld value .when it's lower than the unit

pg 51 RB " One advantage of a character being part of a unit is that any leadership test the unit takes are then made using the character's Leadership value, if it is superior to the unit[b/][i/]." Otherwise Yak is correct, as far as I can tell.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




can't seem to edit but as you see in the bold they use the charaters LD if it is suppirior to the units, not, as yak claimed, all the time.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: