Switch Theme:

Sorry if this has already been answered, Genestealer AP question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I know if you move a blip then reveal, no more movement for the revealed genestealers.

My question is...Can you reveal a blip before using any AP, then have a fresh GS with 6 AP points to use the same turn?

Sorry if it's been answered, scoured the first page and didn't see anything.
   
Made in au
Spawn of Chaos




Australia

yes

 
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




London

Errr. No. Not exactly. If there is a voluntary reveal (which can only be done if the blip has not moved at all anyway) then the genestealers cannot take any further actions that turn as the reveal counts as their full 'activation'. If they are involuntarily revealed (i.e they end up in a Terminators line of sight) then they may take actions as normal provided that the blip has not taken any movements at all. You must remember that a blip cannot be deliberately moved into a space marines LOS anyway, so the only way that this can occur is if the movement of a model or the opening of a door causes the genestealer to then be in LOS

Thats the way that its written in the rules at any rate. although tbh mostly me and my mate just tend to allow voluntary reveals and then carry on moving etc, as we mistakenly started like that We are planning on trying it the 'proper' way soon tho
   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia





Ohio

If there is a voluntary reveal (which can only be done if the blip has not moved at all anyway) then the genestealers cannot take any further actions that turn as the reveal counts as their full 'activation'.


That does not sound right at all. I thought that if you voluntarily converted a blip (instead of activating it), your Genestealers are "fresh".

Piousman

War is not about who is right. It is about who is left. 
   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia





Ohio

From the rule book: "if the blip has not been activated on the turn it is revealed, any Genestealers places are free to be activated as normal". And as noted above, voluntary conversion happens instead of blip activation.

So any Genestealers are free to move that turn up their full AP6.

Piousman

War is not about who is right. It is about who is left. 
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




London

Yes but this directly contradicts the earlier paragraph on the previous page that states that in the case of a voluntary conversion the genestealer player "reveals the blip instead of activating it", suggesting that the reveal is done in place of actions. Reading that back to myself tho, you are absolutely right - I was confusing blips with stealers. So as long as the blip has not moved you can VC the stealers and then move them as normal. Thanks for that man, I would never have got that otherwise
   
Made in au
Ferocious Blood Claw





May as well ask this while I'm in here reading.. If a blip of 3 gets involuntarily revealed during the marine turn, and it was behind a door in a corridor, does a genestealer get placed where the door was, or does one get destroyed?

I've been playing that the whole 3 stealers get placed, and this makes sense ruleswise... but it still seems a bit weird
   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia





Ohio

It gets placed. The door is no longer there. Remember that for involuntary conversions the Marine player places the Genestelers.

There was a similar question about whether the Genestealer gets placed closer to the terminator than the blip was. If there is no other placement, it may get placed closer.

Piousman

War is not about who is right. It is about who is left. 
   
Made in ca
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte



Around Montreal

Activating a Blip only means that this blip is going to spend Action Points. Since you Reveal it instead of Activating it, it simply means the Blip isn't going to spend Action Points, which only confirms that the GS will be fresh and able to be Activated.

This whole Activation thing comes from the rule that says you can't switch back and forth between models' actions so how they say this is first you Activate the model, then spend its Action Points, then ACtivate another model, etc.

Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! 
   
 
Forum Index » Board Games, Roleplaying Games & Card Games
Go to: