Switch Theme:

Space Hulk Close Assault Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




so Ive got the claw marine who rolls 2d6 +1....but he gets assaulted from the rear by a bug....how many dice does the marine roll and does he get the +1

similar question if the claw marine is on guard and he gets attacked from the rear-does he get a re roll for being on guard while attacked from the rear....say he ties on his initial roll and turns to face the bug-next round the bug attacks and the marine kills him-does he remain on guard, when the next bug hits him, this time from his new rear position, even thou he turned to face the initial bug from the rear will he remain on guard for the rest of the turn...?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/07 04:15:05


 
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




London

raizer wrote:so Ive got the claw marine who rolls 2d6 +1....but he gets assaulted from the rear by a bug....how many dice does the marine roll and does he get the +1

similar question if the claw marine is on guard and he gets attacked from the rear-does he get a re roll for being on guard while attacked from the rear....say he ties on his initial roll and turns to face the bug-next round the bug attacks and the marine kills him-does he remain on guard, when the next bug hits him, this time from his new rear position, even thou he turned to face the initial bug from the rear will he remain on guard for the rest of the turn...?


From the rear I would say that you roll 2d6 but lose the +1 modifier (its not explicitly stated as such but thats the house rule I'd use - I had a similar situation the other night where Gideon got done from behind and we said that he would lose his block ability and only add +1 to his roll as he would lose the Thunder Hammer +1)

As far as guard goes, the rules do not mention that you have to be attacked from the front to make use of it, so again the house rule we use is that it still applies - if you win the combat then you turn to face the opponent and you're still on Guard. I would say this because although you have moved, this move was as part of a combat action. If you are on Guard and you fight a stealer to your front and win, then you are still on guard - its the same principle IMO.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




yah thats how we played it-still on guard and get the reroll of one die-he can spin all he wants-its all close combat...we had Claudio get hit from the front-he kills-then the back-survived to tie from reroll-turn and Kills then another bug came from the back-still on guard-he ties, turns and kills-it was sick!!!! but no weapon bonus/no shield/no parry unless you are faced. But one will still get the # of weapon dice no matter where you are faced

We also play that if the Librarian gets hit from the rear/side he wont get the +1 axe till he is faced but can boost up his roll with psi points no matter where he is hit from.

Also the Sgt will always get his +1 for being a sgt

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/07 13:22:10


 
   
Made in ca
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte



Around Montreal

The Marine attacked from the rear gets all his normal dice.
The only thing is, if the Marine wins, he won't kill the Stealer.
I-think- he'll turn around to face him though, so possibly killing it if he wins again.

Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

The rules say a Space Marine rolls 1D6 in close combat.

Some marines, armed with Lightning Claws for instance, or Sergeants, different roll dice and/or get plusses, when fighting to their front. This is specified in the rule for each type.

So any marine attacked from behind gets a bare 1D6.

If the Marine equals or exceeds the Genestealer roll he does not kill the attacker but he can turn to face.

The rule for Guard says the marine can't take any other action but he remains on guard even if attacked. It isn't specified whether turning to face an attacker counts as an action, though since it is free (doesn't cost any APs) I assume it does not count as an action and does not remove the Guard status.

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in ca
Aspirant Tech-Adept





I agree with KilKrazy, but my question is after the combat is resolved, what is the Termies facing, does it go back to the origional facing or does it stay after it turns?
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

If the Termie took his free turn to face, he will be facing the direction of the Genestealer's attack.

Turning back is not a free action. It costs APs and can't be done if the Termie is "on guard".

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




ouch-better save a CP to turn your guys
only 1 d6 from side or rear is nasty
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

Yes, you can spend a CP to turn around to face the Genestealer. If your figure was on Guard, he loses the Guard status, but at least he can attack with all his dice.

This is subject to the rule that you can only do an action on the Genestealers' turn if they move within LoS of your troops. And it would be 2 CPs to turn 180 degrees.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/14 23:34:59


I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




although you wouldn't be able to turn completely around, as 180 for 2 AP isn't an available option for terminators. He'd only be able to turn around behind him if someone saw the genestealer take 2 actions
   
 
Forum Index » Board Games, Roleplaying Games & Card Games
Go to: