Switch Theme:

heavy flamer and other space hulk questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




A few questions I have come up with while playing Space Hulk:

1. I understand the HF fires into "sections" of the map, but what if you fire into a section that is only 1 or two squares in size like some of the really short pieces? The flame marker physically covers more squares that those sections but is it correct that only targets in that section are affected, even if the flame marker partially covers a square in an adjacent section containing a model (or in case the model in the targeted section wanted to move into the adjacent section, etc)?

2. What if you fire a HF into a 4 square long corridor section? Rules say you place the marker in the middle of the section, so does it just go right over the line between the two middle squares, or does it go into one square or the other?

3. If you have a flame marker over the center square of a crossroads intersection map section and you have a genestealer model on an edge square (so if he moved just one square he would be out of the section): if he does move one square forward so he is out of the flaming section, my understanding is that he would NOT have to roll the 2+ to be killed because the rules state that you only have to do that if you ENTER a burning square (which he would be leaving a burning square of a section) of a flaming section, correct?

4. With the above example in number 3, would that genestealer be out of line of sight to a marine in a section adjacent to that burning crossroads intersection? I realize someone firing from the other side completely through the middle square of the intersection would have LOS blocked due to the flame marker. But the rules state that LOS is still there if a model is on the edge of a burning section as long as there are no burning squares in between. But in this case the genestealer is IN a burning square since the flame marker partially covers the four edge squares of a crossroads map piece, but I just didn't know if that meant that the LOS being blocked included the burning square he is in or what. Hard to explain.

5. What about firing the HF up or down a ladder? Does it only affect the map section above or below the flamer guy firing? (I know this is not in a true mission, but you can make up your own missions, etc).

6. How would it work if you had a blip of 3 genestealers (or any number really) in a square adjacent to a ladder going up, and a marine from the upper floor moves down or falls down so that he ends up adjacent to the blip? Is that blip involuntarily converted ONLY if the marine ends up facing the blip or what? I know you can't move blips to an adjacent square with a space marine, but there are situations in which the marine player might move to an adjacent square with a blip (either on purpose or not), like in the example I gave. Another question would be if a blip was in a square containing a ladder and a marine was in the same square on the alternate floor map: are they "adjacent"? Meaning is that move legal to do for the genestealer player to move a BLIP into a ladder square even if a marine is in the same square on the other floor level because the rules do state that models in those squares can close assault, etc.

7. And when you convert the blip involuntarily that is on the other side of a door in a corridor (and the marine opens the door), if it has 3 stealers you put one where the blip is and one behind the first, but then could you put the third stealer "in the open doorway" because that would be directly adjacent to the marine. Rules don't say either way on that specific thing, only about not moving a BLIP next to a marine.

Thanks,

Steve
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




rampro6698 wrote:1. I understand the HF fires into "sections" of the map, but what if you fire into a section that is only 1 or two squares in size like some of the really short pieces? The flame marker physically covers more squares that those sections but is it correct that only targets in that section are affected, even if the flame marker partially covers a square in an adjacent section containing a model (or in case the model in the targeted section wanted to move into the adjacent section, etc)?


Yes, that is correct. Only the targeted section is affected- even if it's only one square.

rampro6698 wrote:2. What if you fire a HF into a 4 square long corridor section? Rules say you place the marker in the middle of the section, so does it just go right over the line between the two middle squares, or does it go into one square or the other?


It doesn't really matter where the flamer marker itself appears- only that all squares in the section are affected, even if the section is 4 squares long- all squares are affected equally, so you can place the flame marker in the middle or the front or the back- it's ultimately irrelevant beyond a reminder that the entire section is one fire. Most people place it in the center of the section as per the rules, but what the marker itself physically covers is not important..

rampro6698 wrote:3. If you have a flame marker over the center square of a crossroads intersection map section and you have a genestealer model on an edge square (so if he moved just one square he would be out of the section): if he does move one square forward so he is out of the flaming section, my understanding is that he would NOT have to roll the 2+ to be killed because the rules state that you only have to do that if you ENTER a burning square (which he would be leaving a burning square of a section) of a flaming section, correct?


That is my understanding.

rampro6698 wrote:4. With the above example in number 3, would that genestealer be out of line of sight to a marine in a section adjacent to that burning crossroads intersection? I realize someone firing from the other side completely through the middle square of the intersection would have LOS blocked due to the flame marker. But the rules state that LOS is still there if a model is on the edge of a burning section as long as there are no burning squares in between. But in this case the genestealer is IN a burning square since the flame marker partially covers the four edge squares of a crossroads map piece, but I just didn't know if that meant that the LOS being blocked included the burning square he is in or what. Hard to explain.


I think I follow you and the answer is no- the entire section is on fire, so LOS is blocked through the entire section- not just where the flame marker is placed.

rampro6698 wrote:5. What about firing the HF up or down a ladder? Does it only affect the map section above or below the flamer guy firing? (I know this is not in a true mission, but you can make up your own missions, etc).


I've never come across this in play, but if the flamer marine had LOS to the section above/below and declared that he was firing the flamer to that location, I imagine it would work normally from that point on, but I'll have to handball this query to one of my more learned peers who've had more experience with ladders.

rampro6698 wrote:6. How would it work if you had a blip of 3 genestealers (or any number really) in a square adjacent to a ladder going up, and a marine from the upper floor moves down or falls down so that he ends up adjacent to the blip? Is that blip involuntarily converted ONLY if the marine ends up facing the blip or what? I know you can't move blips to an adjacent square with a space marine, but there are situations in which the marine player might move to an adjacent square with a blip (either on purpose or not), like in the example I gave. Another question would be if a blip was in a square containing a ladder and a marine was in the same square on the alternate floor map: are they "adjacent"? Meaning is that move legal to do for the genestealer player to move a BLIP into a ladder square even if a marine is in the same square on the other floor level because the rules do state that models in those squares can close assault, etc.


According to the rules, the blip would only involuntarily convert if the marine had LOS, so in the first circumstance you described (the marine facing away from the blip but in an adjacent square) the blip would not have to convert until the start of the genestealer turn.

In the second case, I'd say no, a blip cannot move into a square from which a close assault would then be available- that would be considered an 'adjacent' square for all intents and purposes. You'd have to convert before moving.

rampro6698 wrote:7. And when you convert the blip involuntarily that is on the other side of a door in a corridor (and the marine opens the door), if it has 3 stealers you put one where the blip is and one behind the first, but then could you put the third stealer "in the open doorway" because that would be directly adjacent to the marine. Rules don't say either way on that specific thing, only about not moving a BLIP next to a marine.


The marine player places the stealers when the conversion is involuntary, and (after the first is placed on the previous location of the blip) if they chose to place one of the other stealers directly in front of them, nothing in the rules would prevent them from doing so.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you for the helpful replies to my questions. I thought I understood the rules pretty well, but once you play multiple games you run into those weird situations. The answers you gave is how we interpreted everything too. I just wanted to see if other people were "on the same page", so to speak.

Steve


Automatically Appended Next Post:
One detail about your response as to whether or not LOS is blocked at the edge of a burning section: Since the flames are considered to fill the entire section and all squares it contains in that section, then when the rule book states that models on the edge of a burning section are still in LOS as long as there are no burning squares in between makes me think the following: a model standing in an edge square of a burning section could still be shot at or close assaulted by another model as long as no squares from an adjacent section are between them. The fact that the first model is within a burning square does not keep it out of LOS from other models unless those other models had to "see" through burning squares between them and the enemy.

This is hard to explain so I will set up a mental picture of what happened in an actual game:

picture a crossroads intersection map piece (so the corridors look like a + sign). Now attach a 3 or 4 square corridor piece to the "north, south, east, and west" sides of the crossroads intersection. Now put a flamer marker in the center of the crossroads intersection and put a genestealer model in the north square of the crossroads intersection map piece. So that genestealer could move north into the adjacent corridor hallway and NOT have to roll the 2+ to be killed by the fire because he is not ENTERING a burning square, but rather leaving one. I think we agree on that based on how the rules are written. But now picture a marine with an assault cannon (or whatever) standing 2 or 3 squares away in the north corridor and he wants to shoot the genestealer in the north square of the crossroads section (which is on fire because the whole section is on fire). Would that marine have LOS? The rulebook would seem to suggest that he WOULD because it says "note that it is possible to trace a line of sight to a target on the edge of a burning section, as long as there are no burning squares in between". I think the marine in the above situation WOULD have LOS to the genestealer because the stealer is on the edge of a burning section (north square of the crossroads) and there are NO burning squares BETWEEN them. Otherwise, if you assume that models on the edge of a section are blocked from LOS because the whole section is on fire, then the only way you could have burning squares between them would be if the two adjacent sections were both on fire.

So bottom line: I think that you DO have LOS to a model on the edge square of a burning section if you would otherwise have LOS to that model. In other words, the fire itself does not block LOS on edge squares of sections with a flamer marker with regards to models that can draw an otherwise unobstructed LOS to that square. LOS would be blocked if you were having to look (or draw a line) through any of the other burning squares in that section.

Steve

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/23 15:14:10


 
   
 
Forum Index » Board Games, Roleplaying Games & Card Games
Go to: