Switch Theme:

Rules Question: Charging with a Unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Chicago, IL

I find I can answer most procedural questions I have about MkII by simply checking the manual, but I'm finding the exact sequence of charging with a unit a bit ambiguous.

Which is it?

1) I activate the unit. The leader gives the order to charge. I declare a charge target for ONE warrior model, move him, and make his charge attack. I move on to the next warrior model.

2) I activate the unit. The leader gives the order to charge. I declare charges targets for ALL warrior models. I move all models. I resolve charge attacks for all models.


Thanks for your help!

"Being given the opportunity to know, and nevertheless shunning knowledge, creates direct responsibility for the consequences." -Albert Speer 
   
Made in us
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller





Some backwater sump

I would say it's 1, since you can charge different targets and such. Just as long as you end up in unit coherency you're fine.

What was the situation that brought this up?

New Career Time? 
   
Made in fi
Rebel_Princess





Finland

2)

Prime MK2 p.244 Timing:

4. Orders (Charge allows models to run or charge)
6. Movement (model moves (can charge or run with order))
8. Units: Rinse and repeat 6
9. Actions.

Forever a pone. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Chicago, IL

Is page 244 that flow chart? Now I feel really dumb for not checking that. But after spending too long wading through the PP forums, it was beginning to look like #2 to me also.

It came up in a discussion surrounding Skorne Paingiver Bloodrunners and their Shadow Play ability. We were trying to determine whether one Bloodrunner could charge in, attack and hit his target, teleport another bloodrunner up withing an inch of him, and then THAT bloodrunner charge from that new position.

I now think that's broken for several reasons - not just the charge sequence, but also since grunts can't attack when they're out of formation, which such a charge-teleport-charge grunt almost certainly would be.

Thanks for the help, guys.

"Being given the opportunity to know, and nevertheless shunning knowledge, creates direct responsibility for the consequences." -Albert Speer 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







1. Charge order.
2. Activate movement individually.
3. Move models (again, individually).
4. Perform combat actions in the order that you choose.

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: