Switch Theme:

Charging  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Legionnaire




Kansas

How exactly does charging with infantry work, do they have to have an order on the back of the card? or can they just go?

If they have to have it on the card then very few infantry models i have seen can charge....

Khador 35 pts
Malifaux guild
W/D/L 8/2/6 
   
Made in us
Master Tormentor





St. Louis

All units can give and receive the charge and run orders, and all cavalry units can give and receive the rideby attack order, unless otherwise noted on their card.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/16 22:34:52


 
   
Made in us
Legionnaire




Kansas

Thanks, so just to be clear (because me and a couple friends have had debates on this)

a troop of bane thralls can charge (with no order on the card) the same way wintergaurd can (who do have a charge order on the card)

Khador 35 pts
Malifaux guild
W/D/L 8/2/6 
   
Made in us
Master Tormentor





St. Louis

Huh? Looking at my WG right now, there's no charge order on their card... But yes, bane thralls and everything else can charge.
   
Made in us
Legionnaire




Kansas

Hmm my mistake must have been on something else, Thanks!

Khador 35 pts
Malifaux guild
W/D/L 8/2/6 
   
Made in us
Satyxis Raider




In your head, screwing with your thoughts...

My understanding was that a unit can advance or stand still, or make a charge/run order (everything may either charge or run, but no normal advances), or make a special order on their card if they have one.

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




MasterDRD wrote:My understanding was that a unit can advance or stand still, or make a charge/run order (everything may either charge or run, but no normal advances), or make a special order on their card if they have one.

To be really picky about the details, an advance is any voluntary movement, including but not limited to Full Advances(Normal movement), Charges, and Runs. The semantics of it are messy but important for lots of effects.

But, yeah, you're correct. Any Unit Leader or Officer can issue either a Charge Order, a Run Order, or any other order listed on their card. Models can only be affected by a single order at any given time. The Charge Order allows you to Charge or Run. The Run Order only allows you to Run and is completely redundant because of the Charge Order. All Orders are compulsory so Models affected by a Charge Order must either Charge or Run and do not get to make their normal Full Advance. It's also worth noting that all Advances, with some explicit exceptions to Charges, allow movement "up to" a certain distance, so Running 0" is allowed.
   
Made in us
Satyxis Raider




In your head, screwing with your thoughts...

Revvy wrote:
MasterDRD wrote:My understanding was that a unit can advance or stand still, or make a charge/run order (everything may either charge or run, but no normal advances), or make a special order on their card if they have one.

To be really picky about the details, an advance is any voluntary movement, including but not limited to Full Advances(Normal movement), Charges, and Runs. The semantics of it are messy but important for lots of effects.

But, yeah, you're correct. Any Unit Leader or Officer can issue either a Charge Order, a Run Order, or any other order listed on their card. Models can only be affected by a single order at any given time. The Charge Order allows you to Charge or Run. The Run Order only allows you to Run and is completely redundant because of the Charge Order. All Orders are compulsory so Models affected by a Charge Order must either Charge or Run and do not get to make their normal Full Advance. It's also worth noting that all Advances, with some explicit exceptions to Charges, allow movement "up to" a certain distance, so Running 0" is allowed.


Thanks, this both confirmed what I thought was the rule and cleared up something else I wasn't so sure about. Although I don't quite see the use in running 0 inches..?

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




MasterDRD wrote:
Revvy wrote:
MasterDRD wrote:My understanding was that a unit can advance or stand still, or make a charge/run order (everything may either charge or run, but no normal advances), or make a special order on their card if they have one.

To be really picky about the details, an advance is any voluntary movement, including but not limited to Full Advances(Normal movement), Charges, and Runs. The semantics of it are messy but important for lots of effects.

But, yeah, you're correct. Any Unit Leader or Officer can issue either a Charge Order, a Run Order, or any other order listed on their card. Models can only be affected by a single order at any given time. The Charge Order allows you to Charge or Run. The Run Order only allows you to Run and is completely redundant because of the Charge Order. All Orders are compulsory so Models affected by a Charge Order must either Charge or Run and do not get to make their normal Full Advance. It's also worth noting that all Advances, with some explicit exceptions to Charges, allow movement "up to" a certain distance, so Running 0" is allowed.


Thanks, this both confirmed what I thought was the rule and cleared up something else I wasn't so sure about. Although I don't quite see the use in running 0 inches..?

No problem.

Running 0" comes up when a Model is engaged in melee but is forced to advance elsewhere. Rather than take the free strike which will in all likelihood kill your trooper and free up your opponent, you can run 0" and end your activation instead. This typically comes up when a Grunt is outside of its Unit Leader's CMD range or is fleeing(I think, all of my Units are fearless so I've not spent much time looking at that section of the rules) and can be a huge benefit in a bad situation. For example, in one game, I had my Exemplar Errants spread out some 13" apart, engaging a Cryx Arcnode on the left flank, a unit of Thralls in the middle, and some solo on the right, with my Unit Leader in the center. On my opponent's turn, he kills all of my center Errants with his Thralls and forces me to field promote one of the flanks. Whichever flank I promoted would be fine, but the other would be required to Advance towards the Unit Leader. Advancing 0" kept me from losing additional Errants from freestrikes, something that probably would have cost me the game otherwise.
   
Made in us
Satyxis Raider




In your head, screwing with your thoughts...

Revvy wrote:
MasterDRD wrote:
Revvy wrote:
MasterDRD wrote:My understanding was that a unit can advance or stand still, or make a charge/run order (everything may either charge or run, but no normal advances), or make a special order on their card if they have one.

To be really picky about the details, an advance is any voluntary movement, including but not limited to Full Advances(Normal movement), Charges, and Runs. The semantics of it are messy but important for lots of effects.

But, yeah, you're correct. Any Unit Leader or Officer can issue either a Charge Order, a Run Order, or any other order listed on their card. Models can only be affected by a single order at any given time. The Charge Order allows you to Charge or Run. The Run Order only allows you to Run and is completely redundant because of the Charge Order. All Orders are compulsory so Models affected by a Charge Order must either Charge or Run and do not get to make their normal Full Advance. It's also worth noting that all Advances, with some explicit exceptions to Charges, allow movement "up to" a certain distance, so Running 0" is allowed.


Thanks, this both confirmed what I thought was the rule and cleared up something else I wasn't so sure about. Although I don't quite see the use in running 0 inches..?

No problem.

Running 0" comes up when a Model is engaged in melee but is forced to advance elsewhere. Rather than take the free strike which will in all likelihood kill your trooper and free up your opponent, you can run 0" and end your activation instead. This typically comes up when a Grunt is outside of its Unit Leader's CMD range or is fleeing(I think, all of my Units are fearless so I've not spent much time looking at that section of the rules) and can be a huge benefit in a bad situation. For example, in one game, I had my Exemplar Errants spread out some 13" apart, engaging a Cryx Arcnode on the left flank, a unit of Thralls in the middle, and some solo on the right, with my Unit Leader in the center. On my opponent's turn, he kills all of my center Errants with his Thralls and forces me to field promote one of the flanks. Whichever flank I promoted would be fine, but the other would be required to Advance towards the Unit Leader. Advancing 0" kept me from losing additional Errants from freestrikes, something that probably would have cost me the game otherwise.


Ah, well it makes sense in that light then. I haven't encountered an instance like that yet, it seems like thare are a lot of things in WM I haven't encountered yet. My very 1st time taking a command check was yesterday. I was playing a Khador list on Vassal but my main army is Cryx, and they're all undead and/or fearless for the most part...

   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: