Switch Theme:

Can a Mumak charge into difficult terrain?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The rules for moving the Mumak state that it stops, and takes d6 hits, if it contacts difficult, defensible, or impassible terrain, another Mumak, or the board edge.
If it stampedes and contacts difficult, defensible, or impassible terrain, another Mumak, or the board edge, it is removed from play.
The rules for charging state that it follows the normal rules for a charging monster.
So?

1) Yes, the Mumak may charge into difficult (etc.) terrain. Normal rules for charging monsters do not mention the above restrictions on terrain.

2) No, the Mumak may not charge into difficult (etc.) terrain. This will result in the Mumak ending the fight phase in difficult (etc.) terrain, a place it cannot ever reach with other forms of movement. Also, other monsters do not have the difficult (etc) terrain restrictions on their normal movement that the Mumak does.

3) Another reason: ___________.

He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yes, the Mumak can charge a unit in difficult terrain. When the Mumak tramples it stops before entering difficult terrain, although it takes hits (page 198). When the Mumak stampedes it enters the terrain and is destroyed. When charging a unit in difficult terrain, that unit is considered to take up the entire space of the terrain feature (page 55) Thus when the mumak contacts the edge of the feature the charge is successful.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






spaceelf wrote:When charging a unit in difficult terrain, that unit is considered to take up the entire space of the terrain feature (page 55)


I see what you are trying to say, and I agree up to a point. A unit occupying a defensible terrain feature is considered to be taking up the same space as the feature, and so the mumak could charge, stop at the edge, and still fight.

What about the case where a unit is too large to occupy a defensible terrain feature(Our Numbers Are Too Great), but merely moves into it (say, to avoid a mumak)? Or a unit that moves into difficult terrain that is not defensible? Could a mumak charge through the terrain to reach them, or would you expect it to stop at the edge?

He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It has been a while since I played and I forgot about the distinction between difficult and defensible terrain. After looking it up I think that the mumaks rules are fairly clear. He will not enter difficult, defensible, or impassable terrain with his trample movement (page 198). Thus a unit could hide from the mumak in difficult terrain. However, if parts of the unit are outside of the terrain the mumak could potentially charge the unit. I still think that rules as written the mumak can charge a unit in defensible terrain, although based on the intention of the rules I do no think that it should be able to do so.
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc





The wheel in the sky

Yes, if a Mumak comes into contact with terrain while charging it takes D6 hits. But it is awesome that on the luckiest role in the game you can move 28 inches.

"Some may say that you have no right to kill billions, then again, you have no right to let them live" - Warmaster Horus

3000
Custom Space Marines 2000
Tyranids 3000
CRYX 50 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Your thread necromancy adds nothing to this discussion.

He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings
Go to: