Switch Theme:

Scipio's Rules Queries  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

As with any games I play, there are going to be times where things don't make sense or that I need clarified.

Rather than clutter up the sub-forum with rules queires, I thought I'd produce a single thread where I'd post any questions I had about the game.

1.

Elven Blades make me count as carrying a hand weapon. They can be used as a two-handed weapon.

Two handed weapons cannot be taken if one is carrying a bow.

a. Can Elven Blades be taken if one is carrying a bow?
b. If they are, do I have to drop my bow when I swing two-handed?
c. Is there any point to taking them with a shield? (other than that it looks really, really cool.)

Finally, I noticed that it isn't a everyone has to do the same situation. So, if I wanted to, I could throw 3 elfs into a fight, have two use hand weapons and one use his Full swing.

If I do this, and a man with a hand weapon wins combat, my guy with the two-handed weapon still gets a strike, right?

2.

Winning a fight isn't a comparative roll like it is in 40k or fantasy. It is literally each player rolls a D6 per attack and wins if they have the higher value. (or if it is a tie for the highest value, they win by virtue of having the better Fight value)

Is it the case then, that in this way, one can roll 3 dice and only succeed with one dice, then strike to cause up to 3 wounds?

My current thinking is:
1a. Yes, I can take a bow and an Elven Blade
1b. No, I don't have to drop a bow to use a two-handed weapon, as it is only in army building that I'm not allowed to take a Two-handed weapon and a bow.
1c. No. But it still looks really cool. (Maybe I'll just say they're hand weapons. Shields don't break in this game, do they?)
2. I'm thinking if I win with one dice, I win with all of them.

I'm pretty sure I have all of these down pat, but I can't say that they're correct definitely. In this way, I'm deferring to people who understand the game better than I do. (as I've only done one game using battle chronicler.)

 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New York

1a. Yes, you can take both. However if you have a shield and a bow, you can shoot, but you can't claim the +1 Defense.

1b. If you don't use them in the same phase (which you can't), you can hang your bow on your back and strike with both hands. However, you can't claim +1 Defense from a shield if you use a 2-Handed Weapon.

1c. If you don't go 2-Handed (I only use 2-Handed Weapons when I've got a banner nearby), then a shield is fine.

2. If you have 1 Elf and 5 Goblins in a single fight, and the Elf rolls higher or ties with the highest goblin roll, the Elf wins the fight and can allocate dice to wound. This allows heroes like Aragorn to really prove the "Hero" title.
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

Thanks for the answer.

Nevermind on this, I re-read the rule

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/27 03:37:05


 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New York

Scipio Africanus wrote:
Thanks for the answer.

with 1C. Am I able to sling my shield on the back and fight two-handed?


Yes, 2-Handing simply prevents you from claiming the +1 Defense from the shield.
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

Are you sure on that? the 2005 rulebook says "if the warrior also carries a shield or a spear he cannot use his elven blade as a two handed weapon"

 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New York

Scipio Africanus wrote:
Are you sure on that? the 2005 rulebook says "if the warrior also carries a shield or a spear he cannot use his elven blade as a two handed weapon"


I can honestly say that I am not. Sadly, I haven't really played LotR in a while...(Pre-6th Edition of 40k)
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

Dr. What wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:
Are you sure on that? the 2005 rulebook says "if the warrior also carries a shield or a spear he cannot use his elven blade as a two handed weapon"


I can honestly say that I am not. Sadly, I haven't really played LotR in a while...(Pre-6th Edition of 40k)


No problem. Doesn't mean that your answers aren't any more useful. I don't think the rules have changed until this coming saturday.

 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker




New York

Scipio Africanus wrote:
Dr. What wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:
Are you sure on that? the 2005 rulebook says "if the warrior also carries a shield or a spear he cannot use his elven blade as a two handed weapon"


I can honestly say that I am not. Sadly, I haven't really played LotR in a while...(Pre-6th Edition of 40k)


No problem. Doesn't mean that your answers aren't any more useful. I don't think the rules have changed until this coming saturday.


Even with the new update, I doubt much has really changed. I am sad that I never actually got around to buying one of the sourcebooks from the last release (my plan was to finish a 1500 point 40k army and 1 500 point LotR army by Christmas...)
   
 
Forum Index » The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings
Go to: