| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 16:07:03
Subject: More n00b questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Re: ranged attacks
- the +2 bonus for back strikes...same as with melee you need to have started the activation in back arc?
- do'jacks or any model really... ever provide cover or concealment?
- rule says "any model within 1" of terrain that provides cover...." does this mean that if I'm near a woods.. and the enemy shooting at me doesnt actually shoot THROUGH the woods (aka its on the same side of the woods terrain as me) I still get cover?
Lasltly my previous q&a.. one quesiton confused me
Re:knocked down. So this has 0 impact on a warcaster's spellcasting capability...aka I could stand up (sacrifcing my action), the advance my full speed... and before or after move I could cast spells and/or use my Feat?
I would only need to spend focus if I wanted to do all that and also shoot/make an attack/use a STAR action?
Re: charging
Running ends your turn....
But could I charge a ver far away model move spd+3" towards it ...and still cast spells/use feat/ make RANGED attacks?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 16:29:35
Subject: Re:More n00b questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
1) yes, the same as melee
2) No, they either block your LoS completely or do nothing. Even the smallest sliver is enough to target without penalty. The only time a model can provide a defense bonus is if they are in combat with each other, which gives the target in melee bonus.
3) With this rule, you have to be within 1" of the terrain in question and you have to be able to draw a line from any point on your base to any point on the other model's base. If they can be done you get cover. see my attached picture for details
4) Correct, you can spend a focus to stand up and act normally for all purposes. Except you have one less focus then normal of course.
5) Yes, but only if you cast the spells before charging. If a charge fails your activation immediately ends. Derp-charging, as the tactic you describe is called, is what you do if you want to cast spells and still get some extra movement. So you cast all your spells, then declare a charge, after which your activation ends. And no, you could not make ranged attacks as charging means you have declared you are making melee attacks.
|
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/05 16:30:10
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 20:25:36
Subject: Re:More n00b questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks for the answers...
in my Knocked Down warcaster example though... my warcaster isn't spending any focus at all... she just stands up....and then advances...
At this point can she still cast spells and/or use her feat on her turn?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/05 20:36:41
Subject: Re:More n00b questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Yes, if you forfeit either your movement or your action you can still cast spells and feat. Neither require you to be taking your action.
Spells and Feats can be used at any time, except you are not allowed to interrupt movement or an attack to do them. You can't walk 3", cast a spell, and then move the last 2" of your movement.
You can cast a spell, move, and cast more spells.
You can cast a spell, charge, cast a spell, make your charge attack, cast another spell, and then buy an attack. You can't make an attack roll, cast a spell, and then resolve the damage roll from the attack. You have to finish the attack completely first.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 14:57:47
Subject: More n00b questions
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Re #3, I want to point out that Grey Templar's diagram is incorrect. The model partly behind the forest feature does not get concealment because forests don't grant concealment to things behind them, only within them. I find their logic for this completely nonsensical, but er, welcome to Warmachine I guess. The Infernals say it is so it is so. Here's a link on the topic.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/07 14:58:32
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 14:59:33
Subject: Re:More n00b questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Odd, that appears to directly contradict the rules. Forests are terrain that provide concealment.
Anyway, I stand corrected.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/07 15:00:35
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 15:03:07
Subject: More n00b questions
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Their argument more or less seems to be that the specific rules for how forests grant concealment override the general rules for terrain features, which would be wonderful except the forest rules don't say they "only" provide concealment to models within the forest, just that they provide concealment to models within the forest. Bad ruling or bad writing.
I think the intention of that "within 1"" business is that it applies to obstacles and obstructions, not to the specific types of terrain like forests and hills.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 15:07:02
Subject: Re:More n00b questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Hills can provide concealment?
All I've ever played with is that they give elevation and block LoS if tall enough.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 15:11:34
Subject: More n00b questions
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Actually, the rules for hills specifically say they don't provide cover or concealment. That seems incredibly bizarre given metres of solid earth is probably the best cover around, but I guess hills are in the clear as far as ambiguity on this issue goes. It's just forests and, potentially, trenches? Trenches make sense at least.
Anyway, there it is.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 15:15:49
Subject: Re:More n00b questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
And Legion just became even more broken, shooting through forests without penalty...
The guy standing in the forest gets concealment, but the guy on the other side of the forest is buck naked for all purposes.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/07 15:16:19
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 15:31:42
Subject: More n00b questions
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
I'm not sure I get your meaning? They ignore the concealment of the forest anyway...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 15:38:44
Subject: Re:More n00b questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
I don't think so.
IIRC Eyeless sight only ignores line of sight restrictions and clouds. Cover and concealment applies as normal for forests.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/07 15:45:07
Subject: More n00b questions
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Eyeless Sight ignores concealment and stealth, as well as ignoring clouds and forests for purposes of LoS. It doesn't ignore cover.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|