Switch Theme:

Mordheim rules question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




having a debate at our gaming club as per the charging rules.

You can charge any opposing model if you can draw an unobstructed line from your model to the target. If your warrior wants to charge an enemy model within 4" that he can’t see (eg, because it is behind a corner) but has not been declared as hidden, he must pass an Initiative test to detect it. If he fails the roll, your model may not charge this turn, but may move his normal distance, shoot and cast spells.
A charge is like a running move, performed at double the Movement rate, but ends with the attacker moving by the most direct route into base-to-base contact with the enemy model. Once their bases are touching they are engaged in hand-to-hand combat.

the rules are as above.

problem we are having is below

some models from a warband charged into another enemy group, and when there was no room to the front of the enemies figures the attacker moved to the sides and then the back to be in contact with a base thus surrounding the enemy and attacking 2-3 on 1 in the fight.

the guy being charged said he couldn't do that because going around the back isn't the shortest route (as stated in the rules)

the guy charging said you can go around the back as its unobstructed and that because their were models in base contact with the front he could then charge the sides and back as they became the shortest route thereafter.

if that makes sense to anyone be greatfull for a clearup

Matt



   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Los Angeles, CA

The fellow doing the charging is correct. Once you've hit the front edge of the model, you then spread to the other edges. A lot of Coreheim players use circular bases now for the ease of use it permits in multiple model combats.

DZC - Scourge
 
   
 
Forum Index » Other Games Workshop Fantasy Games
Go to: