Switch Theme:

Understanding Camouflage and AROs - The Official Clarification (Yes, from 2012, but still!)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[DCM]
.







I was trying to find the Official Clarification on Camouflage and AROs and came across this helpful bit from the Infinity Wiki:

http://infinitythegame.wikispot.org/Camouflage_Example

Camouflage example

The following is an example that Interruptor gave to the infinity community on Aug 30, 2012.

It is said that, in an Order, everything happens at the same time and that’s true. However, as Camouflage and Hiding is a Special Skill, it provides an exception to the general rule, as Special Skills usually do.

So, when using Camouflage, the point in which the troop is revealed is quite important, as the Short Skill that reveals the troop is not necessarily simultaneous with the other Short Skill of the Order.

I’m going to use the nice graphic made by Necra-Chi (Thanks and kudos, my friend! ), as it works as a good resume of this.



Blue is a camo marker. Please note in all scenarios the end of blue's movement is out of red's LOF, but blue always begins in LOF.

Scenario A - Blue declares move into base contact with its 1st Short Skill of the Order. Its whole movement is made camouflaged, until the point it reaches base contact where it is revealed. As Red has not LOF with that point, its only ARO could be Discover. Green can delay his ARO declaration until know what will be the 2nd Short Skill of the active Order. Blue then declares CC. Now, Green can declare to CC or Dodge, but not a BS attack because when Blue be revealed, it will be in base contact with it.

Scenario B - Blue declares move into base contact with its 1st Short Skill of the Order. As before, Red has not LOF with that point, its only ARO could be Discover. Green delays its ARO declaration. Blue then declares BS attack against Green from just before it reaches base contact. Thanks to Combat Camouflage, the BS attack will be a Normal Roll, and Green could only perform its ARO if it survives to the attack. As Blue is revealed before to be in base contact, Green can now declare a BS attack, a CC attack, or a Dodge, which could be performed only if it survives Blue’s attack.

Scenario C - Blue declares move to a point in where it is not in base contact, but outside LOF of Red. Again, Red has not LOF with that point, its only ARO could be Discover. Green delays its ARO. Blue then declares a BS attack at Green, from its current position. Green can now declare a BS attack or a Dodge, which could be only performed if it survives Blue’s attack.

Scenario D - Blue declares move to a point in where it is not in base contact, but, again, outside LOF of Red. As in the previous scenarios, Red has not LOF with that point, its only ARO could be Discover. Green delays its ARO. Blue then declares to lay a Mine (Orange circle), a Short Skill that reveals it. Now, Green could declare a BS attack if desired.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/03 02:34:12


 
   
Made in pl
Kelne





Warsaw, Poland

The picture link doesn't work

Otherwise, it looks solid.
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Here's the picture:



Changed from a hotlinked image from the wiki to my photohost.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/09/03 03:46:57


I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in nl
Zealous Knight







...Still not working for me.

try this one, it's in the dakka gallery so should be okay.

   
 
Forum Index » Corvus Belli (Infinity)
Go to: