| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/12 19:01:01
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
Venator
|
The wording on Assault says that as a part of a charge, AFTER moving, but before making it's charge attacks, that you can make a ranged attack targeted the model you charged.
Let's say you have an AOE 4 ranged attack. If you shoot this when you charge, you'll hit yourself too (assuming you hit.)
Is there something I'm missing on this? Or, if you're say... the Skorne Mammoth, will you be hitting yourself with your blast every time you use the Assault rule?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/12 19:30:37
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
If you're the mammoth then if you hit your target I doubt that the blast damage will effect you much.
But, to the root of your question- yes, if you fire an AoE weapon after an assault move then you are able to hit yourself with blast damage either via scatter (if you miss) or normal blast damage (if you hit).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/12 19:43:36
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
Just FYI - unless I'm mistaken (or unless it's written differently for the Mammoth) you're not restricted to shooting the model you charge.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/12 20:54:13
Subject: Re:Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
Opportunist
La Rochelle
|
You do have to shoot the model that you charged.
|
SkaerKrow wrote : "We killed our own gods. What chance do you have against us?"
Kurgash wrote: "Necrons, a dead race that is more dead than anyone else. So dead that they rebuild themselves just to die again!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/12 21:19:38
Subject: Re:Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
Venator
|
Arkon wrote:You do have to shoot the model that you charged.
This. The rule explicitly states that you have to shoot the model you charge. It would be nice if that wasn't the case though
I guess I can endure the blast hit on him, but it just seem wierd!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/12 21:21:08
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/12 22:38:55
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
This is why I shouldn't YMDC from the office with Battle College.
Disregard me!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/12 22:39:35
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
What seems weird about you using a grenade at pointblank range and getting caught in the blast?
|
6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/12 23:06:04
Subject: Re:Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Most things with Assault can barely hurt themselves with the blast damage anyway.
And you can just always not take the free shot if you want.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/13 05:29:43
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Honestly, how many models in the game have an AOE weapon AND assault? Shoot, nothing in any of my armies have it.
|
71 pts khador - 6 war casters
41 pts merc highborn - 3 warcasters |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/13 05:55:00
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
KingKodo wrote:Honestly, how many models in the game have an AOE weapon AND assault? Shoot, nothing in any of my armies have it. Can the Trencher grenade porter use it when he assaults? He can't for CRA I don't think, but I dunno about assault. edit: Nevermind, its a star attack. That means they can't assault and do it right? double edit: murdoch grants assault, lets check mercs... Ok so you could get it with Herne & Jonne, the Ogrun Assault Corps, and that might be it for Cygnar.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/09/13 05:58:37
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/13 08:46:01
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
motyak wrote:KingKodo wrote:Honestly, how many models in the game have an AOE weapon AND assault? Shoot, nothing in any of my armies have it.
Can the Trencher grenade porter use it when he assaults? He can't for CRA I don't think, but I dunno about assault.
edit: Nevermind, its a star attack. That means they can't assault and do it right?
double edit: murdoch grants assault, lets check mercs...
Ok so you could get it with Herne & Jonne, the Ogrun Assault Corps, and that might be it for Cygnar.
Stormblades, but they are immune to their damage type.
Also, Grenade Porters can't assault with their grenades because it is a * ranged attack.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/13 10:56:44
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Stormblades don't get an AOE as part of their assault do they? I thought it was individual shots
Edit: forgot about the UA, ignore me
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/13 10:58:02
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/13 10:59:59
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
motyak wrote:Stormblades don't get an AOE as part of their assault do they? I thought it was individual shots
What do you mean with individual shots?
As long as the Standard Bearer is alive and in formation, all ranged attacks from the unit that directly hit become AOE 3", so it works in Assaults as well.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/13 11:10:00
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Yeah I had them and stormguard a bit confused, and forgot about the UA. I corrected myself above just after I posted
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/13 15:06:03
Subject: Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
Venator
|
Talamare wrote:What seems weird about you using a grenade at pointblank range and getting caught in the blast?
What's wierd is that it seems like you'd be making the shot while charging in, not firing off the shot point blank when you arrive. But the rule does specifically state otherwise.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/13 17:33:26
Subject: Re:Assault Rule and AOE Ranged Attacks
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Its the disconnect between actual rules and fluff.
Its better this way actually, because you can charge something way out of charge range and still take the shot.
With 3 Focus and a Reckoner, I can put a fully boosted pow15 flare shot out 20" from my current position.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|