Switch Theme:

Hello all! New player with some rules questions!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Hello all, new poster and player here, just played the first scenario with the girlfriend and had a few questions that came up. First, I read in the big rulebook that throwing weapons could not be used in combat. Does that mean any dwarf in the escape from goblin town set that uses throwing axes counts as unarmed in a duel? That's how we played it, basically using the throwing axe charge ( with -1 to hit rolls for moving) but once in the duel phase I gave them the penalties of being unarmed. No idea if we played that right.

Secondly say 2 goblins are in base contact with a single dwarf at the start of the fight phase. Those 2 goblins also have two goblins in base with them, giving them support as per the horde rules. This means the goblin player rolls 4 dice for the duel and if won 4 dice for wounds? If I'm reading the rules correctly that's how it seems it should go, but it seems pretty powerful! Anyway if you guys could clear this up it would be much appreciated! Thanks for your time.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

XvReaperXv wrote:
First, I read in the big rulebook that throwing weapons could not be used in combat. Does that mean any dwarf in the escape from goblin town set that uses throwing axes counts as unarmed in a duel?

No as per page 62 of The Hobbit SBG rulebook, the second paragraph under the heading 'Single-handed Weapons'.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/24 05:37:36


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ie
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon




octarius.Lets krump da bugs!

Unless specificly(Unarmed) stated all models have a hand weapon.(At least it was in LOTR era.Or Am I getting them mixed up again?)

Kote!
Kandosii sa ka'rte, vode an.
Coruscanta a'den mhi, vode an.
Bal kote,Darasuum kote,
Jorso'ran kando a tome.
Sa kyr'am nau tracyn kad vode an.
Bal...
Motir ca'tra nau tracinya.
Gra'tua cuun hett su dralshy'a.
Aruetyc talyc runi'la trattok'a.
Sa kyr'am nau tracyn kad, vode an! 
   
Made in gb
Is 'Eavy Metal Calling?





UK

Yeah, your throwing weapons are different from your hand weapons, so you get both. All good dwarves have a spare axe!

And you're right on the goblins, you do get 4 attacks on both fight and wound rolls. This is even better if you can surround or trap the enemy, as you can get a ridiculous double attacks and bonuses. I've had even the best heroes go down simply being being mobbed with orcs/spears/pikes and dying to 18 attacks and 32 wound rolls. No one in the game (except possibly Sauron and the Balrog) can take that kind of punishment!.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Thanks all for the quick and descriptive answers!
   
 
Forum Index » The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings
Go to: