Switch Theme:

Combined Melee Attack Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I understand the basics of Combined Melee attacks.

You can have members of a unit sacrifice an attack so that one person in the unit can make one attack with +1 attack and damage for each person helping including themselves.

Now for the questions:
1. Those that give up their attack to help, if they have two attacks can they still attack with the other weapon?
2. The person making the attack, if they have another weapon can they use it? Use with the combined attack help?
3. Can I activate member of the unit to move them, not attack with them, and sacrifice their attack to add to the combined melee? or do they have to start in base to base?

I hope this is clear, and if not, I can clarify as needed.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




1)Yes
2) Yes
3) The models making the combined attack have to be within melee range of the model being attacked at the time they are sacrificing their actions.
So the attackers do not need to be in base to base with each other or even btb with the target. They just need to be in melee range to add to the attack.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Thanks for the quick response.

Two follow up questions.

1. Do they activate to move/stand still...and sacrifice their attack then?

2. If they have more than one attack can they sacrifice both attacks and perform two combined melee attacks?
   
Made in au
Tough Tyrant Guard







J0kerrMT wrote:
Thanks for the quick response.

Two follow up questions.

1. Do they activate to move/stand still...and sacrifice their attack then?

They don't "sacrifice their attacks." They participate in a Combined Melee Attack at the same time as all the other models participating in the attack. Units with the CMA rule ignore the normal procedure of each trooper taking its combat action separately.

Also, keep in mind the entire unit activates at the same time. Normally, each trooper takes their move action, then each trooper takes their combat action, but in this case they each take their move action and then they kinda all take their combat action at the same time. Then you say, okay, I'm doing a combined melee attack with these guys against this guy, led by this guy.
J0kerrMT wrote:
2. If they have more than one attack can they sacrifice both attacks and perform two combined melee attacks?

As above, there's no "sacrificing attacks," but yes, a model with two attacks can contribute each of them to different CMAs.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Think of it like this.

Each model participating in the CMA gives up one of its melee attacks to give the primary attacker +1/+1 Each model must be in melee range of the target model, be able to make an attack, if its a charge attack all attacks given for te CMA must be charge attacks, etc...

The attack given up for the CMA does NOT need to be the same kind of attack the primary attacker is using. Satyxis raiders have 2 attacks, whip and horns. 3 Raiders could combined 2 horns and a whip into the same CMA provided all other criteria are met. This can get pretty janky.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Wraith





Raleigh, North Carolina

 Grey Templar wrote:

The attack given up for the CMA does NOT need to be the same kind of attack the primary attacker is using. Satyxis raiders have 2 attacks, whip and horns. 3 Raiders could combined 2 horns and a whip into the same CMA provided all other criteria are met. This can get pretty janky.


Janky my foot! I take this interaction as the reason they're only MAT6. Banes get Curse, Raiders get CMA, and Witches get Gang.

 
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: