Switch Theme:

Couple of rules questions from last nights game  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi guys,

We were playing a game last night with rohan vs isengard. We had a small fort defended by the warriors of rohan being attacked by a group of uruk hai. When my brother pushed the uruk hai up to the wall he wanted to use his pike men to support. Now I know in the book it says that the defenders fight again each attacker seperately but how does that work with support attacks from spears/pikes? Suddenly my small force which was hoping for a one on one dice roll were getting 3 uruk hai dice vs 1 warrior.

Is this right?

Also we had a situation with eomer vs a uruk hai hero and 2 uruk hai. The dice results were eomer 6,4, the uruk hai hero 5,2 and the uruks 6,1. Now as i read the rules even though the uruk hai hero rolled a lower score than eomer he can use his fight value for deciding ties. So in this case still a tie but better than a loss.

Is this also the right reading?

Oh ps we are using the one rule book.

Thanks for your help.
   
Made in gb
Is 'Eavy Metal Calling?





UK

First question: supporting basically adds attacks to the model that is actually in combat, so yes, you would get 3 dice with double pikes, but could only take 1 wound in return. This is why pikes are so amazingly effective.

Second Question: If I recall correctly, the highest Fight Value on each side is used when resolving a tie, so yes, the Uruk-Hai Captain can use his F value despite his own dice not being enough. I'm not sure on this, though.

 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the quick response Paradigm,

That does make pikes awesome we'll be getting some more of them! As we do like a good scenario so defending a settlement does come up quite regularly.

The fight value did read that way but coming from a WHFB background it just didn't feel quite right. Oh well now we know.



   
Made in gb
Twisting Tzeentch Horror



Bridgwater, somerset

The updated rules in the hobbit rulebook changed how supporting Attacks work

The supporting model now makes a single attack of his own, rather than adding an attack to the model actually in the combat


Automatically Appended Next Post:
In the case of most armies that changes very little, but when supporting a hero it often matters as fight value, might etc are more specific

Also it makes spear armed trolls slightly worthwhile (still better to get them into combat)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/13 16:23:53


   
 
Forum Index » The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings
Go to: