Switch Theme:

question on evade tokens  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator





Great Falls, Montana

So the other day i was playing around with a list that had chewbaca flying the YT-1300 and he had draw there fire and the title which gives the evade action..I used draw there fire to take a hit off one of my ships and wanted to use my evade token i had on him at the time but was told i could not do that. I thought when you suffer a hit you may use the evade token?

“Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake.” ― Napoleon Bonaparte

 
   
Made in gb
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator






You can as that's the point of evade tokens? You spend them to generate a dodge?

- 1250 points
Empire of the Blazing Sun (Combined Theaters)- 1950 points
FUBAR Starship Troopers- Would you like to know more?
GENERATION 9: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.  
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






No, you can not do that. Draw their fire takes an uncanceled {crit} result from the ship you're protecting, which means it happens after the step where you compare attack dice to defense dice + evade tokens and determine how many hits the target suffers. At that point it's way too late to go back and add an evade token to the results. The evade action will only protect the YT-1300 from attacks made against it (which is still a very useful thing to have).

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Central MO

Here's the relevant line from the rulebook about canceling attack dice.

"All abilities that allow players to cancel dice must be resolved at the start of the “Compare Results” step."

By the time you pull an uncanceled crit over with draw their fire you're already past the compare dice step, so no more canceling effects allowed on those rolls.

Lifetime Record of Awesomeness
1000000W/ 0L/ 1D (against myself)
 
   
 
Forum Index » Atomic Mass Games (Star Wars & Marvel: Crisis Protocol)
Go to: