Switch Theme:

Do 'general minor psychic powers' count as 'instead of XXX'?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Spawn of Chaos




Germany

Hi all, back again to catch some returnfire :-)

Certainly most people can recall the old minor psychic power tables from Chapter Approved Annual 2003. I guess one can still use them as they have not really been FAQed or prohibited and since the Codex: CSM still has an entry in the wargear section stating you may have em.

Sadly, most of these powers look quite like being in 'beta' state to me. My specific concern is to how those non-shooting-phase powers are used. E.g., there is a minor power compareable to the slaaneshi siren power that is used in the movement phase, without stating that it is an 'instead of moving' action. If I remember right, the further rules of the power state you couldn't do anything at all after invoking the power itself, including movement, but what if you are not allowed to move anyway? Would you still be able to use the power?

Say, if I field a sorc in terminator armor and deepstrike him on the field, may I use the minor power in question to protect me the turn I come to the table?

From the point that I still have a normal movement phase (though I can't move) it seems I might as well use it, so ruleswise I'd say yes. On the other hand, deepstriking rules seem to imply you should only be able to shoot, so I'd say I was not meant to use it. If the minor power had an 'in your movement phase, instead of moving do xxx' written into it, the subject would be a lot clearer for me...

thx for any advice


'War is a problem, not the solution' - Unknown Source
I play: , , , , (+ legions w/o smiley), (traitors) and (their rules, 'cause 4th C:CSM sucks) 
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Philadelphia

It might help if you actually quoted the part of the rule in toto.  That way we could provide some sort of answer without having to wait to run home, dig up the appropriate WD or Annual, and then hopefully remember to post an answer. 

 


Legio Suturvora 2000 points (painted)
30k Word Bearers 2000 points (in progress)
Daemonhunters 1000 points (painted)
Flesh Tearers 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '02 52nd; Balt GT '05 16th
Kabal of the Tortured Soul 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '08 85th; Mechanicon '09 12th
Greenwing 1000 points (painted) - Adepticon Team Tourny 2013

"There is rational thought here. It's just swimming through a sea of stupid and is often concealed from view by the waves of irrational conclusions." - Railguns 
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Philadelphia

OK, I actually remembered...

Stasis Shell, correct?  The relevant text is:  Phase: Movment, Range: 6"  and "If successful, one friendly unit may neither move, shoot, nor assault..."

My interpretation would be that you could not use this power on yourself.  So, you could DS onto the board, and protect another unit, but not yourself.  The unit you target then could not move, etc.  (I would interpret it to mean that you could not cast it on a unit that has already moved).

I'm sure someone will now argue that the words "one friendly unit" of course includes the Librarian.  Since he is a "unit" of 1, and is friendly to himself.  I would counter that other powers have range listed as 'self', and if intended to be used on the Librarian, would specifically state such.

I'm of the opinion that the interpretation that offers you the least benefit is probably the right one

Hope that helps 


Legio Suturvora 2000 points (painted)
30k Word Bearers 2000 points (in progress)
Daemonhunters 1000 points (painted)
Flesh Tearers 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '02 52nd; Balt GT '05 16th
Kabal of the Tortured Soul 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '08 85th; Mechanicon '09 12th
Greenwing 1000 points (painted) - Adepticon Team Tourny 2013

"There is rational thought here. It's just swimming through a sea of stupid and is often concealed from view by the waves of irrational conclusions." - Railguns 
   
Made in us
Confident Marauder Chieftain





I don't see how the Sorceror could *not* be a valid target, since he clearly qualifies as a friendly target that's within 6". 

As for the counter - powers with a range of 'self' can only affect the caster, this one has the benefit of being able to affect the caster, or any other unit that's in range.

I think the most gentlemanly way to play it, is that if the caster's going to use it on himself then he can't move before casting it.  As for the Deepstrike question, I wouldn't do it out of the same principal.

KW

   
Made in de
Spawn of Chaos




Germany

Aye, that's the right psychic power. I would have given a quote if not for the fact that most of my codices are at home of a frind of mine, where my circle plays most games and thus codices and annuals are best located. I'll post the ruletext if it differs from what you've given as soon as I'm there of course, but I think you remembered the relevant parts (more accurate than I did).

As for the target of the spell, I'd argue alond kwade's way. I am thinking of building a list around a character using this power, so it would be very important to know wether he can protect himself after ds'ing or not, cause if he could I had the freedom of designing a non-slaneesh-list with (almost) the same benefit as with 'siren'. At least regarding self-Protection, that is :-)

As for now, thx for the replies, everyone else is still invited...


'War is a problem, not the solution' - Unknown Source
I play: , , , , (+ legions w/o smiley), (traitors) and (their rules, 'cause 4th C:CSM sucks) 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Eye of Terror


Certainly most people can recall the old minor psychic power tables from Chapter Approved Annual 2003. I guess one can still use them as they have not really been FAQed or prohibited and since the Codex: CSM still has an entry in the wargear section stating you may have em.


No you cannot use them anymore. Period. So fekke it. Nice try cheeseball!

Loved by many!!! Don't you know it too! Heh. 
   
Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

And they can't use them in games...why??? They were with your opponent's permission IIRC.

No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Eye of Terror


Sorry... I was under the impression this was a forum for peops who play in tournaments.

Loved by many!!! Don't you know it too! Heh. 
   
Made in de
Spawn of Chaos




Germany

oh, very well... so since I am not into those old and discontinued threads and most time can't find the information I am looking for, would you please give me a hint/link or the like to exactly why I can't use these old rules (in tournaments) any more? Thx ...

I am well aware that 4th ed per se denies the use of old index astartes list etc., but what with the codex entry? Does it really cease to exist because the reference is outdated? Would be sad, I feel more like a cheeseball when forced to use cheesy powers like 'siren' :-/

'War is a problem, not the solution' - Unknown Source
I play: , , , , (+ legions w/o smiley), (traitors) and (their rules, 'cause 4th C:CSM sucks) 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut




Ahoj!
There is nothing from GW deciding the matter neither way.
It boils down to the torunament organizer.
I've seen both yay and nay positions taken.
As to Stassis Shell - I checked the CA 2003 and the RAW allow you to cast it on units which have already moved, and by units which have already moved.
Borys
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: