Switch Theme:

Devilfish as a Troop FOC selection?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Widowmaker






Syracuse, NY

In our dissection of the pathfinder entry, I noticed that the Devilfish has it's own FOC entry now without any direct stipulations requiring that it be taken as a dedicated transport. 

 

-The main rulebook does allow for transports that are not dedicated (the Falcon is given as the example). 

-The new marine codex (the only other 4th ed codex so far with transports) includes a verbose set of requirements on the Rhino and Razorback being taken only as dedicated transports for units.

 

What are your thoughts on this?  Is the fact that the unit is listed as 'Transport: Devilfish Troop Carrier' enough to make it a dedicated ride only?  Or can we now take Devilfish as their own slot?

 


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Dives with Horses

BTB says its alright then I guess.

Drano doesn't exactly scream "toy" to me.

engine

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




NH, USA

It's listed as a transport, not a troops choice.  Note the faint gray vertical border on the left side of the Devilfish description.

I don't think you can take it as a Troops choice.

If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, riddle them with bullets. 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




I would say that since it is called "Transport" in the name, that it must be fielded as a transport.  Typically they make it more clear but giving it its own box.  After all, its not like a land raider says "Transport: Land Raider."

-Legacy40k

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ha ha! Nice try, but no, I have to go with everyone else in saying that since it says "Transport:" in the title, you can't take it as a troops choice (Tau Commander: "where are the troops? I just see a tank..."). Also, the Falcon, like the Land Raider, is a Heavy Support choice when it acts as an independent scoring unit, meaning that even if troops begin the game in it, it is not a 'dedicated' transport, and can load up and carry around a different squad once the original occupants have charged off into the distance. I'm pretty sure dedicated transports, including Devilfish, don't count as scoring units nor pick up other units, with the exception of independent characters that attach themselves to the squad in-game when the squad has not reached it's transport's capacity. Can anybody back me up here with these situations? I don't have my rulebook in-hand at the moment.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: