Switch Theme:

Spell slave questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





Hello all, Cryxian newb here with a couple questions about the Skarlock's spell slave ability. Firstly, since, unlike a normal caster, the Skarlock requires an action in order to "cast" a spell. Because of this, can it not cast and then move? It seems like that would be the case, but I'm no expert here. Secondly, since "the warcaster is considered to have cast that spell but this model is its point of origin" can the caster spend focus to boost the spell, since it's technically them casting it? Or, can they not spend focus outside of their own activation barring a special rule or effect? Also, do abilities that damage people who cast spells, like arcane consumption, damage the warcaster, or the Skarlock? Thanks for any clarification.
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut




Brisbane, Australia

 Senior Penguin wrote:
Hello all, Cryxian newb here with a couple questions about the Skarlock's spell slave ability. Firstly, since, unlike a normal caster, the Skarlock requires an action in order to "cast" a spell. Because of this, can it not cast and then move? It seems like that would be the case, but I'm no expert here. Secondly, since "the warcaster is considered to have cast that spell but this model is its point of origin" can the caster spend focus to boost the spell, since it's technically them casting it? Or, can they not spend focus outside of their own activation barring a special rule or effect? Also, do abilities that damage people who cast spells, like arcane consumption, damage the warcaster, or the Skarlock? Thanks for any clarification.


You're on the right path for most of these questions

Yes, it is a Special Action, and therefore must be done after movement - this is the case for most spells on non-caster models, they'll be *actions or *attack.

Yes, the warcaster cannot boost the attack, but if the scarlock has managed to collect a soul somehow, that can be used IIRC.

Now, the warcaster is considered to have cast the spell after the fact, but the scarlock is the one actually *casting* the spell. So the caster can upkeep it (and also can't have two copies of the same upkeep in play) but won't be damaged if an effect specifies someone casting a spell. So Arcane Consumption would affect the scarlock. It's a subtle but important difference


Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at Pubhammer, our friendly club in a pub at the Junction pub in Annerley (opposite Ace Comics), Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook group for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.


Pubhammer is Moving! Starting from the 25th of May we'll be gaming at The Junction pub (AKA The Muddy Farmer), opposite Ace Comics & Games in Annerley! Still Sunday nights from 6:30 in the Function room Come along and play Warmachine, 40k, boardgames or anything else! 
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: