Switch Theme:

Steamroller and characters  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





dead account

So Hobby Town in Westminster, CO is having a steamroller event. I messaged the organizer and they mentioned something about it being 50pts, 2 casters, ... and then they mentioned you couldn't have the same characters in each list. At first I was just thinking casters... then I realized that some warbeasts, solos, and units are characters... no problem I thought... I got eHoarluk and Mulg in one and pBorka and Rok in the other... they aren't in each others list... then I got to wondering... is a gargantuan a character? You can have multiples so I was thinking no... but now I'm not sure... just by the name....'Mountain King' that sounds character'y to me.

Would I be cool if I had a 'Mountain King' in both lists, you think? (heck, can I even have gargantuans in a steamroller list?)

BTW I'm asking here and not messaging the organizer because FB at work is blocked :(
   
Made in pt
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Each card has a stat in the bottom with that models availability (its called Field Allowance: FA).

That stat can have the following values:

- A number: this indicates the number of that model that you can have for each caster in your army (unless you are playing 75+ pt games, you'll only have 1 caster in your army);
- The letter 'U': This stands for Unlimited and it means that you can have as many of that particular model as you wish.
- The letter 'C': This indicates a Character. You can only ever have 1 of each character in an army, no matter how many casters are leading it. This is also the stat that matters for that Steamroller rule;

To answer your other question, yes, you can have a Gargantuan in a Steamroller tournament and they are not Characters (they have FA: 2, so you can even take 2 in the same list if you want).
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





dead account

Thanks,

I know about FA... I just wasn't a hundered percent sure when it came to Gargantuans mostly because of the name they gave him.
   
Made in au
Tough Tyrant Guard







You can find the Steamroller rules at http://privateerpress.com/organized-play/steamroller-tournaments at the bottom of the page. I have a printed copy and it's really useful, especially since most people I know play the scenarios in every game.

You can only have something in one list if it's FA: C. (FA, "Field Allowance", is located in the bottom right corner of the model's card). The Mountain King is FA 2, so you can put him in as many of your lists as you want.

ETA: I am too slow

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/01 13:36:31


 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

There are also 2 types of character restrictions.

There is the normal character restriction, which is you can't have the exact same character. Which means Epic models count as different. IE: List A could have Eiryss1 and list B could have Eiryss2.

Then there is the more uncommon hardline restriction which rolls all versions of a character as being the same. So one list could have one of the 3 versions of Eiryss and the other couldn't have any.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





dead account

Thanks for the clarification folks
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: