Switch Theme:

[STAW] Multiple token/ officer resource interaction  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I've come across an interesting situation combining different effects across multiple cards keying off of the same type of token, gained multiple times. As per the example in the rulebook on page 22 re: geordi (core game) and spock, they cannot trigger both of their abilities off of the same token. That much is clear. But here's where we complicate things;


Mr. Spock, with both first officer and tactical officer. First officer allows me to aux to take, in this case, an extra scan action. Can I, with 2 scan tokens:

A. Use spock's BS to hit conversion and -4 defense (from science officer)

B. Use spock's BS conversion on one token, and -2 on one token (with the normal -1 from the one spock "used") for a total of -3 defense.

C. Use the scan tokens for only the science officer's -4 defense and none for spock.

D. Use spock's BS conversion and not be able to use science officer ability

E. None of the above.

Furthermore, how many of the tokens can then be later used for the science officer's 2nd ability to spend a scan like an evade result.

Curious as to input because I know the officer cards are pretty new to folks, and I haven't seen any questions pop up yet regarding them. I hope this can spark some interesting debate about the resource, ans break the fleet captain/flagship monopoly that resources seem to be.

Either way, at the moment I plan on doing whatever my venue's TO says tomorrow night.
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader






Columbus, Ohio

Are the Officer Cards classified as upgrades? If yes, then they cannot trigger off of the a token that has been used to trigger another upgrade's effect.

If they are not upgrades, then they should be able to trigger without concern as to whether or not a token has been used to activate an upgrade's effect.

Jagdmacht, my Imperial Guard Project Log 
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos




I say the officer cards are resources and not upgrade cards. Captions are not upgrade cards and cannot be targeted by abilities that affeect upgrades. So I say they are an extention of Spock, and Spock is just using a token for -2 defense and can use it for battlestations, and also combine it with the second one. so A
   
 
Forum Index » Other Sci-Fi Miniatures Games
Go to: