Switch Theme:

N3 CC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




So I am trying to take the bits I remember Carols saying on the BoW Infinity week on CC and matching it to the CC rules in N3...and im getting some confusion

Achillies wants to show the Father Knight hes the best.

1. He uses part 1 of his order to move 6' and get into base contact with Father Knight.
A. Father Knight has these options,
1. Shoot him
2. CC him
3. Dodge

Lets say he chooses shoots.

Achillies second part of his order is to do a CC.

So the Achillies picks his Martial Arts 3, and a face to face roll happens. Here is some questions...

1. The -3 for Martial Arts 3 is applied to the knights BS? Achillies gets 3 correct?
So its Achillies 23CC to the Knights 14-3 BS?
2. Is there a penality aside range ban and Achillies OOD for the shoot ARO from Father knight?
3. Choosing this one that gives -3 is bacisally having the skill to run in dodging bullets yea?

Lets say Father Knight wants to swing at Achillies instead. And for this lets say the Father knight has Martial Artist 3

So as before, Achillies moves into base contact, Father Knight says he will ARO CC, and Achillies says he will CC.

If they both had Martial Arts, who pics first? I remember Carols saying that the ARO has to pick, but I cant find this...

Last part of this question...

Lets say Father Knight had a Nisses guarding him. Achillies does his first part of moving and gets into base with Father Knight. Nisses see this and being a good sniper, plans to shoot him.

Father Knight pics a ARO, and Achilles says CC.

The Nisses shot is a Normal Roll correct? He ingores the OOD having MSV2 but takes -6 from shooting into CC (and whatever the range band modifies)

This all happens at once though? Lets say Achillies rolls bettter then Father Knight and kills him, but the Nisses Normal Roll strikes true and killes Achillies. Both models removed.


Sorry this might be confusing, just trying to get the most out of CC and how timing works for it now

   
Made in au
Norn Queen






1. I think so. I remember a lot of hubub in the runup to release that MA levels would affect BS attacks in reaction to moving into base to base as well as CC attacks made in reaction, but I can't find it in the rules. Unless it's implied by the general wording of 'Enemy MOD' on the chart, wehich doesn't specify CC or BS, so technically applies to both.
2. Yes, Achilles ODD still works, and there's a range penalty if the Father Knight chose a longer ranged weapon. If he was smart and chose his Breaker Pistol, it would be an additional +3. If he had a Boarding Shotgun and was even smarter and reacted with that, he'd be at +6. This is due to you being within his short range when you declared a move into base to base contact.
3. If it's correct that the -3 applied to BS (which I'm pretty sure it does), then yeah, it's meant to represent better movement on the way to combat making it harder to hit, then fighting skillfully when getting into combat (due to the +3 mod you gain). Likewise level 2 would represent the model throwing caution to the wind and running headlong, trying to get the most damaging swing of his sword he can (due to gaining +3 damage but nothing else).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/02 23:59:55


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Here is another question added to this...and maybe it was anwsered but im just confused on it.

This came up yesterday in a game.

Achilies has a target 10 inches away.

First short skill is move.
Enemy has an aro to shoot him.
Second short skill is to move and get into base contact with enemy model.

Achillies then says he will use MA 3, to reduce the enemy MOD by -3.

The enemy then gets to shoot Achilies. He is going to obvisouly pick to shoto him when hes not into base contact.

Does the enemy suffer -3 MOD to BS from MA still?

Does other enemys that can see Achilies along the way get -3 MOD to BS from MA?

   
Made in es
Dakka Veteran






You can only use MA if your second short skill is CC, if you move and as a second skill you move again you can't apply MA mods.

MA mods only apply to the objective, not to any other enemy that can see you.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Indianapolis, IN

str00dles1 wrote:

The Nisses shot is a Normal Roll correct? He ingores the OOD having MSV2 but takes -6 from shooting into CC (and whatever the range band modifies)


The Nisses can choose to ARO shoot Achilles before he gets in base contact, thus negating the -6 for shooting into combat. When you perform a skill, you choose at what point in the movement (if any) the skill happens.

   
 
Forum Index » Corvus Belli (Infinity)
Go to: