Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
I have decided to finally begin my Gall-GhĂ idheil army that I have been planning for years but essentially done anything about but Saga allows me to create a more appropriately sized raiding force than the WAB army that I had originally planned. I have a box of Gripping beast Hirdmen which I can use to make the Hearthguard and possibly the Warlord.
Is there an in game difference between spears and handweapons? I would like to arm half my Hearthguard with handweapons but as I don't as yet have the rules I am wondering if there would be an ingame impact. The remaining Hearthguard will have Daneaxes.
AFAIK spears do not have any special rules like Danish axes. But "spearman" can be a term of art for the purposes of faction powers. For example, certain Scots abilities can only be used by spearmen (i.e., Scots Hearthguard and Warriors).
I don't think so. The Norse-Gael Hearthguard and Warriors can have either Danish axes or hand weapons and shields. Their Levies have javelins. Their faction abilities have nothing to do with spears or spearman as a rules term as per the Scots, so there's nothing but historical/aesthetic factors holding you back from modelling your Norse-Gaels with spears and shields.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/27 22:05:18