| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/02 12:11:19
Subject: "Tactica Tau" and drone questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Standing outside Jester's house demanding the things he took from my underwear drawer.
|
1. Not that I'm suprised, but GW doesn't even know their own rules. From the section about Tau tactics in Black Gobbo #61: "If you're really worried about the assault, detach each Devilfish's Gun Drones and place them next to the noses of each transport to extend the area of 1" non-movement coverage." Ummmm, unless Devilfish are opened top, drones exit from the side and rear hatches since they are treated as passengers........ And yes, that's how I've been playing it with my Tau. 2. Do detached drones get to Jetpack in the assault phase if they "disembarked" from a vehicle that moved that turn (either forced or chosen disembark)? I've never seen this addressed, and now that I have a 5 Pirahna squad with 10 drones, I actually might want to use it. I've been playing it as no they can't, but im interested in opinions. 3. I know Drones can't be scoring, but if they are alive after their original vehicle is destroyed, do they prevent full victory points for the vehicle/squadron? I say no they don't, but I've also never seen this addressed. 4. If I use a markerlight to boost the BS of a "unit," do drones benifit from this if still attached? The coordinator at the tourney I played in last weekend ruled yes until he had a better answer. We figured that as the drones are a required as part of the "unit," they get +1 BS.
|
I've seen the Reaper Exarch with both weapon options and both look like things you can buy in sex shops. A weapon should not look like this, not even a Emperor's Children weapon. -Symbio Joe |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/03 16:29:12
Subject: RE: "Tactica Tau" and drone questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Drones are treated as a seperate unit from the devilfish, this allows them to fire at a different target, but does not let them benefit from a markerlight used by the devilfish.
I'd say that no, drones may not move in the assault phase after disembarking (unless it was from a Pirahna), though I'm sure some people will dissagree with some RAW arguement.
Personally, and how many people treat drones disembarking, as that the drone recesses are the access points from which drones can disembark, and not the hatches on the vehicle. If this is not the case.. then if drones were purchased for a hammerhead, they could never disembark as a hammerhead has no hatches for disembarking.
-Legacy40k
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/03 19:14:40
Subject: RE: "Tactica Tau" and drone questions
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
>>4. If I use a markerlight to boost the BS of a "unit," do drones benifit from this if still attached? The coordinator at the tourney I played in last weekend ruled yes until he had a better answer. We figured that as the drones are a required as part of the "unit," they get +1 BS
Tau Empire, p.30 -- Gun Drones: "While attached, Gun Drones may fire as part of the unit..."
This indicates to me that they would be able to use a markerlight counter assigned to the vehicle, so your coordinator was correct.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/04 12:42:58
Subject: RE: "Tactica Tau" and drone questions
|
 |
Highlord with a Blackstone Fortress
Adrift within the vortex of my imagination.
|
What interests me here is that the Tactica implies that if you lose the tank but keep at least one drone active on the tabletop the tank doesnt count as fully destroyed. They seem to be taken as a kind of 'crew escape mechanism'.
|
n'oublie jamais - It appears I now have to highlight this again.
It is by tea alone I set my mind in motion. By the juice of the brew my thoughts aquire speed, my mind becomes strained, the strain becomes a warning. It is by tea alone I set my mind in motion. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/04 23:33:41
Subject: RE: "Tactica Tau" and drone questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
In no particular order of importance: Q: Can detached drones make their assault move after disembarking a (non-opentopped) vehicle? Fact: P 55 Main rule book lower right corner, describing Jet packs: "In the Movment phase, they only move 6" when using their packs, but are allowed to move 6" in the assault phase even if they don't assault." Ergo: You may not assault after disembarking but the special assault phase move is allowed. Q: where do disembarked drones leave their vehicle? They leave like passengers, implying the hatches. But they can fire while embarked so they are not inside (since there is no fire ports.) They are modelled on the outside. P 30 codex tau empire clearly specifies that the drones have their very own hangout on the vehicle. Modelling to your advantage suggests that they should indeed deploy from their own "hatch" , the drone holders up front on the vehicle. # 3 can probably only be answered in a FAQ or such so screw us #4 I agree with your interpretation.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/04 23:39:40
Subject: RE: "Tactica Tau" and drone questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Legacy40k on 5/3/2006 9:29:12 PM >Personally, and how many people treat drones disembarking, as that the drone recesses
>are the access points from which drones can disembark, and not the hatches on the
>vehicle. If this is not the case.. then if drones were purchased for a hammerhead, they
>could never disembark as a hammerhead has no hatches for disembarking. New codex only allows HH drones as replacement instead of burst or SMS so presumably they have to sit in the droneparking up front like on a D'fish.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/05 14:45:53
Subject: RE: "Tactica Tau" and drone questions
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Da Southern New Hampshire!
|
On the topic of stuff like this, if a Squadron of 3 Pirahnas jettison off their drones, are each drone separate? Or do they all form a unit?
What does the drones on a HH or DevilFish count as?
|
If at first you don't succeed, you fail. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/05 15:27:38
Subject: RE: "Tactica Tau" and drone questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
In the case of a squadron of 3 piranhas, the drones have to disembark at the same time and form a squadron of 6 drones.
In the case of a devilfish, it would be a squadron of 2.
I don't think a Hammerhead has a drone option anymore.
-Hans
|
I hate making signatures:
Mainly because my sense of humor is as bad as my skill at this game. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/05 21:54:00
Subject: RE: "Tactica Tau" and drone questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Edited previous post for clarity, you may have drones on a HH but you now have chose between drones or SMS for the same price or bursts for 10p less. I have problems seeing anyone taking drones, ever, not that it ever happended before the new codex either.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/06 03:19:31
Subject: RE: "Tactica Tau" and drone questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Posted By lollipop on 05/06/2006 2:54 AM Edited previous post for clarity, you may have drones on a HH but you now have chose between drones or SMS for the same price or bursts for 10p less. I have problems seeing anyone taking drones, ever, not that it ever happended before the new codex either.
I agree. I doubt anybody will take the drone upgrade... However, because it is an option, and a hammerhead has no access points, it can be assumed that the drone recesses count as access points for drones. -Legacy40k
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/06 12:50:10
Subject: RE: "Tactica Tau" and drone questions
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
>>>>Q: Can detached drones make their assault move after disembarking a (non-opentopped) vehicle?
>>Fact: P 55 Main rule book lower right corner, describing Jet packs: "In the Movment phase, they only move 6" when using their packs, but are allowed to move 6" in the assault phase even if they don't assault."
>>Ergo: You may not assault after disembarking but the special assault phase move is allowed.
This bit of RAW does not in itself forbid assaults by drones, however, the rules on p.62 concerning transport vehicles prevent assaults by models unless the vehicle is open-topped (or a Land Raider) and moved no more than 12 inches.
As Piranhas are open-topped, drones carried by Piranhas can assault if the Piranha move up to 12 inches.
The drones on all Tau vehicles are carried in the same kind of wing bays. If the Piranha drones can assault, so can the drones on a Devilfish. This is not be RAW.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|