Switch Theme:

Charging multiple units?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So I hosted the first league game day for AoS. Was a lot of fun, we added a few house rules, adjusted some things. But other then that we only ran into one problem.

The Order player had his liberators, and Retributors units next to each other. The Chaos player charged his horde into the liberators.

The issues we had are the following.

1. Can you charge in and or attack different units even if they were not the first target of the charge?
2. If that is not the case, do you still have to avoid the 3" bubble during that charge phase?
3. Does pile in get limited in by that 3" bubble as well?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/03 06:12:43


 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





matthewp wrote:
So I hosted the first league game day for AoS. Was a lot of fun, we added a few house rules, adjusted some things. But other then that we only ran into one problem.

The Order player had his liberators, and Retributors units next to each other. The Chaos player charged his horde into the liberators.

The issues we had are the following.

1. Can you charge in and or attack different units even if they were not the first target of the charge?
2. If that is not the case, do you still have to avoid the 3" bubble during that charge phase?
3. Does pile in get limited in by that 3" bubble as well?


1. Yes. The first model simply has to finish 1/2" from a model in a target unit. The rest of your models can move (and then attack) where they want, provided they maintain coherency - subject to the other attacking rules, of course.

2. The charge move is what gives permission to break the 3" bubble; it doesn't matter whose bubble.

3. Not sure I really understand this one. Any model in a unit with at least one other model within the 3" bubble can pile-in - you don't have to be inside the bubble to pile-in, but when you do pile-in it must be to the closest enemy model, and maintaining coherency. Not sure if that answered the question though.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/08/03 08:10:52


 
   
Made in us
Tough Treekin




Also - and very important - you don't nominate a target unit for charging.
The only criteria are that one model in your unit is within 12" of an enemy model and that the first model you move must finish within 1/2" of an enemy model.
E.g. you have 3 units within 12" of your unit, and a 4th unit that's just over 12" - 12 1/4, say.
You roll charge, and get 12.
You *then* pick where your first model is going - so you can actually charge the 4th unit as long as you're still within 1/2" inch when you finish the first move, even though the 4th unit wouldn't have "triggered" a charge on it's own.
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: