| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/16 02:27:24
Subject: Couple of quick questions.
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
|
So today while playing one of my opponents flew Etahn A'baht's E-wing.
His rule say's, When a defending enemy ship that is within range 1-3 and in his firing arc, the attacker may change one hit into a crit.
Is this ability conferred to all the ship on his list?
When he shot at me with Dash he used this ability. I am just not clear if it should be open to all on his list or just to Etahn.
Also would this ability work on a HLC? I am just not sure of the order for changing die around.
It was a pretty darn fun game we had and it came down to the wire. I had gotten a couple of lucky (well unlucky for him) hits on Dash, stripping his shields. So I turned my entire focus on Dash removal. Then he had 4 turns of not missing an evade roll. as the HLC and Etahn whittled away at me. I finally cleared Dash and stripped Etahn shields. We spent a turn or two trying to get back into arc. I got behind him as he pulled a green and got a shield back from R2 at the same time he landed on a rock and rolled a hit to lose the shield and I got close enough without having to boost, so I focused up and got 4 hits on him. We only had a couple of minutes left on the clock.
|
"I have traveled through the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/16 02:39:52
Subject: Couple of quick questions.
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Nicorex wrote:So today while playing one of my opponents flew Etahn A'baht's E-wing. His rule say's, When a defending enemy ship that is within range 1-3 and in his firing arc, the attacker may change one hit into a crit. Is this ability conferred to all the ship on his list?
Yes. When he shot at me with Dash he used this ability. I am just not clear if it should be open to all on his list or just to Etahn. Also would this ability work on a HLC? I am just not sure of the order for changing die around.
When attacking with HLC, you immediately change any crits into hits. You may then modify the dice with focus or with any ability you may have (such as Etahn's ability or Marksmanship) to change a hit back into a crit. It should also be noted that any crit results from rerolls are not changed into hits, only the initial roll result is.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/16 08:51:21
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/16 09:36:59
Subject: Couple of quick questions.
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
|
Good to know. Thanks
|
"I have traveled through the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/18 16:43:40
Subject: Couple of quick questions.
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
ScootyPuffJunior wrote: Nicorex wrote:So today while playing one of my opponents flew Etahn A'baht's E-wing.
His rule say's, When a defending enemy ship that is within range 1-3 and in his firing arc, the attacker may change one hit into a crit.
Is this ability conferred to all the ship on his list?
Yes.
When he shot at me with Dash he used this ability. I am just not clear if it should be open to all on his list or just to Etahn.
Also would this ability work on a HLC? I am just not sure of the order for changing die around.
When attacking with HLC, you immediately change any crits into hits. You may then modify the dice with focus or with any ability you may have (such as Etahn's ability or Marksmanship) to change a hit back into a crit. It should also be noted that any crit results from rerolls are not changed into hits, only the initial roll result is.
I thought a single die roll could only be modified once. So if a HLC modifies a crit into a hit, would you be able to modify it back to a crit without rerolling it first?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/18 17:09:53
Subject: Couple of quick questions.
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Nope.
You can only reroll a die once.
So if a HLC modifies a crit into a hit, would you be able to modify it back to a crit without rerolling it first?
Yes.
Turning a crit into a hit with the HLC is not part of the "Modify Dice" step when performing an attack.
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|