Switch Theme:

High Elf Mage: Shield of Saphery  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Nimble Pistolier




ACT, Australia

Does the ability to ignore normal and mortal wounds on a roll of 6 stack if you have two Mages cast the spell in the same turn?? ie if I take 1 wound I get to roll two dice to try and ignore the wound? I don't believe you can be effected by this shield more than once but I cannot find anywhere "rules as written" saying that it does not stack.

Thoughts?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/02 01:33:43


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




South Shields

I don't see anything which says you can't roll twice,much like mystic shield stacking.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/02 14:01:13


 
   
Made in us
Tough Treekin




I would say it does stack, because the mage casts it 'on himself', and the trigger condition is the wound is applied to the mage or other model within 18" of him.
So yeah, two shields in effect, two bites of the cherry. Same as the Bloodsecrator's totem ability.
   
Made in au
Nimble Pistolier




ACT, Australia

So for each model I wound, he gets a save, then if that is failed he gets two chances for the shield to deflect the attack?
   
Made in us
Tough Treekin




I would say yes - but just be aware that whilst saves are against 'hits', Shield of Saphery is against wounds.

I.E. you get hit by a warmachine that does D6 wounds, fail save, and opponent rolls 5 wounds.
You then - in effect - get 5 shield of Saphery saves, then any that fail get the second save.

NB. The spell specifies the model must be within 18", not the unit. So if you wind up with a situation where some models in a unit get 0, 1 or 2 saves depending on individual position so may have to result to rolling separately, as wounds are assigned individually to models.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/04 09:18:08


 
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: