| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/11 03:21:55
Subject: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
Australia
|
TE Page 30: "Any model attacking the vehicle in close combat..." Tau fletchette dischargers work against models as written in the line above. My question is, after a unit assaults a vehicle, can a model chose not to attack a vehicle, to avoid being affected by the fletchette discharger?
|
109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/11 03:36:12
Subject: RE: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
Widowmaker
|
I recall a line about once in combat, a model must allocate its full number of attacks - there is no holding back. But I cannot give the location, (requesting backup!).
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/11 04:23:08
Subject: RE: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I believe you may always opt not to attack, however, it is all or nothing, so you may not split up attacks as was said. -Legacy40k
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/11 12:14:58
Subject: RE: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Once you assault, there's no rule that lets you not attack.
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/11 14:12:46
Subject: RE: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Posted By Centurian99 on 05/11/2006 5:14 PM Once you assault, there's no rule that lets you not attack. What about the one where models outside 2" of a friendly model may not attack?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/11 14:55:51
Subject: RE: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That's a "can't" attack.
The assault rules make no provision for choosing not to attack, unlike the shooting rules.
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/11 20:56:59
Subject: RE: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
Supplementary question:
Does the attacking model take a flechette roll for each attack it makes during a round?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/11 23:55:06
Subject: RE: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
Australia
|
Posted By Kilkrazy on 05/12/2006 1:56 AM Supplementary question:
Does the attacking model take a flechette roll for each attack it makes during a round?
No. I previously thought fletchette dischargers only work on models who attack, and that models can choose not to attack. But it seems that's not the case. Fletchette dischargers just got a whole lot better and worse at once. The 1/6 chance to kill a powerfist before he attacks has been reduced to nearly impossible, while the chance to kill a marine has multiplied.
|
109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/12 01:14:17
Subject: RE: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Wouldn't casualties still be picked on a model by model basis?
"Any model attacking the vehicle in close combat..."
So you would still roll the pfist guy separately.
|
With the galaxy as large as it is the odds of the average guardsmen seeing and fighting a marine or MEQ are relatively slim. Unfortunately the guardsmen in your (and anyone else who plays IG's) army are the REALLY, REALLY LUCKY ones that fight marines ALL the time... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/12 07:45:08
Subject: RE: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Posted By Banesword on 05/12/2006 6:14 AM Wouldn't casualties still be picked on a model by model basis?
"Any model attacking the vehicle in close combat..."
So you would still roll the pfist guy separately.
You will roll the flechette wound first but since the power fist guy is never alone the player will put the wound on another model that attack so your chance to kill the powerfist guy are very small because you need to kill all the model that attack before the ennemy finally chose the powerfist as casualties.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/12 16:30:43
Subject: RE: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Posted By scramasax on 05/12/2006 12:45 PMPosted By Banesword on 05/12/2006 6:14 AM Wouldn't casualties still be picked on a model by model basis?
" any="" model[/b="" attacking="" the="" vehicle="" in="" close="" combat="" [/i="">
So you would still roll the pfist guy separately.
You will roll the flechette wound first but since the power fist guy is never alone the player will put the wound on another model that attack so your chance to kill the powerfist guy are very small because you need to kill all the model that attack before the ennemy finally chose the powerfist as casualties. I agree, it is no different that passengers in a destroyed vehicle, the models are each wounded on a 4+ but the owner may allocate those wounds as they see fit.
-Legacy40k
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/05/12 19:46:48
Subject: RE: Tau Fletchette Dischargers
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
That's not the way I understand it. It is clear to me that each model attacking must test to be hit, and save if they can. There's nothing to say the owning player can collect the wounds and allocate them as he wishes, like in shooting.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|